We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Old Hotel Right on the Ocean!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Grand Old Hotel Right on the Ocean!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I've been going here during the winter months for the past six years. Never crowded in winter, the rates for rooms with an ocean view are very reasonable, the food is very good, and the staff are friendly. The hotel is dated but nothing is run down. The rooms are very comfortable. I've always found The Breakers to be an enjoyable experience!

Room Tip: The rooms ending in "07" have a bay window overlooking the ocean and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olney1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    91
    42
    27
    47
See reviews for
135
138
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Byram, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Breakers is the only place we stay when we visit the Jersey shore. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, the views of the ocean are fantastic and the location couldn't be any better. Even after the devastation of Hurricane Sandy, the hotel suffered only minor exterior damage and it was being repaired while we were there. Marissa and Heather at the front desk are friendly and welcoming as always. I can't say enough great things about The Breakers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkesboro, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

our trip was cut 2 days short by hurricane Sandy. We combined a beachfront vacation with visiting our daughter in new york city. You can use the NJ train to go straight to Penn Station for days in the city. She also came out to stay at the hotel with us by the train also. You can enjoy an updated authentic hotel without feeling everything has been faked to the hilt to just copy an original hotel from the early 1900's, Yes, the elevator is slow. However, if you are people who want real charm and no faking it then, this is the place. Incredible new marble bathrooms with separate shower and huge jet tub. The view from the round walled rooms 4th floor. room 407 have a side view all the way down the beach as far as the eye can see. The windows opened and the breeze made the curtains stand out, Wonderful King size bed and a sofa affords you a seated view of the ocean and boardwalk for as long as you desire. Great room for the elderly or disabled to enjoy the constant views of weddings taking place in the gazebo. The beach is super clean and great shelling too. Boardwalk was so enjoyable. You may ask why are you reviewing a hotel that may not have weathered the hurricane? We rode out the storm in our daughter's apartment in new york. We had four flights cancelled trying to get back to NC. We just want The Breakers to know how great they treated us and our prayers and hopes are with them all. Thank you for your service right up to the evacuation.

Room Tip: Room 407 has the best ocean view out the side as far as the eye can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I used to do a summer share in the Belmar/Spring Lake area and fell in love with this part of the Jersey shore. The Breakers is one of the few hotels right across from the beach and was a natural choice for us. The staff is wonderful and requests are met promptly. The rooms are very clean, though a bit dated, but it's a beach hotel, you should be outside anyway. The pool is fabulous, though they need more umbrellas as the few offered are quite coveted. We didn't have breakfast, but our lunches poolside were wonderful-especially the perfect shrimp cocktail and house made sausage w peppers. Parking spots are plentiful and we never park more than a block away, again, you're walking in the ocean breeze, so enjoy the stroll! I came across trip adviser in an attempt to find out if the hotel survived hurricane Sandy and am heartbroken at the pictures of my beloved boardwalk. We have several visits to the Breakers planned for the upcoming summer and hope that everyone is safe and that this wonderful hotel weathered the storm with minimal damage. If you want to experience the true jersey shore and not the trainwreck depicted by a certain mtv show, visit The Breakers in beautiful, peaceful Spring Lake!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bluepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made a reservation for our 45th wedding anniversary mainly because of the beautiful dining room shown on the web page. Made a reservation for dinner two weeks before we went . Got there and they told us we couldn't;t eat in there because there was a private party. I guess private parties bring more revenue that our reservation. I feel they should have called and told us this because we would have cancelled and gone elsewhere. "SHAME ON THEM."

Never told about the ridiculous parking rules------my husband has very , very bad legs and difficulty walking . They never told us about handicapped parking. I feel it was their responsibility to mention it to us. 'SHAME ON THEM."

After we ate dinner in their corridor they set up for the "misfits", went upstairs to shower and there was no hot water.......'SHAME ON THEM."

i never want to see or be near Spring Lake again. Their attitude is tough cookies .
Horrible experience, they get A+ for ruining our anniversary.

Our pillows stunk of garlic. They must do their sheets with their table covers."SHAME ON THEM."

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent a beautiful September weekend in a delux room with a fireplace, ocean view and jetted tub. The rooms was very clean, well-appointed and large. The bathroom was also very large with an oversized shower as well as a two-person jetted tub. My favorite part about the room was that from our bed we could look out the large bank of windows to the ocean and see the fire in our fireplace at the same time...truly lovely and very romantic. The only downside to this hotel is that it is a populer wedding location and the lobby was busy all weekend with wedding guests coming in and out. Also, be aware that the music from the weddings does travel through the hotel. However, the weddings were over by 11 and this was not a problem for us. If you like to go to sleep earlier, be sure to request a room far away from the reception hall. We had a wonderful stay here and I would recommend it and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belvidere, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent two nights at the Breakers as my niece was getting married nearby. Our room (a superior king) was as nice as pictured. The windows all opened and we could hear the waves breaking on the beach. So relaxing! We had breakfast in the dining room one morning. I had delicious banana pancakes and my husband had an omelette with home fries.
Our room was clean and comfortable. The only complaint I might have was that I think it was time to replace the down pillows on our bed. There were 2 non-down pillows available in the closet, we used them.
The Breakers and the location was so nice, we hope to return to Spring Lake next fall - just because!

Room Tip: We were on the 'north' side. There was one issue. A group had arrived in a tour bus and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank likesshortgetaways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 6 in Spring Lake
630 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Spring Lake
414 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#4 of 6 in Spring Lake
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 6 in Spring Lake
132 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
Ocean Place Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Long Branch
1,463 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spring Lake Inn
Spring Lake Inn
#4 of 8 in Spring Lake
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing