We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place in a beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice place in a beautiful area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a nice place that is found in a great location. There is a beautiful lake just a few steps away and the beach is about two blocks away. It's also just a few minutes away from a nice downtown area. However, the town seems to close down early. Our room was average. Small room but big bathroom. There were several carpet stains in our room (17) so i would suggest either wood floors or better carpet cleaning. Overall good experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the west are closer to the sound of the church bells going off in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank your for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that you found the location to be great, and that having the lake right outside your door is special. Many people enjoy the lake, as do we. It's a great place to take a stroll, possibly a jog, or just to sit in awe of its beauty.

Thank you for your room tip as well, as it assists guests in choosing the best experience for them. The church bells are a great way to start your morning!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location but the hotel need a lot of work. The carpet was stained in my roon and needs cleaning, the porch need a good dusting and I think breakfast could be better something. I love Spring Lake and the Hewitt Wellington is a great location overlooking the lake and a short walk to the center and beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjobity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you enjoyed the location and overall experience here at the hotel!

As the season passes us, and we begin to gear up for the off-season, there are some maintenance and housekeeping projects that we schedule as the town, and property, becomes a little less packed. Those things are re-staining, painting, and upkeep of the porches. Also, carpet cleaning is being rolled out as I type this. It is an on-going project, and we definitely take our cleanliness very seriously.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem Township PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having spent the first 40 summers of my life in Spring Lake, I had driven or walked by the hotel countless times. Staying there with my wife last weekend was a real pleasure. The property is beautiful and well-maintained. Our suite was clean, well-appointed and had great views of the lake. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very quiet and restful. We will definitely return in the future.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was roomy, and had wonderful views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Although it took you 40 years to finally stay with us, we're very happy to hear that it was well worth the wait.

Thank you for also providing a room tip, as it allows future guests to know which room to pick from, or allow a returning guest to possibly try something new.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel. Our room was sunny and bright with a wonderful attached porch. While you visit, I highly recommend eating at their restaurant ..Whispers. The Sea Bass and Pork chop were delicious!!



  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beemerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We truly appreciate the kind words, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your bright and sunny room! Whispers is a very popular spot, and our guests really love every aspect of the restaurant.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely hotel on the Spring Lake, perfect for an overnight beach stay or longer. Only suggestion would be to update the bedding, old tired bedspread. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was just enough to start the day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

If you live in the surrounding areas, Spring Lake is the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway, or even a great place to sit on the beach, and enjoy a quick night, where you can enjoy restaurants, and the hotels as well.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hewitt-Wellington is a fine hotel in Spring Lake, the jewel of the Jersey Shore. Vacationing in Spring Lake is a trip down Memory Lane , when people were "civilized." The Hewitt-Wellington is a reminder of how things were. The staff ensures that each guest experiences a memorable stay at a first-class hotel. Most of the rooms are nice, however it behooves owners to up-date out-dated and tired decor to re-decorate what could be fabulous accommodations. I had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, with a porch, lake view, and ocean view, marred by horrible drapes, and stained wall paper in the bath room. Owners: spend a few bucks and spruce-up your investment. I wll return, it is a class-act.

Room Tip: Suites on the first floor are great, Lake-front rooms with porches are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It's refreshing to hear that you have such great comments about the hotel, and Spring Lake overall. The town truly is a trip down memory lane for some, as the town has done a great job in preserving itself. Our hotel was even awarded a Preservation Award for 2012, given by the town.

Also, we are continually updating rooms. The room you had enjoyed this year was recently updated with a brand new HD Flat Planel TV and a brand new King Sleigh Bed. No worries, though, we will continue to better ourselves, piece by piece.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved everything about our stay here and we'll definitely return. We stayed in a spacious suite that was tastefully decorated and very clean. I liked the convenience of having a top quality restaurant on the premises. Staff are very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaclark07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a quick weekend getaway, and that your experience was perfect! Our suites are perfect for stretching out, and relaxing, without having to worry about restrictiveness.

Yes, Whispers is a great amenity to have on property as well.

Once again thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing