We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice addition to the South Orange restaurant scene”

Above Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Above Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 59 Restaurants in South Orange
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Valley St. / Scotland Rd.
Transit: South Orange train stop via NJ Transit Montclair Branch, Morristown Line & Gladstone Branch. Station is directly across the street from the restaurant.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the South Orange restaurant scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've been to Above several times since it opened both with friends and as a couple. The food is uniformly good with a variable menu. It has gone through many changes both conceptually and in execution and I think they've finally got it right! Last time we were there I had a fabulous sushi appetizer followed by a scrumptious seared tuna. My husband had shrimp cocktail and a to-die-for filet mignon au poivre. My favorite meal ever was a Chilean sea bass special that was cooked to perfection. We never have room for dessert but they look awesome. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SRP36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    32
    20
    16
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were invited here for a friend's birthday - a large group of 10. The service was very good, the wine as well. The dishes ranged from OK (my shrimp and scallop curry) to excellent. It was a little noisy, but so were we. Nice decor. I would like to go back with a smaller group.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gfalzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A South Orange jewel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

For the second year in a row, we had our family Thanksgiving dinner at Above Restaurant. Again, it was outstanding. We were seated right away, and immediately an attentive wait staff gave us our menus, water and bread. Our waiter introduced himself, and was amicable and professional through the entire afternoon. The Thanksgiving menu was magnificent: both the butternut squash (served in its own gourd) and the mushroom soup were great; the ricotta pumpkin gnocchi were served with a nice sauce with a hint of nutmeg; the turkey was served with good stuffing and a little dish of cranberry sauce; the pumpkin gelato was fine, the bread pudding wonderful. The atmosphere was convivial. Over all, it was a wonderful afternoon; all of us had a great time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flushing G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food! Great Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Every dish that I have had has been perfect. The service is friendly and everyone tries to accommodate any requests. The ambiance is nice especially when dining outside.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jersey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Meet at the bar and stay for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

This has become a favorite meeting place of ours at the end of our respective commutes and it is strategically located across from the South Orange, NJ train station.

There is a great bar and we usually end up staying for dinner as we enjoy a wide selection of interesting appetizers and entres which even includes sushi!

Both the bar and dinning rooms have outdoor seating which are good fun when weather permits.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Above Restaurant and Bar also viewed

South Orange, NJ
South Orange, NJ
 

Been to Above Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing