We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheery and relaxing”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at The Hewitt Wellington Hotel. Our room was sunny and bright with a wonderful attached porch. While you visit, I highly recommend eating at their restaurant ..Whispers. The Sea Bass and Pork chop were delicious!!



  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beemerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We truly appreciate the kind words, and we're glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and your bright and sunny room! Whispers is a very popular spot, and our guests really love every aspect of the restaurant.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (680)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 680 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

Lovely hotel on the Spring Lake, perfect for an overnight beach stay or longer. Only suggestion would be to update the bedding, old tired bedspread. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was just enough to start the day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

If you live in the surrounding areas, Spring Lake is the perfect place for a quick weekend getaway, or even a great place to sit on the beach, and enjoy a quick night, where you can enjoy restaurants, and the hotels as well.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hewitt-Wellington is a fine hotel in Spring Lake, the jewel of the Jersey Shore. Vacationing in Spring Lake is a trip down Memory Lane , when people were "civilized." The Hewitt-Wellington is a reminder of how things were. The staff ensures that each guest experiences a memorable stay at a first-class hotel. Most of the rooms are nice, however it behooves owners to up-date out-dated and tired decor to re-decorate what could be fabulous accommodations. I had a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, with a porch, lake view, and ocean view, marred by horrible drapes, and stained wall paper in the bath room. Owners: spend a few bucks and spruce-up your investment. I wll return, it is a class-act.

Room Tip: Suites on the first floor are great, Lake-front rooms with porches are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

It's refreshing to hear that you have such great comments about the hotel, and Spring Lake overall. The town truly is a trip down memory lane for some, as the town has done a great job in preserving itself. Our hotel was even awarded a Preservation Award for 2012, given by the town.

Also, we are continually updating rooms. The room you had enjoyed this year was recently updated with a brand new HD Flat Planel TV and a brand new King Sleigh Bed. No worries, though, we will continue to better ourselves, piece by piece.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We loved everything about our stay here and we'll definitely return. We stayed in a spacious suite that was tastefully decorated and very clean. I liked the convenience of having a top quality restaurant on the premises. Staff are very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaclark07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed a quick weekend getaway, and that your experience was perfect! Our suites are perfect for stretching out, and relaxing, without having to worry about restrictiveness.

Yes, Whispers is a great amenity to have on property as well.

Once again thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Such an amazing property in a quaint, perfect, back to the fifties town. A great escape from Manhattan. We loved it and we will be back. Probably next year. The restaurant Whispers was also excellent, just as food as New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1worldtraveler1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the town, and it's ability to stay trapped in time. A time that you seem to have very fond memories of. We're also glad that you enjoyed the restaurant, as well.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Everything was great.The rooms, location and the staff went out of their way to assist.Would definitely go back.Rooms in front have balconies and great view of lake.Lake is about a mile and a quarter nice for a morning walk after breakfast.

Room Tip: pick room in front nice view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're glad that you were able to enjoy the hotel, especially on your first visit. We're glad we made a good first impression on you.

Also, thank you for your room tip, as it assists future guests in their expectations, and experiences.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel is beyond beautiful, old world charm with many modern updates. The management and staff go above and beyond to make your stay here the best experience you can imagine! I would recommend everyone stay here at least once, because then you"ll be hooked. Even on bad weather days the hotel staff will keep your days filled with fun.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of the Hewwitt Wellington face the lake, and some have porches right out side the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celticross1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very grateful for the room tip(s) as well. These tips lend future guests assistance in choosing a particular room, or area of the property as it will maximize the enjoyment of their stay.

We're glad that you're hooked on the hotel. The staff greatly enjoys to hear that guest's stays are premium experiences, filled with joy and happiness.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
432 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bungalow Hotel
Bungalow Hotel
#2 of 4 in Long Branch
235 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $85 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing