We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful Experience.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This is not the first time I have stayed at the Breakers and the experience is always the same, I am never disappointed. Service is wonderful, from the front desk staff to the housekeeping staff. The room is always clean, if you need anything the staff is quick to respond to your request. I was traveling with my 86 year old mother, the large jacuzzi tub was hard for her to get into, but I booked a room with a separate shower which was very easy for her to step into. Love the location, directly across the street from the beach, there are plenty of restaurants to choose from in the area, and if you do not want to leave the hotel the food at the Breakers is great. Overall my experience has been one of the best, I can not wait to go back. If you like it quite off season is the best time to stay.

Room Tip: If you want a nice large, comfortable room, the Luxury Superior is one of the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 392 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We live on Maui but the Shore Ocean is always such a sweet experience.
The location of The Breakers is perfect walking distance to enjoy sun, sand, and exercise.,
We were in No Jersey for a reunion but wanted to visit the Shore as we had a relative that lived there for many years. She loved the area and we obviously can see why.
We won't be making such a trip any time soon so our memories will stay with us for a long time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianamoMakawao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is across the street from the beach, which is very nice. The parking situation is ridiculous as you have to park on the street, then between 3 and 6 am, your car has to be parked in the diagonal spaces on the ocean side of the street. So if you aren't there already, you have to move there in the evening or get a ticket. Parking spaces are not easy to come by, and I was there in Sept. I can't imagine what goes on during the season. The room was clean and nice, the front desk staff did their job, I would say they were business like, not overly friendly. We only had one breakfast, which was not great. My 86 year old mother complained that there were no grab bars in the shower, and to shower, you had to step high into the over-sized jacuzzi tub. She ended up showering down in the pool area. The building is ugly from an architectural stand point. Pool is nice. Restaurant next door is exceptional. I had to complain one night about kids jumping around in the room above me after 10pm, and they took care of that quickly. I would pick someplace else to stay next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonaldPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersOnTheOcean, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers on the Ocean, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Mr. Perry:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful oceanfront location. Hopefully you were able to enjoy the spectacular views and ocean breezes from our wraparound veranda. I also am happy to hear that you were pleased with your guest room accommodations, our pool and the service provided by our staff. They work hard to make each guest’s stay an enjoyable one.

Spring Lake is a residential community and we do not have a parking lot. Instead, the Hotel is surrounded by beautiful Victorian-style homes. There, however, is ample street parking (at no cost) all around the hotel. Pursuant to a town ordinance, all cars must be parked on Ocean Avenue between the hours of 3am and 6am. Guests may park in these spots at any time during the day or evening and once a car is parked on Ocean Avenue it is not necessary to move it. Parking typically is available directly in front of the hotel or within a block of the hotel. It is a short stroll and for most guests not a problem. We do provide advance notice via our website and confirmation letters. In any event, I do apologize if you were not aware prior to your arrival and for the inconvenience that it may have presented for you.

We also are so sorry to hear that your mother had difficulty with the whirlpool/shower combination in your guest room. The room category that you reserved is not offered with a stall shower that is separate from the whirlpool. Again, these details were confirmed in your confirmation letter. If we had been made aware of your mother’s needs in advance, then we would have been able to assist you in booking a room with a stall shower. I believe that we were sold out during the dates of your stay and therefore unable to offer an alternate room category.

Again, we would like to thank you for your feedback. Hopefully your comments will assist future travelers plan their stay. We hope you will consider visiting us again so we can create a more memorable stay for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed at the Breakers twice in the last 2 months. Hotel is clean, service is good. Better off going off season when rates are lower. I would also recommend a front ocean view room. Side view wasnt bad but oceanfront is better. I thought the food was subpar for the prices. I thought it was probably the best hotel that was on it was across from beach at the NJ shore. Spring lake itself is quite and not crazy as other beaches. Better for couples 40 and over like me. Would go again

Room Tip: Book oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdclgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love the BREAKERS!!! We have been going there for the past 5-6 years and thoroughly enjoy it. We started to go there when our daughter began working in NYC and able to take off work and meet with us ~ We generally go to the Breakers twice a year...beginning and end of summer. It is close to everything including shops and with lovely restaurants close by as well as the Breakers itself. The Boardwalk is right there in front of the Breakers and a beautiful walk and ocean vew is just gorgeous as well as a beautiful wrap around porch to sit and look at the view. Anyway, you cannot miss by going here on vacation or just a great weekend!!

Room Tip: We love the ocean front rooms....beautiful to watch the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwildeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Breakers is a great family facility with very nice and professional staff, good food, relaxing pool area and, of course, the Atlantic ocean!!! Our children know their way around an make full use of the facility. A drink in the later afternoon on the porch facing the ocean is a great way to complete a great day.

Room Tip: We have only had good rooms at each stay and there have been many,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joealsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for several nights at the Breakers this summer. The hotel itself is just OK for the price. It is a very unattractive building from the outside other than its very comfortable wrap-around porch overlooking the ocean. The hotel is directly across Ocean Ave. from the Atlantic Ocean so the front-facing picture window in our room offered a magnificent view especially at sunrise. The room was quite small and the bathroom window would not close so it was constantly humid there. The beds were especially comfortable and clean. Breakfast, not included, was pricey. $3 for a small glass of orange juice? Come on. However, the wait staff was great. Very accommodating and friendly. The front desk staff, not so much. The hotel itself is tired looking despite efforts to spruce it up via some outstanding floral arrangements in public spaces. It was a good experience overall, but breakfast should have been included for the price.

Room Tip: Any room facing the ocean offers spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean but you'll pay more for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newjerseyvagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spring Lake
0.7 mi away
Hewitt Wellington
Hewitt Wellington
#1 of 7 in Spring Lake
677 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Inn & Suites
Chateau Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in Spring Lake
422 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Victorian at Spring Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Doolan's
Doolan's
#5 of 7 in Spring Lake
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Walden on the Pond
Walden on the Pond
#6 of 7 in Spring Lake
55 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
Sand Pebble Motor Lodge
#4 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762-1423
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range: $100 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing