We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect spot-beautiful Hotel and WONDERFUL staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hewitt Wellington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hewitt Wellington
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect spot-beautiful Hotel and WONDERFUL staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Mr, Bill Hamby and his staff--Bridget and Nicole and all the cleaning staff were so professional. and helpful---the rooms- roomy--immacualte--continentel breakfast-the fabulous pool---Customer service -in my opinion has become a lost art but at the Hewitt Wellington is has been PERFECTED---I will return often as will my family ---

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We are so happy to hear that everyone here at the hotel was hospitable, welcoming, and generous to you and your family. We always enjoy taking the time to get to know our guests. The personality of all the associates here are very kind, happy, and willing to go the extra mile.

I know Nicole and Brigitte stand out in your mind, but Kathy at the front desk, our entire housekeeping staff, and our superintendent, James, are just as kind and eager to assist all of the guests, also.

We're happy to hear that every aspect of your stay with us was enjoyable. We can't wait to welcome you and your family in the future. See you soon!

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    170
    63
    20
    11
See reviews for
140
333
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We decided to spend couple of nights at the Hewitt Wellington and were pleased with the accommodations as well as its close proximity to the beach. When we were tired of the beach, it was great to be able to relax by the pool.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloraNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

Our pool is a great way to unwind after a great, sunny day at the beach! It's quiet, private, and simple, and always a great place to lay out and enjoy the end of the day.

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the accommodations, as well. Once again, thank you for the kind words. Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is a perfect place, spotless, tasteful, courteous staff and beautiful location. Will return!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJersey055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

Short, simple, and sweet! Thank you for the kind words. We hope to welcome you and yours again very soon!

Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

What a ripoff - $300/night to walk up to second or third floor dragging your own bags (we were there for a wedding) for a room which quickly filled with sugar ants at any sign of life and which featured a very hard queen-size bed - very uncomfortable. Granted this is the height of their season, but we've stayed, at the same time of year, at the Kensington Park Hotel in London and the President Hotel in Vienna for less money - and they have elevators, good locations, responsive help, etc. etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pierre071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We strive to make sure each guest is comfortable in every aspect of their stay with us.

When a particular issue is brought to our attention, we always make sure it is immediately handled in a thorough manner. Unfortunately, the issues you are voicing were never brought to our attention during your stay, therefore we were not aware of them until just now. I can assure you we would have assisted in making you as comfortable as possible if we were made aware.

We always appreciate hearing from guests. It is with your participation on this network that we can improve future guest's experiences. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

We recently stayed at the HW w/our two daughters. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room fit our needs perfectly. A small pool, beach badges, towels and chairs are included which was a nice bonus. Great location...close to the beach, downtown and next to the lake. Our search is over, we found our spot to stay at while visiting Spring Lake.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay with us!

We're all very happy that you found the property perfect for your needs, and we're also very happy that everything was found convenient for you and yours. We may not be directly on the beach, but we are very close, which helps keep the property very quiet. Plus, the lake provides a very serene view for all of the guests.

We're so happy we're your new spot at the shore, and we all can't wait to welcome you and your family in the future! Have a very pleasant day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We only were able to stay one night at this lovely place and wish we had more time!! We had rooms 19 & 20 that are suites on the first floor which was nice with the children. We were close to the very nice pool and breezeway. We came back from the beach and enjoyed cheese and crackers and ice tea that was provided in the breezeway. Enjoyed sitting on the front porch in the evening, very relaxing. We were able to walk to the beach and also enjoyed going to the ice cream parlor after dinner. I hope to go back when we have more time to enjoy this lovely Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel1415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

I believe you stayed in Rooms 18 and 19, actually. Nevertheless, we are so happy that you enjoyed the time you spent with us! The afternoon snacks and tea are always fun, and guests always seem to enjoy.

There is so much space, and great views throughout the entire property, it is so easy to relax and soak Spring Lake in. We're also happy you had fun in the pool, and at the beach. It's always fun. You are correct, though, one night is never enough here. You need a few more days. Not a problem, we are always here to welcome you back. Hopefully, for a more extended stay next time! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

Our trip to Spring Lake and the Hewitt Wellington was so enjoyable! The second we arrived it felt right! The town, the Hewitt Wellington, the people we met were all great. We are not big "shore people" with the typical traffic conjestion, obnoxious people and crowded beaches but this area is not that at all. The Hewitt Wellington and Spring Lake makes "the shore" feel right at home, away from home. This was so relaxing and comfortable. We will be back and we have already told so many people about it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDLRTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HWMgr, General Manager at Hewitt Wellington, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank your for sharing the details of your most recent stay!

Spring Lake is not your usual "shore town", and it really shows. The tall, beautiful trees, the picturesque lakes, and the extremely generous people that you meet. The private beach also allows people to relax, and enjoy The Atlantic the way it should be, and it is always so clean. Spring Lake definitely does the "shore" the right way.

We're so glad that we were able to assist you in enjoying all of these great things Spring Lake has to offer, and we hope to welcome you again soon! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.5 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
4.7 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Asbury Hotel
The Asbury Hotel
#1 of 6 in Asbury Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hewitt Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hewitt Wellington

Property: Hewitt Wellington
Address: 200 Monmouth Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1127
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hewitt Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hewitt Wellington is a historic Victorian hotel situated in one of the most beautiful settings on the New Jersey shore. The Hewitt Wellington has been a luxurious vacation retreat since the turn of the 20th century and was recently meticulously renovated, preserving both the architectural integrity and old-world charm that earned her a place in history. The Hewitt Wellington Hotel is proud to offer elegantly appointed suites as well as a heated pool, graceful wraparound porches and one of New Jersey's top-rated restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hewitt Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hewitt Wellington Hotel Spring Lake
Hewitt Wellington Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing