We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too short!”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

My husband and I have been to the Hewitt Wellington many times. our January stay did not disapointed. We stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor. It had 2 electric fireplaces which actually are better then you would think. The room had a wonderful view of Spring Lake. We only stayed one night to attend an event in the area and we wish we had more time to stay. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm glad that you had a great time and loved your room and stay with us. Can't wait to see you again when you can spend more time with us and enjoy the area and all it has to offer.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 677 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent small hotel. We only stayed one night for a New Years Eve party we attended nearby. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very nice. It is only 1-1/2 blocks from ocean. We plan on definitely going back for a longer stay in the summer.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed in a third floor suite on New Years Eve and was surprised at how well run this hotel is. The staff was friendly and very helpful and the entire hotel was very clean and well kept. The bed was very comfortable and there were eight pillows in the room. We have paid twice as much for far less in other hotels. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: The suites are roomy but all of the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandEfromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

I'm happy that you were pleased with your accommodations and the hotel. We strive to give our guests a wonderful stay and I'm glad we succeeded. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My husband and I came for two nights in late December and stayed in a third floor suite. Everything was tasteful, clean, and comfortable, and the staff are all very helpful. If you're looking for a quiet getaway in a pretty town, this is the place. We also had a delicious meal in Whispers Restaurant, adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BA-in-NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm glad that you had a nice getaway together and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a queen suite. The bedroom was very small. The living room was spacious and had a view of Spring Lake and the ocean. However, there were large pieces of furniture in front of every window, so we couldn't enjoy the view. The decor was dated, but clean and not at all worn. The restaurant was not very accommodating of our two children, even though we had inquired about that ahead of time. The staff were friendly and the locale is very good, near the lake and 3 short blocks from the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phoebesnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I'm sorry that the suite you had was not quite what you had wanted. Please make sure to call before your next visit and we will be more than happy to help you choose the perfect room for you and your family. We definitely want you to enjoy all the hotel and town have to offer.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Didn't expect the quiet surroundings, beautiful town, and the accomadations of this delightful hotel. The room was comfortable and tastefully done. We had every convenience and the staff was very helpful. The Whispers Restaurant adjacent to the hotel had wonderful food. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. We got a very good deal with Travel Zoo. Looking forward to the spring for our next trip.

Room Tip: Any room on the second or third floor. Better view and quiet. It's a small hotel with only 23 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouannSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you very much for the kind review of our hotel. I'm so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself and look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Although it was snowing/sleeting and freezing outside, the hotel was beautiful, warm, and spacious. Purchased the "romance" package and received a bottle of wine and cheese plate at check-in. Great suite with views of the lake, king size bed, and old school charm!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franci125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy T, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope you will visit with us again when the weather is as warm as our hospitality. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
300 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $99 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing