We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding Weekend at Breakers. ”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Attended a family wedding at the Breakers. Many family and friends stayed in the hotel. All thought the rooms, service and Resturant food were terrific. Great time just sitting on the porch watching the ocean and family and friends arriving.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Dbseagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 390 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I and another Couple (we are in age from 44 to 53) just returned from 2 amazing nights at the Breakers Hotel. We had 2 King rooms with side views of the ocean. The weather was beautiful for the 3rd weekend in October and we were on the beach each day. Granted we had on shorts and sometimes a sweatshirt but the sun was shining the entire time. We loved the big wraparound porch and quiet town of Spring Lake. We had dinner at Moonstruck in Asbury Park and also Du amici in Brielle. We also had breakfast at The Breakers one morning. The staff were amazing and very helpful. We were able tog et early checkin and late checkout. The boardwalk had a lot of runners, walkers on it and we saw 2 beautiful brides. The ONLY drawback was the $3.00 for a cup of coffee. It was free until 9 am BUT on vacation we were not early risers and shelled out 16 dollars for 5 coffees the first morning. WE learned out lesson the second day. The is place is a romantic quiet getaway for either a girls getaway or a romantic trip...Cost of room was 135 which is great or oceanfront......WE WILL BE BACK

Room Tip: Front of hotel...Side ocean view....Make sure you ask for your king bed to look out over ocean...ROO...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommachase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed our son's wedding reception at the Breakers. Nice to be right on the Ocean, and just to be at the shore. Parking was limited. Rooms are pricey, but am aware of that having vacationed at the Jersey Shore most of my life. Rooms are small and old. It was very hard to get in and out of the tubs. Air condition units in rooms are noisy. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Food was very good in the restaurant, but average at the wedding reception. Paying by check when reserving our room was an inconvenience to me. No credit cards are taken over the phone to reserve a room. Your reservation is not confirmed until they receive your check. The children enjoyed the pool and the adults also liked our get togethers at the pool for drinks.

Room Tip: Rooms were very clean, but are small. It was hard to get in and out of tubs. Shower stalls are not i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were looking for an extended weekend to mark our 40th Anniversary. It was just wonderful! The Hotel staff was exceptional, as was the service in the restaurant. The breakfast was delicious as was dinner. (ate lunch elsewhere!) --- Our room was very clean with any requests responded to promptly and courteously.

The outdoor pool looked very clean and inviting, though we didn't have enough time to give it a try. The uncluttered boardwalk's close proximity was perfect! And the view of the ocean was outstanding!

The town is a hidden treasure! and we'll be back again next year!

Room Tip: The Breakers did not have a Fitness Center/Spa facility on the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roylizmorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great location right on the beach near the boardwalk! The restaurant was very good but service sometimes slow.The ocean views from the room were good. The pool is very good size and not too crowded. Parking is limited though. Rooms were very clean and responsive staff handled all requests. A bit pricey but can't beat the location with walking distance to beach and Main St.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NDR0422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located right on the beach near the boardwalk. The restaurant was amazing. The ocean views from the side ocean view room was pretty good. We found the pool too cold to swim in.

Room Tip: We had a two queen side ocean view with whirlpool tub. It had a pretty good view of the ocean. Get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A WONDERFUL STAY
In late August, my family and I spent 3 nights at the Breakers Hotel to enjoy the seashore and celebrate an 80th Birthday -- and it was great. This was our first time to Spring Lake and as a very experienced traveler – in the states and overseas – I did not expect much. But, all I can say is that it was a wonderful experience, from A to Z.
First all it is a great location – right across the street from the beach and ocean – for which they provide free passes and all the towels you need. They have a beautiful Pool, & also a Kiddy Pool, where you can be served food and beverages during the day time. And if you don’t want to go to the beach – or after the beach – you can have cocktails on the Porch with a beautiful view of the beach & ocean.
Great service! We occupied 4 rooms, for: the birthday boy (80yrs old); one son with spouse and two children (4yrs & 8 months); second son with spouse & 2yr old child; and me & spouse. Obviously we presented a gamut of different requirements. These were all met in a superior manner.
To begin with, the entire staff –from the check-in clerks, to managers, was very accommodating & courteous. On top of all this they were children friendly. Even the Housekeeping staff went out of their way to make our stay a great one. To me treatment of guests is about the most important aspect of any hotel stay.
The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, whether it was for the kiddies or the old foggies like me. They also had a good selection of wines which were reasonably priced.
I have just one minor complaint – it would have been nice to not have to search for overnight parking spots after we returned from a little excursion – even if we had to pay for it. Aside from that, I highly recommend this place and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: The rooms on the higher floors are larger and have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
670 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
5.0 mi away
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
Berkeley Oceanfront Hotel
#3 of 6 in Asbury Park
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $100 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing