We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Done”
Review of Origin

Origin
Ranked #3 of 82 Restaurants in Somerville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Well Done”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Enjoyable dinner. Nice selection. Great taste. BIg fan of duck - and it was well prepared. Bring your own drinks is a nice touch

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYFoodDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    68
    21
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Above average, but inconsistent”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Certainly above average Thai food, but a bit inconsistent. While the dishes are interesting and flavorful, the meats could have been cooked better. The wild boar medallions were chewy and the Tamarind duck breast tasty but way overcooked. The service was very efficient, but it had a fast food style, where little eye contact was made and plates distributed and gathered in a rough manner. BYOB is a plus.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSM1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Was good, was not, now good again”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Origins for a long time was our favorite Thai (well, Thai-French by their label) restaurant in the area. We went there a lot but it seemed that as Origins became “the hip place” the owners became less and less interested in providing a pleasant dining experience and more and more arrogant in the sense that “if you aren’t pleased there are 20 people waiting outside so we don’t care”.
For this reason and after some pretty bad experiences we stopped going there about three or four years ago and maybe others did too as on our first visit since that time last month it was just the way we loved it when we first discovered it.
True, the restaurant now occupies twice the space it did having taken over the space next door so that helps no doubt. The food quality never deteriorated but the service and “attitude” did to the extent that I said to myself I don’t actually need to pay good money to be treated like **** so I will take my business elsewhere.
That is all gone. My partner treated me to a birthday dinner at Origins last month and everything was spectacular. The service was great, the food was excellent (as it always was) and the total experience left us saying “wow, now we will keep coming back”.
The prices are “upscale reasonable” and of course it’s a BYO. The ambience is delightful, so warm and cozy on a cold night in mid January and (did I say this already) the food is awesome.
After a hiatus of several years Origins is definitely back our list of must-go places

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Armarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yummy In My Tummy”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I loved this restaurant..it was something out of the ordinary and very delicious. I would recommend coming here to try something new. The creme brulee was not up to parr, but still give the entrees a try!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitehouse station
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great tai with a french twist”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

delicious food. service. make a reservation. one of the top rated Tai Rest. in the Ny-Nj area. I have been there several times to their Sommerville and Morristown site. It is just great

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SelmerSaxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Origin also viewed

 

Been to Origin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing