We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alfonso's Family Trattoria & Gourmet Pizzeria
Ranked #4 of 82 Restaurants in Somerville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Clinton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
444 reviews
354 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Let me start by saying that I returned my pizza after it was brought to our table. Unless asked for, a pizza should not be overcooked. I was told by the manager that Alfonso's customary cooking method's are to overcook the pizza. Really??? If I wanted a regularly cooked pizza that I must ask for it not to be overcooked. Never heard of this scenario, but you've been warned. To be fair, a new pie was brought out, but the sauce and mozzarella were still below par. Not only was the pie over cooked, but the sauce was over seasoned and too much was provided. With all of the sauce on the pie, I could have used it for a side order of spaghetti. Also, the mozzarella was under cooked and fully melted when the pie arrived. How is this place busy??? Go somewhere else for decent pizza unless you want over seasoned sauce, tough mozzarella and cardboard crust.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndiamoAMagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Really good.. Not life changing like some rave, but really good.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Rigatoni pot cheese is my favorite dish, and the $7 carry-out pizza during the week is really good too... Cute place, and the party room upstairs is absolutely beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Singx19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 6 dollar pizza special”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Alfonso's has a cash only pick up in restaurant large pie. It is a great deal; 2 pies 12 bucks feeds your family and you do not have to cook. The sauce is very good, but the pizza may not have a crispy crust....if you order make sure you ask them to cook the pizza a little longer otherwise it will be doughy....hopefully this is a good tip...worth it tho!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good pizza pie.. Sit down restaurant small.”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

They over charge a bit for whole wheat options but they have a great pie. Seem to use fine ingredients for toppings. Portions are good. For a take- out pizza place I'd give it 4 stars. As a restaurant (meaning as a sit down "experience") there is no ambience but good food. A tip is if you eat there on certain week nights they have an awesome pasta special. Worth going for that.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamieP51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty pizza:)”
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Being from Ohio I wanted to taste pizza Jersey style. It was awesome. I like the warehouse style architecture. The place has a unique atmosphere that's great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JPERCHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfonso's Family Trattoria & Gourmet Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Alfonso's Family Trattoria & Gourmet Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing