We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe Bet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Safe Bet”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Driving access to and from hotel is the only negative, but I would say this is a quality hotel with excellent services for the value. The staff is always friendly and VERY helpful. I now stay her regularly on my business travels

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for commenting and writing a review of our hotel. We are so happy that you have made us your regular business travel hotel of choice. Sorry about those "Jersey Roads" we all know they can be a little crazy. It's wonderful that you complimented the team on a job well done...they truly work hard and we love when our guests recognize their efforts! Hope to see you back again and again.

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    118
    27
    9
    7
See reviews for
191
105
41
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sparta, Greece
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I travel to NJ quite often for work and find the location of this hotel very convenient to get in and out of. The hotel offers free internet and breakfast and the rooms are very clean and updated to modern standard. I often leave my travel bookings to the last minute and the front desk staff have been very helpful in getting me a room. Will recommend friends and family to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pesh007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It's always so wonderful to hear when our loyal guests truly enjoy their stay with us. Thank you so much for posting a review. We are happy you stayed with us and the team is very appreciative of the feedback. Thanks for commenting on our great breakfast and our super clean rooms. We'll hope to host you again when you are in the area for business!

Warm Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have nothing but great things to say about this hotel. I was completely satisfied. The staff are pleasant, courteous and very personable. The Front Desk Staff are very knowledgeable of the surrounding area and are more than willing to share information on where to dine and shop. The rooms are always clean and smell fresh. I have found that all of the staff that I spoke with were always vey courteous and treat you with respect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Carmine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your glowing review of our hotel. It so wonderful to hear when our guests truly enjoy their stay! We have shared your response with the team as they love when our guests write a review. Thanks for commenting about how clean and fresh the hotel is, we really try to keep it in tip top shape!! Hope to see you back again when you are in the area.

All the best,

Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

As a family that travles to NJ Frequently, we have made it our first choice of places to stay. The hotel overall is very clean and well maintained, which is super important to a mom who has little ones running around. Breakfast was great with a good variety and better than most other places we have stayed. From the front desk to the staff that cleans the rooms, everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. The team really takes pride in keeping the hotel bright and clean. Thank you for recognizing their efforts, it goes a long way as they all take these reviews to heart and are constantly striving to be the best. Glad you enjoyed breakfast, it truly is a nice amenity we offer. Since you travel to NJ often we would love to see you back again to be your "first choice"!

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimac, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Had another great stay at the Hampton S. Plainfield! This time with family in tow. As always the front desk staff was attentive and courteous. Rooms are always clean and the kiddo's love the nice big TV's in the room! Renovations since my last stay get a big thumbs up with me! Love the lobby! It was a great place to sit and relax and, best of all, enjoy the free coffee!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs_cgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
It sounds like your really enjoyed your stay with the kids! We truly thank you for returning to us again and taking the time to write a review. We are so happy you like the new look and feel of the recent renovations...they do make a nice cozy lobby even better! Glad you like the coffee too...it's always hot and ready 24-7!! Hope to see you back again to enjoy the hotel when you are in the area.

Warm Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had some emergency work done at our home that put us in a hotel for a few days. It was an unplanned stay, but the hotel staff took the stress of what was going on at home away. It looked like a brand new lobby was just completed, our room had everything we needed and very clean and all of our requests were met with a smile. We also enjoyed the breakfast at this Hampton Inn - it was better than most! It was overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Wow thank you for such a raving review! So sorry to hear about the work on your house, we all know how that can be! We are so happy you enjoyed your short visit with us. Thanks for commenting about the cleanliness of the rooms, our awesome breakfast and the friendliness of the team. They really do strive for excellence every day! Hope to see you back when the circumstances are more favorable and you can truly relax!

Warm Regards,

Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The front desk staff was great, very polite, and extremely helpful, but the room left a lot to be desired. Sticky "stuff" on the arm rest of the desk chair, half burnt out/half flickering light in bathroom, and a soap dish held together with 3 pieces of duct tape, seriously DUCT TAPE?!?!?! At least try to fake it or something. Room in some serious need of updating and cleaning!

Room Tip: Bring some hand sanitizer and you should be just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for commenting on the wonderful team here in the hotel. They really are what makes our hotel so great. I'm so sorry about your room! As we discussed on the phone you were accidentally checked into a room that was undergoing repair by our maintenance team and was not to be sold that night. It was a mistake on our part that it got placed back into service. We made a mistake! All rooms in the hotel require routine maintenance to keep them in tip top shape, it’s just that our guests normally don't get checked into them in the middle! The ceiling was being patched and painted, the closet door was not yet repaired and the soap dish trim ring was being re-glued which is why there was tape holding it together while the glue bonded. An unfortunate incident for sure. Since our conversation I know you understand what happened and of course we made good on our promise to you for 100% Satisfaction. We promise next time to ensure you get a room that is indeed ready for check-in and looks great! Thanks again, hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Plainfield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#3 of 5 in South Plainfield
163 reviews
3.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
5.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Edison/Raritan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
0.1 mi away
Best Western The Garden Executive Hotel
Best Western The Garden Executiv...
#2 of 5 in South Plainfield
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway

Property: Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Address: 205 New World Way, South Plainfield, NJ 07080-1141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway is located Just 2 miles from Rutgers University and less than 20 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport in South Plainfield, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor pool. Explore many South Plainfield area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing