We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to downgrade this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
PA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Had to downgrade this place”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

After my first stay, I gave a good review. I had to pull this review because of my second stay. Second floor smelled of raw sewage. After 3 call with no response, they sent someone with a spray can to try to cover the smell in the hallway. My forth call resulted in a series of lies (I am the only one complaining, etc) to finally admitting to a problem and blaming it on an old building. Offered only a room change at 8:30pm. I stay in this area often and I thought I found a good place, but I will switch to the Hampton next door on my next trip

Room Tip: Ask for room away from the smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjtPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear tjtPA,

Thank you for letting us know about the issues you encountered during your most recent stay and at the same time would like to apologize on how it was handled. We were having some drainage issues by the ice machine at the other end of the hallway on the floor you were staying which caused the bad smell. I would like to discuss this further, I can be reached at ealbano@menlohotels.com.

Once again, our apologies.

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    54
    28
    15
    10
See reviews for
46
19
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its an older hotel that has had "recent" refrib; new bathroom fixtures, countertops and new style type linens, paint, etc. It was clean, a good basic room for the price. The staff was excellent, especially the gentleman that ran the morning breakfast. It was handy having Ruby Tuesday restaurant right off the lobby, and Red Lobster next door. Would I plan my vacation around this hotel, no, but it served as good night stay while in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Linda T,

Thank you for writing us a review. We are happy that you liked our newly-renovated guestrooms and for taking note of our colleague at the Continental Cafe, Robert.

Please see us again when you are in South Plainfield, New Jersey!

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here 2 weeks in March on business. I was a bit nervous because I did not choose the hotel, my company did and am somewhat neurotic regarding cleanliness. The hotel was very clean, the staff very helpful and it had a great breakfast buffet. The location was convenient, every possible chain restaurant and a few department stores where within a mile or two. It isn't a luxury hotel but served its purpose. I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris2423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Chris2423,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel facilities and services. We always strive to provide excellent service to our valued guests and we are glad that we met your expectations during your 2 week stay. We hope to see you soon!

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, ON
Level Contributor
104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Very clean and neat hotel - I stayed for 12 days and enjoyed a very clean single room - well laid out comfortable.

Location: Did not like the location as I did not have a car - not easy for pedestrians, to navigate the roads, no sidewalks! Lots of stores in the area - be careful crossing the street!

Breakfast: Really excellent service by the staff! Great job!!

Difficulty getting through to Room Service to order meals (Ruby Tuesday located on main floor)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbuttress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us in spite of the issues with Ruby Tuesday's room service. Rest assured that this will be discussed with their management as they are managed separately. We also would like to thank you for taking note of the great service in our Continental Cafe, I will definitely share your experience with the rest of the Team!

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
155 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a horrible hotel I'm very displeased. I found all staff unfriendly, unwelcoming and never smiled. I was never greeted when entering the hotel and upon greeting the staff and saying hello or good morning I received a dirty look or was ignored and when I had questions I was also ignored. The Internet never worked and when I bought this up to management I was told that they know they have problems but there is nothing they can do. I also had many issues with my in room telephone.

I witnessed the police swat team storm the hotel with dogs and many officers as they broke up a drug dealing ring which has been going on at this location with people being arrested. I also find it very different that this hotel converts their meeting rooms in to a church.

This hotel is run down and they don't pay attention to the small things which matter when you travel for a living. I'm very disappointed and will never stay here or at another holiday inn again. I will be cancelling my points program with them.

There is a Hampton inn next door and other hotels to choose from.

Shame on you Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: No good rooms. Book at Hampton Inn next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBud24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear TravelBud24,

These issues concerns me as much as you do and I'm glad that you took the time to inform us to properly address them. We always strive to provide excellent services to our valued guests and this untoward incidents fell short of this goal, and for that we apologize. May I ask you to please contact me at your convenience at ealbano@menlohotels.com to discuss this further.

Thank you.

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

It's my sons first time at a hotel and he loved it the staff was extra friendly and helpful. The hotel is well keep, it's clean it has a swimming pool which wee loved cause even though it's raining while e'er were there the pool it's in doors so we were able to enjoy it

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrssantelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write us a review and we are glad that your sons first hotel experience was a memorable one! We take pride of our staff and our facility as we want the Holiday Inn South Plainfield your home away from home!

Eric Albano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed at this place for 1 night on Easter Sunday. Very nice and clean hotel. It is conveniently located off of I-287 and there are several restaurants and stores nearby. The staff were very courteous. Our family enjoyed their complimentary breakfast. It's the best hotel breakfast we ever had!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkny_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review, I'm excited to share your experience with the rest of the team! We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn South Plainfield!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
545 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
170 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Edison-South Plainfield
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#5 of 15 in Edison
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway

Property: Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Address: 4701 Stelton Rd, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unparalleled blend of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn of South Plainfield, NJ, ideally situated near exit 10 of the NJ Turnpike. Among our wide array of first-class amenities we feature a game room, fitness center and heated indoor pool with a sauna and outdoor sundeck your oasis from the stress and strain of travel. We pride ourselves on offering every guest attentive service with a personal touch to complement our spacious, attractive accommodations. Relax and revive in our newly upgraded bathrooms, which include an expanded shower area with a multi-function shower head, lush terrycloth towels and bath products by Garden Botanika . When it's time for work, you'll be pleased to find generous work desks, complimentary WiFi in all of our guest rooms and throughout the hotel, a 24-hour business center and professional catering services for meetings and special events of any scale. We also invite you to treat yourself to a stay in one of our executive suites. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing