We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ike San is a master-book at the Sushi Bar and have a great meal”
Review of Shumi

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shumi
Ranked #16 of 82 Restaurants in Somerville
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Salies-de-Bearn, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ike San is a master-book at the Sushi Bar and have a great meal”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I cannot definitively say this is the best sushi/sashimi available in NJ but only because I have not tried everyone of the others. Every time we come to NJ we try to eat at Ike's bar. The food is sensational. Raw fluke "pizza", grilled hamachi jaw, steamed monk fish livers, platter of the freshest sashimi chosen by Ike or Jack his highly skilled business partner, rounded off with a hand roll of sea urchin with a raw quail egg. This is the real deal. BYOB.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steve t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best in NJ”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a prior reviewer here said- please don't try Shumi. Don't go here. This is one of those places that would be ruined by overexposure, or by renovations. Prepare yourself for dated decor in a drab, somewhat dismal building. The sushi is, however, the best I have found in NJ, and among the top sushi places I have eaten at anywhere. The rice is always the right temp and consistency, fish is incredibly fresh, perfectly trimmed and of the highest quality. The portions are generous, and the guidance from the sushi chefs always on target. I rarely get out for less than $70, but I tend to gorge on sushi.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DWtravelsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very very fresh..owner with pride!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

the freshness and the quality is great.. as some said before after going here you wont go no plase elce.
i have been all over the us and europe. shumi is in the top three.... the owner and staff are very nice.
now the location sucks the building you have to walk through smells.. if you can get yourself past that you will be in sushi heaven!!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Newjerseykid_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

If only one chef working at sushi bar TURN AROUND AND LEAVE!!! We could not get any service for the nearly hour that we sat there. The sushi chef kept filling orders coming in from the wait staff. He told us he was too busy to help us. We were not walk-ins; we had a reservation. Why would a place take a reservation that they knew, or had good reason to believe, they could not honor?

We used to go there several times a year and always had great experiences. Place has gone way downhill.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bill243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good traditional sushi”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The sushi at shumi is more traditional fare, so you might be disappointed if you are looking for fusion. The seared salmon was amazing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2travelingbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shumi also viewed

 
Somerville, NJ
Bridgewater, NJ
 

Been to Shumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing