We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overbridge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Simplicite
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Overbridge River Resort
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Tropical paradise, beautiful beach, fabulous place for a holiday with family or friends. We had a great time and everyone went out of there way to make it a great holiday. You can either stay in the individual cabins, which are located a few steps from the beach or you can rent one of the cabanas for camping with friends and family. They have a dock where you can arrange for tours of the river. And the restaurant has excellent food and service. Great trip!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 36 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I have travelled all over the world, and indeed there are some other beautiful places in the world. At Overbridge we found the serenity fantastic, the river was nice to swim in, the food excellent and the service was excellent. We expecially loved the bamie, the sweet and sour fish, the fried banana, the soto soup. The people are friendly, they are trying their best we had a very good time. We will visit overbridge again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ad v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Try to get a place in the back by the canal if you want some peace and quiet. The hammock huts looked like fun, if you're going with a big group of people. There are a swimming beach, volleyball court, restaurant, etc. but otherwise not too much to do.

I stayed here for one night on the way back from Brownsberg, and that's what I'd recommend, as it probably wouldn't be worth a separate trip from Paramaribo just to stay here. Overbridge is also close Bergendal and Atjoni (where you will get on the boat to Anaula).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSMcCarthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

After a week in Suriname this has been our favorite place. The air conditioning is wonderful, the cabins big and very clean. The atmosphere is calming. We enjoyed swimming in the river.the food is basic but we love Indonesian food and the satay is amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debmauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I am an experienced traveller and I don't complain easily, but this resort was really the worst one I ever experienced. The resort - don't expect a western style luxurous resort, but for Suriname it's rather good - is in itself nice, it has good (though very basic) appartments and the location in the jungle directly to the river is nice as well. The problem are the people working there. Most of them couldn't show less interest in their guests, they behave like Soviet style bureaucrats that are very disturbed by a client showing up to ask anything. Even arriving and asking for your key or ordering your food in the restaurant is annoying the personnel, it seems they prefer not to be disturbed at all, not even to earn any money. I cannot recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

The cabans are basic. They call it luxe because if the airco and hot water. The restaurant is basic ( Rice with chicken or fish).
The river is like anywhere else in Suriname > Brown. Some if the staff are really unfriendly.
Most people who come here are locals. They bring their own food and bbq on the beach.
It is a goog idea to bring some Wine, cookies and snacks. This is not available in the resort. Only beer and soda. There is a fridge in the cabana.
The road is fine and the beach is tidy.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank wendyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My fiance and I spent a weekend at the resort last month. We arrived at night around 8 o'clock. the road to the resort is in good condition. However as soon as you reach the resort it changes dramatically. Dirt roads are in bad condition and not very well maintained. At the reception it seems that they are not prepared for guests who arrive at night, so the person in charge was not available. No 'welcome to Overbridge' etc. We got our key eventually, and went to our cabana. I had spent the night there about 6 years ago and noticed that there were a few positive updates. The patio floor was tiled and the houses were painted. Everything else was more or less the same. (We had a large cabana). The accommodation is ok. Nothing special, nor spectacular. The garden around the cabana's is tidy and clean. There is complimentary coffee and tea, including sugar. Soap in the bathroom is of very low quality though; it crumbles when you take it out of its wrapping. Overal review:
1. Accommodation - Average
2. Road/walkpad on venu - Bad
3. Food - Average (expensive though)
4. Service - Average
5. Frienliness - Less than Average
6. Price - Average
7. Information - Poor

Would I go back? Maybe, if they fix the roads. Otherwise it's ok. But next time I'll bring my own food and drinks. It's so much cheaper!

Room Tip: Ask for the newer cabana's. I had one of the older ones (#12). It can be VERY noisy at times bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Simplicite
21.7 mi away
Eco Resort
Eco Resort
#5 of 31 in Paramaribo
210 reviews
21.7 mi away
Royal Torarica
Royal Torarica
#2 of 31 in Paramaribo
244 reviews
10.8 mi away
B&B BanaBeki
B&B BanaBeki
#1 of 2 in Republiek
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overbridge River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overbridge River Resort

Address: Oude Charlesburgweg 47, La Simplicite, Suriname
Location: Suriname > Para District > La Simplicite
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in La Simplicite
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing