We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuck in time”
Review of Doolan's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doolan's
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed two days for our son's wedding. The hotel is stuck in time...needs major updating! The A/C squeeked all night long. Breakfast was good. There was a couple fighting in the room next to ours, so I called the front desk at 4:00 a.m. only to receive an answering machine.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank PatO459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

Doolans Shore Club offers everything nice clean rooms, pool, great hospitality and delicious gourmet meals at a great price. Was there for 2 days a few weeks ago and can't wait to go back again in July and hopefully again in sept..

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms facing the pool are suites; include 2 bathrooms, king size bed, pull out couch and k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ontherunNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed for two days. The weather wasn't the greatest but room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was okay- continental. Dinner in the Grille was excellent. The pool was very nice and convenient to all rooms. Weather did not permit us to go to beach but the town is quite nice. Would go back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Apparently, Doolan's specializes in senior citizen gatherings. Nothing wrong with that. We were there for an Italian festival and had a great time. Live band and good dance music- including electric slide, Sinatra type vocalist who was quite good and an Italian comic who was very appealing. The food was okay- plenty of roast sirloin and edible.
That being said: 300 frolicking senior citizens, carousing, drinking, and only 3 stalls in the ladies' room. Please... With 1 for handicap?
Renovation is called for.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank 5pumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We did the groupon andenjoyed the stay...had drinks in the lounge with the bartender who was friendly...and enjoyed a walk around town...met some people out around the pool and had two good dinners in the dining room including the prime rib night

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the parking lot and rooms facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

This place was so filthy and sleazy I was stunned that it was in Spring Lake. Given the area, I expected better. This place is stuck in the 90's, which was probably the last time it was a good spot to go to. Now it's just tacky and unclean.

The bartender was pretty good, but the food was awful and the entertainment was laughably ridiculous. The rooms were so disgusting we almost left. It was an alright price for the area, but a ripoff given what it actually looked like.

Also, I'm not sure what to call their prison version of a pool, but it's the most absurd thing I've ever seen. There's a wrought iron fence around the perimeter of the entire pool! You can't even sit on the side and dip your feet in! I wouldn't be surprised if someone drowned there or something. Just avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Globalgirl47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan0700, Owner at Doolan's, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback . As you can see from our many recent favorable reviews, we have completed many updates to our facility since your visit. I can assure you we are investing in our future and working very hard to make each guest's visit to the shore a pleasurable memory. I also truly would like the opportunity to discuss your dining experience. As we usually receive favorable reviews about our food, it is most important for me to learn of any negative experiences for my operations to continually improve itself. Again, I thank you for your comments and wish to personally hear from you. Sincerely, Susan Doolan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My first time at Doolan's was when I was 17 years old. I'm turning "60" in a couple of months. I have been coming down here that many years.And never stayed anywhere else. It has always been my favorite "Ever" hotel in Spring Lake. My family and I can't say enough about how wonderful the staff/Management is. Add to this, They just re-did many rooms with the best mattress's/ pillows ever, beautiful décor. We can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kateian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
4.2 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's

Address: 700 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-2048
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $72 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doolan's 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doolan's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolan`s Hotel Spring Lake
Doolans Spring Lake
Doolans Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing