We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and well presented room”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean and well presented room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in room 14. Very clean and well prsented room with superb views. However, bath/shower could do with updating, and as only a couple of rooms occupied no breakfast was set put. The manager did however offer to deliver a cold breakfast selection to the room. The other downside was that the room was very cold, there appeared to be no/minimal heating on. The weather was unseasonably cold . There were no staff around at all but we were given a mobile contact no. and the manager did seem helpful. Overall, adequate and not bad value for money but not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Godder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We appreciate you noticing the cleanliness of our property. Our housekeeping department works extremely hard, and they appreciate the kind words.

In regards to your "heating issue", I am not sure if you realized that each of our rooms has central heat and air conditioning, which is operated using your room's own digital thermostat. You had the freedom to adjust your room's temperature to whatever you would have liked. I apologize if you did not realize this, and in turn were a little uncomfortable at times. This could have easily been pointed out to you if you had brought this to our attention during your two-night stay with us. Never hesitate to voice a concern...we are always here to respond.

Once again thank you for sharing the details of your experience! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

We loved it. Our first night was at the Chateau which we considered noisy & dark. (Possibly, if you like the Chateau, you won’t like this & visa-versa). Location is terrific – lake on one side, pretty tree-lined residential street other side, facing the ocean which you can see from upper rooms and we could hear in our room (weather depending). Short walk to beach – 2 blocks or so. We walked back & forth often.
A comfortable, relaxed feel of visiting someone you know but who’s out of town.
Apparently each room is different. Our suite (25) was like staying in Grandma’s apartment…restful and calm. Some might consider it dated (many of the rooms have been updated apparently). We love a modern room but we also loved this simple comfortable apartment feel. Wall-to-wall off-white carpeting, a basic, comfortable sofa, 2 wing chairs by the windows, reading lamps, small TV in the cabinet, a desk, fridge. Bedroom equally simple. Not fussy; very peaceful.
We heard the ocean, birds, wind in the trees, which was restful. Lovely cross-breeze.
That part of the hotel is a small walk and then up a few narrow flights of stairs.
Love the coffee-making option in the room.
Bill, the Manger, is very friendly, available and enthusiastic about his Property. He knew exactly which restaurant to recommend for our mood. (the fish place on the river – terrific)
The common area is a simple round living room off the main entry – sufficient, pleasant, but not a place to curl up all day.
Big wrap-around porch with plenty of wicker & cushioned seating.
Breakfast is included – Yoplait Yogurt, muffins, toast-making. For a full (or healthier) breakfast, you’ll want to go out.
Nice touch: apples & granola bars at front desk; tea/coffee available all day.
Fully booked and people seemed happy to be there.
We would definitely return – either to same suite or to try another room.

You can rent bikes - really fantastic to bike in Spring Lake - the boardwalk all the way to Asbury Park, or just around the neighborhood, looking at the beautiful homes.

Room Tip: Probably want to have a conversation about which room would appeal to you since all are different. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Naomi_X0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We are very pleased you had a great time! We are also so amazed at how detailed your review was. It really paints a nice picture for all of the guests that will be trying us for the first time...or it gives a returning guest a great idea on where to stay within the building on their next visit!

Once again, thank you for sharing the details of your experience. We cannot wait to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We recently stayed here and were overwhelmed by the service, not to mention the beautiful suite with ocean and lake views. The manager was gracious enough to allow us an extended checkout which was much appreciated. We give it our highest recommendation. Terrific value as well,

Room Tip: Suite 27. High floor. Quite. Beautifully appointed. Excellent views. Felt like being at home, only b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We appreciate the kind words. If we have the ability to do it, we will always try to accommodate guests with a later departure, or an early arrival, depending on what their needs are. We cannot always promise these conveniences, but we will always try out best.

Also, thank you for providing a 'Room Tip' to future guests. You'll be happy to know that we just updated Room 27 with brand new TVs and an entertainment center. Hopefully, you can visit again to take advantage of these great additions!

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

I could not have asked for a better weekend. This hotel far exceeded my expectations. The hotel manager went out of his way to accommodate my very late check-in. He came up the next morning to introduce himself and see if we needed anything. The rooms were clean, and spacious. When asked the manager recommended local eateries for the type of food we preferred.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool or lake so any room is a great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celticross1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're all very glad that you had a great time, and that your expectations were exceeded. We always strive to provide an excellent experience, and to hear that we provided for you a transcended supposition means a lot to us.

Once again, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the very near future! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yukon, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

We picked this location because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. We booked it for five nights going through New Years. We arrived past 11 pm due to our afternoon flight from Okla. No one was at the counter, however our key was left in an envelope with our name on it.

We walked up the flight of stairs as quietly as we could. The room was on the back side of the hotel, so we had a five day view of the garage apartment located behind the hotel. Our room was dated, but clean. There was plenty of drawer/closet space, but when we went to put our empty suitcases under the bed, we discovered multiple pairs of shoes, a couple of boxes with used toiletries and other personal items. Since it was so late we ignored the items and went to bed.

The next morning we left and went to NYC for New Years activities. We didn't come back to the hotel until after 2 am on Jan 1st. Our room was cleaned whiled we were away, but the items remained under the bed...again it was late, so we ignored them.

On Jan 1st we had another full day of activities, but when we returned our room was untouched..no clean up, no fresh linens. We blew it off since we were so tired from being out all day.

After a third full day of activities we came back to another day of an uncleaned room. We alerted the manager of the oversight and he quickly brought us fresh towels. He also made note to the housekeeper to clean our room the following day.

We ended up being the only guests at the hotel the final two nights of our stay. We went back into the city and came back to a dirty room...again. Long story short, we had our room cleaned/freshened up once the entire time we were there for three five night stay.

To add to the unclean room, we noticed on our bill that it cost us more to stay there on the final days by ourselves vs. when the hotel was occupied by others. As we were leaving, we left a note at the unoccupied front desk asking the MGR to call us about the issues we experienced during our stay.

Once home, after speaking to the management, we were given a refund of one nights stay.

Was it a nice hotel? Yes..beautiful.
Was it a good location? Since it was just a place for us to sleep..yes.
Would I stay here again? Not sure...If we did, I can't say it would be due to the service we received. Plus, the stuff being under the bed that belonged to someone else gave me the creeps. The refund of one of the nights helped keep this review from being below average.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonEason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We appreciate that you have taken the time to write such a detailed review of our property. Your details can be used by us to help improve future guests' stays, or assist us in providing an improved experience for you shall you return.

I want to take this time to inform some of the viewers of this particular review that you had booked your reservation through Hotels.com, which owns and operates TripAdvisor. Due to the nature of the reservation, Hotels.com does not allow us to contact the guest prior to their arrival, which means we try to post as many "Know Before You Go" policies to assist each guest in their plans prior to their Check-In Date. One of these policies and reminders is that we are currently in our off-season, and we have limited front desk hours. There sometimes may not be someone at the front desk, during our off-season, to assist you with Check-In procedures.

Also, we are a Condominium Hotel, which means the particular unit you had reserved is owned by a private individual. The items under the bed you are speaking of, are items that owners leave in their units for guests to use, or store; i.e. weights, exercise equipment (due to us not having a fitness center on property), extra storage for extended stay guests, etc. Not all owners do this, but some do, just as an added amenity for some guests.

I also apologize that our housekeeping services didn't meet your expectations. One thing we take very seriously is our cleanliness, and our housekeeping department. However, we also respect a guest's privacy, and we do not enter a guest's room when there is a privacy sign hanging on the door, which we recall seeing on multiple occasions while you were staying with us. I am not trying to make excuses for not meeting your expectations, but I do want to help you understand how we may sometimes operate in terms of guest privacy.

We did understand that the rate you had reserved for your last two evenings were higher than your first couple of evenings, so we felt it was necessary to refund the differences in rates for you. We're always glad to accommodate a guest's rate requests in the most fair manner possible.

Once again...we truly appreciate your comments, and we also appreciate a dialogue with our guests to help improve the property as a whole for the future. Our guest's experiences are our primary focus. We try to provide an amazing experience for each individual. We hope to welcome you back in the near future, and hope to provide a better experience for you the next time around.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
old tappan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My 86 year-old Mom and I stayed overnight during the week in early October. The first floor suite had a nice attached porch and great view of the lake out front. The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. I slept well.... and I say that after spending the evening on a pull out couch, which in other hotels hasn't gone so well for me.

The manager, Bill, was completely attentive to our needs and made sure that we had everything we would need for the evening as well as the following morning (ie breakfast), since there were no other guests in the building and he would not be putting out a buffet. I would stay again in a heart beat. The location is prime. I wish every hotel manager was as helpful as Bill.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We all appreciate the very kind words. The off-season can sometimes be tricky. We try to accommodate every guest as well as we can, and I am very glad we were able to accommodate you, and your Mother. You were, both, very wonderful guests, and you made hospitality easy.

Once again, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, MA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

Stayed in October 2011 for one Saturday night. Just picked a spot on the internet to stop on the way down south. My wife and I were a bit worried about the wedding season and with this being a very old hotel we were afraid it may be a little loud.. However, the inn was booked and very quite. A good value considering the ritzy area, especially a Saturday stay. The service people were very professional and courteous. The continental breakfast was just that, basic- Nothing special, but the all day and night coffee came in handy. Our room was not decorated well but very cozy and unique. The queen bed was a bit dated and could use a new mattress. The Hotel overall was white and plain and this does give it a larger feel, but these are just my overall observations. I actually love this style.

Room Tip: We had room 17. the only one left available. the others appeared better decorated on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dan_ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, November 3, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

We're very happy that you had taken a trip down to Spring Lake and had chosen The Hewitt Wellington for you hospitality needs.

It is true that all of our rooms are different in regards to decor, but we like to think that each room has its own story to tell. We're glad you enjoyed the story that Room 17 shared with you. Most importantly, though, we're very happy you were comfortable, and that you recognized the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff works extremely hard, and they definitely appreciate the recognition.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing