We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did the Job. Would Definitely Return.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Northern, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Did the Job. Would Definitely Return.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We needed to spend one night at a hotel b/c of an early athletic competition at Rutgers Livingston campus. I needed some place clean and reasonably priced that was close to the campus. The Holiday Inn did the trick. The front desk staff were very friendly. The room was nice, clean and updated. For a place to stay, it did the trick. We weren't able to utilize any of the extras (pool, restaurant, etc.) so I can't comment on these. I can say that I would return if I needed a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review, I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share this to the rest of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    55
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
46
20
9
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very friendly and courtious, the hotel rooms were recently renovated and very clean and extremely comfortable. We also liked that it was attached to a Ruby Tuesday's which had fantastic food. The breakfast buffet was hot and well stocked each day. I would recommend this to anyone and will definately stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPC22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our newly-renovated rooms. I will be more than happy to share your experience with the rest of the team and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I got "bumped" here from the Embassy Suites. This is the second time I stayed here in the last year. Although the hotel seems old and needs some TLC, the staff goes out of their way to be helpful (particularly the very pleasant black lady with the auburn wig who works behind the desk and the gentleman who runs the breakfast area - sorry, but I'm no good at names).

Great location - plenty of restaurants nearby. The "hotel" restaurant is a Ruby Tuesday, which is definitely a notch above most hotel food. But there are a considerable number of very good alternatives within a five-minute drive. Additionally, there is a mall right across the street, with a variety of stores, including a Macy's, Walgreen's, etc. Within a 5 minute drive are a Target, Walmart, etc. For convenience to restaurants and stores, this hotel is as good as it gets.

The hotel has an indoor swimming pool and a small gym, with a few treadmills, elliptical machines, etc. I used the gym twice and pretty much had the place to myself. Not the newest equipment, but functional.

Actually, that is a pretty good description of the Holiday Inn - not the newest, but functional. And a good location for Central Jersey.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O-town-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for writing such a positive review about Holiday Inn South Plainfield, I will be more than glad to share your experience to the rest of the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

walked into the hotel in distress having been denied room by my originally booked Hampton Inn which is nearby and after a horrible and racist behaviour by the manager and team there. and the frotn staff anf supervisor - michael and jaffer really were kind and helpful. without their kindness would have spent the night on the streets literally. the timing was bad coming just 3 days after Hurricane Sandy had devastated the area and the hotels ran full as residents moved to hotels since there was no power in their houses. the rooms were good, the service very good. if only there was a compliant it was the breakfast spread being the same everyday but then that was the case with all hotels I stayed in the US during this trip. also if not for the emergency the price of a room night for the location is slightly on the higher side.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jxpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EricHSP, General Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for writing such a nice review about Holiday Inn South Plainfield. I will make sure that my colleagues are acknowledged for going above and beyond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Ont.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

this hotel was very clean, the location was just 45 mins. from NYC. A mall across the street and other shopping centers close by. The breakfast buffet was delicious every morning, everything was hot and lots to choose from. I would go back here next time we travel to NYC. The Ruby Tuesday restaurant that's attached to the hotel was great..what a great salad bar, they even refilled some items for us. (I think it's open until 12am. and we didn't get in until around 10pm, so there wasn't much left to the salad bar of course) What a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about Holiday Inn South Plainfield. We will be sure to share it with all of our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Clean accommodations, large parking lot, very good restaurant attached, near several interesting shops and Malls, near New York and Princeton. Located at a historic site. Easy access from and to highways. Nice indoor pool, very relaxing. Friendly and kind staff. Good Wi-Fi coverage.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank giocalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a positve reveiw about Holiday Inn South Plainfield. We love sharing such positive news with our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I felt like my check in experience was a little strange here, so I was a bit worried about how everything else would go. However, it was great. My room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic!! I really only had time to sleep and eat breakfast, but there is a Ruby Tuesday on property. It seemed like a nice place and was in a good location if I did need to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank number2cac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about Holiday Inn South Plainfield! We will be happy to share the good news with our staff! Please come back to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 5 in South Plainfield
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
178 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Edison
Crowne Plaza Edison
#6 of 15 in Edison
193 reviews
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway

Property: Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Address: 4701 Stelton Rd, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unparalleled blend of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn of South Plainfield, NJ, ideally situated near exit 10 of the NJ Turnpike. Among our wide array of first-class amenities we feature a game room, fitness center and heated indoor pool with a sauna and outdoor sundeck your oasis from the stress and strain of travel. We pride ourselves on offering every guest attentive service with a personal touch to complement our spacious, attractive accommodations. Relax and revive in our newly upgraded bathrooms, which include an expanded shower area with a multi-function shower head, lush terrycloth towels and bath products by Garden Botanika . When it's time for work, you'll be pleased to find generous work desks, complimentary WiFi in all of our guest rooms and throughout the hotel, a 24-hour business center and professional catering services for meetings and special events of any scale. We also invite you to treat yourself to a stay in one of our executive suites. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing