We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat There Don't Stay There”
Review of Doolan's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doolan's
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Eat There Don't Stay There”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Went there on a package that included "Date Night Dinner". When we walked in I asked an employee where thre registration desk was, he had a blank stare. We were standing right in front of it (it was not marked). Our package was to include a Deluxe Room, but alas none were available. Given a room with two full size beds. The steps to the room (two stories) up are falling apart (not easy for any seniors out there). Concrete worn away to the iron supports. The room was dark (two lights not working at all), not particularly clean (dust on outlet covers, rust stains on the tub), Wallpaper peeling in the bathroom, the panel on the front door is peeling off and the table in the room has many chips. Ugh ! We were not told we needed to make "a reservation" for Date Night so we were given a time to appear (early) We were in a back room and little details were missing , they gave us a menu that according to our waitress was a couple of months old (they gave us and updated one), others had bread we did not. Having said that the food was very good and desert was excellent. This place has a reputation for parties and weddings. They should stick to there strength and get out of the no tell motel business.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    23
    11
    25
See reviews for
44
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

went there with my boyfriend with a travelzoo voucher, ( maybe that is why we were treated like Honey Boo Boo's grandparents). Keys were thrown at us, Was told that our room was behind dumpster. Walked up 3 flights of very damaged steps. Room was scary!!! Missing light bulbs, an unknown balcony above beds!!!!!. Not very clean! Our voucher included a "date night meal". We were not told to make reservations. When we inquired we were very nastily told to be there at 5. Table was by kitchen! Now their clientele are seniors. This is appalling! The hotel needs repairs & the staff needs customer service training! Skip this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank megtaylor10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan0700, Owner at Doolan's, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We truly value the opinions of all our guests. Over the last two years we have done many renovations to improve our venue. The focus of the first phase of our renovations was on the restaurant and banquet facility.

We have now begun the second phase which focuses on our guest rooms. We have just completed the first 16 rooms with each room decorated in a different beach theme. The pool level rooms are currently being remodeled and will be 75 percent completed by Memorial Day weekend. Many will be expanded to become mini suites. We do apologize for the dumpster in the back of the building, but we are working hard to finish the project before the summer.

We have also reviewed your comments with both our housekeeping and front office staff. Our front office staff is trained to be both professional and courteous to all of our guests and we have always received positive feedback in this area. The owners’ office is in the same space as the guest check in and under our watchful eyes. No receptionist would ever “throw keys” to a guest who is checking in. Our criteria for hiring front office staff encompasses a pleasant disposition as well as experience.

We appreciate the business of every guest. We are a facility that houses an a la carte restaurant, a banquet facility and over 50 guest rooms. Doolan’s Shore Club has been in operation for over 50 years as a family run business. We are fortunate to have a very strong local following. Accordingly, the weekend of your stay we had many events: a baptism, a communion, a charity event, date night with Sinatra music, a wedding and a 50th High School Reunion.

While you feel seniors are “appalling”, it was our pleasure to hold this special event at our facility and we hope to have their 55th reunion. We look forward to all 20,30,40,50,60,70,80 year old clients that will stay here with us.

Susan and Joanie Doolan

PS We forgot to mention the families and 90 year old clients too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spring Lake hotels

New Windsor, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went back to Doolans for a weekend and had another great time. We had a superb dinner at the restaurant both nights. This time the room was a bit smaller but it was clean. The staff was courteous and helpful as usual.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had my wedding here, and as a wedding venue it CAN NOT be beat. The food is awesome, the people are accomodating and it was just PERFECT- truly... The hotel portion needs a little bit of help.... If you stay in one of the more expensive rooms on the inside lobby area, there are no complaints.... However, the rooms with doors on the outside (motel style) even though they are clean, they are very very outdated. I was a little bit embarassed when I saw some of the rooms my wedding guests received after traveling so far, and spending so much on the rooms...... My room was gorgeous and bright, but the poolside rooms weren't the best :( Would stay again in a heartbeat if I had one of the suites....Would recommend as a wedding venue to ANY bride... Just needs an update on the other rooms. restaurant is great too.. Have come back for dinner several times since the wedding.

Room Tip: Any room you need to walk up the grand staircase to get to is very nice... Outside access rooms need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The RHS Class of '67 just had our 2nd weekend reunion at Doolan's Shore
Club in Spring Lake, NJ. I have to say, the place is even better than
it was 2 years ago! The place is perfect for a large event, it's the
best because the staff is so accommodating.
Since we were last there Susan had the bar put in the front room and on
Friday night, the place has live music. We were able to dance and have
a private party in the upstairs room while listening to the music
downstairs. Our reunion dinner was not
until Saturday night and it was made that much more successful by the
elegance of the room and the fabulous, I mean fabulous food! We went
with the Carving Station with the prime rib and turkey and that was
outstanding a big success with all the
guys! Everyone loved the food and a special thanks to Susan and her
staff, especially, Bob for making the night special and being most
accommodating. Since this was our second time there we left all the
details to Susan and as usual she doesn't let you
down. She's the best!

We've already booked our next weekend event in 2 years since our class
didn't leave until breakfast the next morning and decided they wanted
another event in 2 years instead of waiting another 5 for a big class
reunion. Thanks again, Doolan's!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedRedWineNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the hotel portion of Doolan's because I was attending a wedding there and rooms where blocked off for the wedding guests. My room, which you access from the parking lot was horrible. It was old, outdated and nasty. If I wasn't having a drink or two that night...I would have driven home and lost the money I paid out for the room. The bathroom looked like it was from a gas station. When I flicked the switch...a red heat lamp bolb lit up! I refused to take a shower because I thought the ceiling was going to fall down on me. I even asked the front if I could switch rooms and shockingly they were all booked. I couldn't wait to leave. The room cost $70.....you clearly get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mustalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BROOMALL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I waited a month to get the rom I wanted , which was described as a Deluxe Room. Yes it slightly overlooked the pool, but that was obscurred by the air conditioners right outside the picture window. The bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. The bathroom was not clean, floor had hair and bobbie pins laying here when we arrived. Walls needed to be painted and repaired. Sink faucet ran the whole time. Towels were like sandpaper. Continental breakfast was minimal and poorly staffed, had to ask for several things both days. Dinner in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SARGEBROOMALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
630 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Inn & Suites
Atlantic Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Wall Township
17 reviews
11.2 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's

Property: Doolan's
Address: 700 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-2048
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doolan's 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Doolan's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolan`s Hotel Spring Lake
Doolans Spring Lake
Doolans Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing