We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The balcony was perfect. We got there in the late afternoon and enjoyed a drink while overlooking the lake. The room was clean and the bed may have been the most comfortable I have ever experienced. We ate dinner at Whispers which was conveniently attached to the hotel. It was a top 5 dining experience as my wife and I love to eat quality food and this place was incredible. Service was also very friendly.

Room Tip: I suggest Room 14 because of the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mkerwin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy to hear that you enjoyed the balcony, and utilized it to its full potential. It is a very popular amenity within the property, and we're glad that you were able to enjoy it for an evening.

We're also glad that you enjoyed dinner, and would hope you can return soon, and hopefully in the Summer to enjoy the town, and beaches as well.

Thank you for providing a room tip, also. It allows future guests to pick and choose each room to their liking and needs.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

527 - 533 of 679 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great location; beautiful accommodations; warm, professional staff. Felt like Victorian royalty. Every part of this beautiful hotel echoes of a grand era of civility and grace. Very affordable with great shopping and dining only blocks away and a pristine beach just as close.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your recent stay!

It is very kind of you to be such a vocal and outspoken admirer of the hotel, and recognizing its civility and grace. We have a great staff that works very hard to make sure that the old world charm is maintained, and enhanced for each and every guest.

We are also very lucky to have such a great town to call home, and welcome guests every season.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My in-laws stayed here many years ago and loved it. My wife and I figured it would be a nice overnight trip for us to celebrate my b-day. We arrived and were greeted by Bill at the front desk. He provided all of the necessary hotel information but was not very warm or inviting. He seemed more robotic. He took us to our room which included a private balcony. It was the highlight of our stay as we enjoyed sitting under the moon & stars later that night. The room itself was okay. It seemed clean at first but after further inspection (on day 2), we noticed the return vent in the ceiling wasn't clean (see picture). Plus the drapery/curtain in the bathroom looked like it hadn't been washed in months (dust, hair, etc.). The pressure in the shower was non-existent and our queen bed rocked when anyone moved to adjust their sleeping position. Needless to say, we didn't get a good night sleep. We went downstairs the next day to have breakfast (which was included). Typical continental b-fast, nothing special. I suggest they include an egg and pancake/waffle option in the future so you feel you're getting some value.

We departed after our b-fast disappointed in our stay. The only real benefit I can see is the location of this place. Its right on the lake and close to the beach and Point Pleasant (15 minute drive). Other then that, it was very average (especially for the price in off season)

Room Tip: Make sure you don't lose your room key as it costs $400 to replace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very happy to hear that you have had the chance to experience the property in a way that your family members had enjoyed it at one point during their travels. Especially enjoying the private balcony to see the stars!

In regards to your comments about my "robotic" state. I am sorry if you felt I was not warm or inviting. I truly believe in a consistent delivery of information and amenities. Sometimes, I may take for granted the conjectures of certain guests, and for that I apologize. I take guest's perceptions very seriously, and I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. One thing I am very cognizant of is the expectations guests have for their upcoming stays, my perceived expectations of your desires, and I did not do a very good job at closing those gaps in perception. I will rethink that analysis in future deliveries of experiences.

I take full responsibility for the upkeep of the vents and returns of our air systems. I did have the cleaning of all the vents scheduled, but then had pushed that to a later date in order to accomplish other pressing tasks on property. For that, I do apologize. We take the cleanliness and general upkeep of the property very seriously, and we strive to make sure all guests feel comfortable, and surrounded by pristine amenities.

We appreciate your in-depth review, and thoughtful comments. We will heed your review, and make sure we accomplish all that we have set out to do in a more timely manner.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Family members have stayed here for years but this was our first try. Great place! Fantastic environment. We had room 1, two room suite. Continental breakfast was really all you need. Great coffee machine, Starbucks freshly ground on demand coffee. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very glad to hear that you had finally experienced the wonderful property just as your family members have in the past. Now, you all having something to share amongst your travels!

Yes, our Starbucks Interactive brewer is a very popular amenity of our property. All the coffee you want, at the press of a button!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a nice October weekend we made a quick decision to check out Spring Lake & booked rooms in the HW. We stayed in a small, less expensive room with a Queen bed for one night, then moved to a suite in the "tower" for the second night - just for variety and to save a little money the 1st night. Both rooms were very nicely decorated; clean, fresh, bright. Beds felt different - the first room had a very soft matress (not my preference), the suite had a firmer matress which was very comfortable. The suite had a round sitting room with windows overlooking the lake, and view of the ocean over the tops of some buildings. Very nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Parking was very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It is very comforting to hear that you had a very nice stay. We're glad that you were able to enjoy two separate rooms during your stay, as each room is different in its own special way. The lakeview suites are very popular in terms of views, spaciousness, and comfort.

We're also glad you took advantage of our ample parking, and recognized the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A great getaway for some much needed rest. The porch was great to sit & watch the remote control boats race on the lake. Beautiful views. We loved hearing the church bells play. A great place to relax & close enough to walk into "downtown" to eat dinner. We would highly recommend this hotel to all. The Travel Zoo special made it especially affordable for us to enjoy such a lovely establishment.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6brooms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great space and location! Rooms are clean and staff is friendly and helpful. Great lounge area with coffee and tea available 24/7. Also, board games and free wifi. Will be going back for sure! I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very glad to hear that while you were staying with us you were comfortable, and there were conveniences here to assist you in that comfortableness. Also, thank you for recognizing the helpfulness of the staff. They really do go out of their way to assist everyone...not because it is their job, but they really do enjoy it.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
427 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
235 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $116 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing