We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”
Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Lehighton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We celebrated my birthday in Spring Lake and truly enjoyed our stay at the Hewitt Wellington. The room/suite was a great size with a separate living area and porch. It was immaculately clean and I appreciated, as silly as it sounds, the nicely sized bath towels. The hotel location was perfect and scenic - just across from the lake, and just a scenic 10 minute walk to the lovely town. Also, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definately go back. The only issue was the mattress and the size of the bed. We would have thought a suite should have a queen sized bed and the mattress was way too soft and lumpy - we sank into the middle of it and pillows - not so great. The only suggestion, therefore, I would have is that upgrades are needed for, at least the room we stayed in (room 2) on the mattress and pillows. Other than that, check out the Hewitt Wellington, but specify you'd like a room with a firm mattress, if that is your thing.

Room Tip: If you prefer a firm mattress and a larger bed, ask for them. Other than that, room 2 was lovely, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We hope you had a great birthday! From all of us here, we want to you wish you a happy birthday, and many more to come.

We appreciate the details of your review, especially for future guests. Over the past few months, we have been installing new mattresses in most of the rooms. Mostly King-sized beds. We do have some more rooms left to update with new mattresses. We strive to make sure all of our guests are comfortable, and enjoy every aspect of their stay with us. Along with the many other upgrades we have made, mattresses are also being upgraded.

We are very happy that you have listed room tips for future guests. They are great tools to have when you are searching for the best hotel to visit.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience...and Happy Birthday! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    179
    69
    21
    11
See reviews for
148
351
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
StratfordNew Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My husband and I had a thoroughly enjoyable visit to the Hewitt Wellington for our 37th Anniversary. The room was comfortable, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was delightful. Our suite was sunny and had a delightful view of the lake. We were very happy with our choice and it is certainly not their fault that we were not in Ireland like last June. You can't beat this for New Jersey!

Room Tip: Our third floor suite was lovely and worth the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianeQ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

Happy Anniversary! We're so glad that you were able to share your special time with us. We hope your experience will be one that you will remember for a long time to come. We all hope to see you again, especially if you're coming to celebrate!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at your hotel. I am writing to tell you how impressed we were with your hotel – from the suite, breakfast, pool and staff – we really enjoyed our stay. Your staff were very accommodating – in particular – Nicole at the Front Desk. Rest assured – we will be back – hopefully soon! Well done.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're so glad you had a great time while visiting with us. We have passed along your very nice comments to Nicole, and she is very appreciative. We definitely hope to see you again very soon, as well.

Please let us know when you are ready to return, and we'll be here to welcome you once again.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is a very charming hotel that is located close to the beach and boardwalk in Spring Lake, NJ. Hotel staff were friendly and made our stay enjoyable. Room was spacious, but could use some minor touch ups, as with any older hotel. The morning continental breakfast was perfect and the coffee machine does make a good cup of coffee and hot chocolate. We didn't get a chance this time to visit "Whispers", the superb restaurant located in the hotel. If you have a chance and are celebrating a special occasion, don't miss having dinner at this restaurant.

Room Tip: We had chosen room 25, which is located on the third floor towards the back of the hotel. This is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

All of us here appreciate the nicely detailed review. Especially, the room tips. These tips allow future guests to understand, and pick the perfect room for their stay! It also assists returning guests in possibly trying something new.

All of our rooms are unique, and we think they all have their own special charm.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences while visiting with us. We hope to see you again soon. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is extremely nice victorian style property with an excellent restaurant and great food. Clean and cozy rooms and very conveniently located.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SSRK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We appreciate the kind words, and the recognition of our cleanliness. Our housekeeping department works extremely hard, and they appreciate the acknowledgement of that.

Whispers, the on-site restaurant, is a popular choice. We're happy that you also visited them during your stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Will probably stay at our favorite bed & breakfast next visit....Quality of room was not what was expected...especially for the price...?? disappointed. :( Decor was very dull & outdated? rug looked like something from the sixties? very mixed decor? made no sense? (room 3) did not like breakfast at all. We initially came down for Dinner at Whispers (Our Favorite Restaurant) for special occasion & thought we would try the hotel. Dinner was superb as always..but hotel was bit of a let down.. However, view & location are fantastic. Wish I could give a better review, maybe other rooms are nicer but we were not happy with Room 3.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leeee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. However, we would have greatly appreciated the mention of your expectations, and how we did not meet them, while you were staying with. We always strive to make our guests as comfortable as possible while they are still staying with us on-property...and not when they have already departed. Please allow me to just elaborate on your review, in order to paint a more clear picture of your experience.

Room 3 is a unique room. It has recently been renovated, and we have just put a brand new King Sized Bed in there. Also, the room's private pool porch is a very popular amenity with most of our guests.

We are not a bed a breakfast. However, I am a little surprised that you did not enjoy our breakfast on Sunday morning, with fresh berries, fruits, bagels, pastries, and of course our wildly popular Waffle Bar. As a hotel, we feel breakfast is pretty robust, especially considering that it is complimentary, and most hotels around here would normally charge you up to $4.00 for just a standard continental breakfast.

I am sure there could have been something we could have done to make your stay more comfortable while you were still with us. Never hesitate to voice your concerns, and/or, desires. We're in hospitality! We're here to welcome you, and provide a comfortable and inviting experience.

If you were to visit us again, please call us directly, and we can direct you to the room that would best suit your needs, and make you feel most comfortable.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely old hotel with excellent location by Spring Lake. Our first floor suite was very spacious with private access to wrap-around porch. Staff was very friendly and the complimentary breakfast was more than adequate. The coffee machine also dispenses hot chocolate at the touch of a button! Short walk to the boardwalk and beach.

Room Tip: First floor suite was very spacious, nicely decorated with private access to porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aka2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, June 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're all very glad that you enjoyed your ground-floor suite, which was Room 2, by the way. It is the only Suite with a private porch (however, there are standard rooms within the hotel with private balconies and/or porches). We're glad you enjoyed that aspect of the suite as well. It is a very popular amenity for our guests.

Our breakfast and coffee services have really come a long way over the past two years. We're hoping to only make it better, too!

Also, thank you for making mention of your room tips. It will greatly assist future guests in deciding where to stay, and what room best suits their needs.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experiences! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
257 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing