We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food”

The Bridge Inn - Michaelchurch Escley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Riverside Inn with rooms, B&B and small Campsite with electric hook up available. Eat | Drink | Enjoy and Sleep
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a charming local pub, situated on a stunning riverbank and very close to Hay-on-Wye. Fantastic food: the kind of meal where you want everything on the menu! Huge portions, great choice and warm, friendly service.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    62
    20
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Talgarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

My husbands birthday on the 20th June so we decided to go out for a meal with two friends. We arranged to meet at The Bridge Inn , Michaelchurch Escley HR2 0JW. A 16th Century Riverside Inn which was difficult to find but having found it it was well worth the effort. A large menu to choose from and the food was delicious and the service was excellent. I had a chicken dish followed for sweet by Banana mess - the both were delicious. My husband had duck followed by creme brûlée. Our friends had beef burghers, presentation of which was first class with dribbled cheese over in a bun with onion rings followed by banana mess. We were all overjoyed with our meal and will certainly be visiting again . I can't wait to take my family I was so pleased. Excellent landlord and landlady.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butcher_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This country pub is a real surprise: a marvellous menu of absolutely delicious locally-sourced dishes, beautifully presented. You won't find the Bridge because you are passing by: few top of the range gastro pubs can be quite so off the beaten track. But the restaurant and its chef have longstanding reputations preceding them and it is well known in the local communities.
The dining room is attractive with simple, wood-dominated design and furnishings. You can sit outside by the river on a nice day, with lovely views of the Black Mountains above.
Service is delightful and very friendly and accommodating.
This place is well, well worth the detour..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks you will ever taste!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The bridge is a secluded pub, with very friendly staff who try and accomodate anything you ask for. We have called number of times at short notice, and they have always fitted us in. Last time we went we had rib eye steak, and although quite expensive its probably one if the best cooked and prepared steaks I have ever tasted. Definitely worth the price.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidtphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant, always made to feel welcome :)”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Absolutely fantastic little pub with friendly staff and excellent landord and land lady, the food is superb!! You must try the 'spankie'!! Would recommend to everyone! keep up the good work :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MANICLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn - Michaelchurch Escley also viewed

Ewyas Harold, Herefordshire
Eardisley, Herefordshire
 
Abbey Dore, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Bridge Inn - Michaelchurch Escley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing