We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Fence”
Review of Doolan's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doolan's
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I attended a wedding, which was great fun, The food was fantastic and the staff very nice. However, the check-in process was strange as there was no signage indicating check-in or anything else for that matter (sorry I work for an architectural signage company). Once we checked in their records stated I owed money, but in fact I had prepaid, which was suggested when I made my reservation (very odd). The room keys reminded me of the old data cards for the IBM computers. When we opened the door we were flabbergasted by the condition of the room; musty smell, peeling wallpaper, worn and dated furniture, stained carpet and chairs, and an open loft space that looked dusty and cob web laden. There was a very eerie feel to the room, and we didn't feel comfortable. Fortunately, we were too busy trying to get ready for the wedding to care, but upon leaving the next morning we vowed we would not stay here again. Even if we had to attend a wedding there, we would find another hotel in the area. So I say I'm on the fence because they do a great job with weddings but the other end of the hospitality spectrum leaves a lot to be desired. And by the way, where were these re-done rooms?????

Room Tip: Apparently there are remodeled rooms, ask for one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harlemstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 136 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had our daughter's wedding there and stayed in one of the recently re-done poolside rooms. The room was beautiful and big with a living room area. This area was great because we had many family and friends staying and it was a great space to gather and visit. The wedding couldn't have been better and the staff was wonderful and very attentive. Bob and Susan made our wedding and hotel stay a wonderful experience. I would recommend the venue highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed here. The room was recently re-done. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The bed, ah the bed, had a brand new matress on it and it was heavenly. Had a great night's sleep. We also had dinner in the restaurant, it was delicious. The steaks are very good! We will go back and stay again when the pool is open so we can take advatage of the pool.
This is not the Ritz. It is a nice facility with nice people. It is a place where you can feel comfortable and people care if you are comfortable or not.

Room Tip: Pool side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtf505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went there on a package that included "Date Night Dinner". When we walked in I asked an employee where thre registration desk was, he had a blank stare. We were standing right in front of it (it was not marked). Our package was to include a Deluxe Room, but alas none were available. Given a room with two full size beds. The steps to the room (two stories) up are falling apart (not easy for any seniors out there). Concrete worn away to the iron supports. The room was dark (two lights not working at all), not particularly clean (dust on outlet covers, rust stains on the tub), Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom, the panel on the front door is peeling off and the table in the room has many chips. Ugh ! We were not told we needed to make "a reservation" for Date Night so we were given a time to appear (early) We were in a back room and little details were missing , they gave us a menu that according to our waitress was a couple of months old (they gave us and updated one), others had bread we did not. Having said that the food was very good and desert was excellent. This place has a reputation for parties and weddings. They should stick to there strength and get out of the no tell motel business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TonyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

went there with my boyfriend with a travelzoo voucher, ( maybe that is why we were treated like Honey Boo Boo's grandparents). Keys were thrown at us, Was told that our room was behind dumpster. Walked up 3 flights of very damaged steps. Room was scary!!! Missing light bulbs, an unknown balcony above beds!!!!!. Not very clean! Our voucher included a "date night meal". We were not told to make reservations. When we inquired we were very nastily told to be there at 5. Table was by kitchen! Now their clientele are seniors. This is appalling! The hotel needs repairs & the staff needs customer service training! Skip this place!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank megtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan0700, Owner at Doolan's, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We truly value the opinions of all our guests. Over the last two years we have done many renovations to improve our venue. The focus of the first phase of our renovations was on the restaurant and banquet facility.

We have now begun the second phase which focuses on our guest rooms. We have just completed the first 16 rooms with each room decorated in a different beach theme. The pool level rooms are currently being remodeled and will be 75 percent completed by Memorial Day weekend. Many will be expanded to become mini suites. We do apologize for the dumpster in the back of the building, but we are working hard to finish the project before the summer.

We have also reviewed your comments with both our housekeeping and front office staff. Our front office staff is trained to be both professional and courteous to all of our guests and we have always received positive feedback in this area. The owners’ office is in the same space as the guest check in and under our watchful eyes. No receptionist would ever “throw keys” to a guest who is checking in. Our criteria for hiring front office staff encompasses a pleasant disposition as well as experience.

We appreciate the business of every guest. We are a facility that houses an a la carte restaurant, a banquet facility and over 50 guest rooms. Doolan’s Shore Club has been in operation for over 50 years as a family run business. We are fortunate to have a very strong local following. Accordingly, the weekend of your stay we had many events: a baptism, a communion, a charity event, date night with Sinatra music, a wedding and a 50th High School Reunion.

While you feel seniors are “appalling”, it was our pleasure to hold this special event at our facility and we hope to have their 55th reunion. We look forward to all 20,30,40,50,60,70,80 year old clients that will stay here with us.

Susan and Joanie Doolan

PS We forgot to mention the families and 90 year old clients too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went back to Doolans for a weekend and had another great time. We had a superb dinner at the restaurant both nights. This time the room was a bit smaller but it was clean. The staff was courteous and helpful as usual.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had my wedding here, and as a wedding venue it CAN NOT be beat. The food is awesome, the people are accomodating and it was just PERFECT- truly... The hotel portion needs a little bit of help.... If you stay in one of the more expensive rooms on the inside lobby area, there are no complaints.... However, the rooms with doors on the outside (motel style) even though they are clean, they are very very outdated. I was a little bit embarassed when I saw some of the rooms my wedding guests received after traveling so far, and spending so much on the rooms...... My room was gorgeous and bright, but the poolside rooms weren't the best :( Would stay again in a heartbeat if I had one of the suites....Would recommend as a wedding venue to ANY bride... Just needs an update on the other rooms. restaurant is great too.. Have come back for dinner several times since the wedding.

Room Tip: Any room you need to walk up the grand staircase to get to is very nice... Outside access rooms need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
4.2 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#3 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
10.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
La Quinta Inn West Long Branch
#2 of 3 in West Long Branch
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's

Address: 700 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-2048
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $72 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Doolan's 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Doolan's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolan`s Hotel Spring Lake
Doolans Spring Lake
Doolans Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing