We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel”
Review of Doolan's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Doolan's
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Staten Island, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at the hotel portion of Doolan's because I was attending a wedding there and rooms where blocked off for the wedding guests. My room, which you access from the parking lot was horrible. It was old, outdated and nasty. If I wasn't having a drink or two that night...I would have driven home and lost the money I paid out for the room. The bathroom looked like it was from a gas station. When I flicked the switch...a red heat lamp bolb lit up! I refused to take a shower because I thought the ceiling was going to fall down on me. I even asked the front if I could switch rooms and shockingly they were all booked. I couldn't wait to leave. The room cost $70.....you clearly get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mustalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    37
    23
    11
    25
See reviews for
44
41
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
BROOMALL
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I waited a month to get the rom I wanted , which was described as a Deluxe Room. Yes it slightly overlooked the pool, but that was obscurred by the air conditioners right outside the picture window. The bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows. The bathroom was not clean, floor had hair and bobbie pins laying here when we arrived. Walls needed to be painted and repaired. Sink faucet ran the whole time. Towels were like sandpaper. Continental breakfast was minimal and poorly staffed, had to ask for several things both days. Dinner in the restaurant was very good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SARGEBROOMALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Shore Club is without a doubt the most friendly and hospitable hotel/resort facility in which my wife and I have ever vacationed and we have traveled all across the USA.
Susan and Joan, the proprietors are obviously continuing the Doolan family tradition established by their parents. THEIR ATTENTION TO DETAIL AND SERVICE TO THE GUESTS HAS BEEN PASSED ONTO EVERYONE OF THEIR EMPLOYEES!
We appeared to be the only first-time guests as eveyone else had been long time guests of 10, 20, 30 years and a couple of generations but by the second day we were one of them,totally accepted and welcomed by one and all.
But we will not be "rookies any longer as we have already reseved the same week for next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The food and customer service at the reception was impeccable. Yes, the hotel rooms could use some updating but were very clean and comfortable. The rooms are charming. We called poolside for a bar order and the service was friendly, fast and thankful. More customer service than some 4 or 5 star hotels. If you are looking for a luxurious room, don't stay. If you are looking for an adorable, cottage type room, it's your kind of place. The free breakfast buffet offered a variety of choices and was delicious. Again, the service was excellent. A very friendly staff!

Room Tip: I heard the theme rooms were very spacious and cool. We had a terrific standard room, poolside and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Moriches
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is a Motel - the pool outside was beautiful however, the rooms were gross. I came here for a wedding and thought for shore with the name Doolan's Shore Club we were on the water...not even close. My room faced the parking lot - it was dark and trying to get ready for the wedding I realized there were bulbs out. I called the front desk and they sent a maid right over- she came with two USED light bulbs and neither of them worked. The basket above the toilet was dusty and dirty and these rooms SERIOUSLY need to be updated. The air conditioner was loud and barely worked. If you are invited to a wedding here be sure to stay some place else!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JPn_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Spring Lake hotels

Deer Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Please, please don't be fooled by ANY good reviews for this place! I am thinking they were all posted by the owners of Doolan's because no one on this planet could enjoy a stay here. The rooms are the most terrible I have ever seen. We stayed one night only out of desperation; there was no other vacancies around that night. The place has not been updated since probably the 1970's. They put no money into this place. The room we were in was moldy, dingy, antiquated, and dirty. The wallpaper was peeling and the ceilings were brown with what must have been leaks. It smelled terrible of must and an air freshener that was put there to cover the bad smell. I am sure the DOH has not approved this place, it would be illegal! To top it all off, a group of people decided it was OK to party outside our door (next to pool) until the early hours with no regard for other guests that might want to sleep! Run the other way for real!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had our wedding here at Doolan's - ceremony & reception. We have not stopped receiving compliments on the food, the rooms and the service!
We fell in love with their atrium room - then we had dinner there and their food is amazing! I don't care for fish and I devoured their sea bass! They really offer a lot and the nearby Spring Lake offers great opportunities for pictures if its nice out or their lobby. We took pictures in both locations.
The only thing that is not over the top are their rooms. They are clean but nothing fancy. I had a suite which really just gives you more space. The other rooms I had stopped by to visit guests in were all clean. I would much rather have a basic, clean room when I go "down the shore" and great food then a fancy room that I'm not going to spend a lot of time in.

Room Tip: Rooms at the top of the stairs could be loud during the weekend until about 11pm because of the ball...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrelstaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.6 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Inn & Suites
Atlantic Inn & Suites
#2 of 5 in Wall Township
18 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doolan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doolan's

Property: Doolan's
Address: 700 State Route 71, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-2048
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Doolan's 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Doolan's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doolan`s Hotel Spring Lake
Doolans Spring Lake
Doolans Hotel Spring Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing