We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is where I stay for when I am working at Rutgers. It is a very easy trip in to campus. The beds are very comfortable and the desk/workspace is extra long. They have the cupboard as well but prices are a bit steep.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 90 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very comfortable, clean, nice quiet area, great employees and service. Death in family brought us back to NJ and as we had stayed here in the past we were pleased to stay here again. Just one little issue - we found some nails and screws within parking spaces in the back of the hotel that may have been left there by contractors.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cappy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We arrived & saw they were under construction. They handed out chocolate hammers with "sorry for the incontinence" bags. We went to the room, it was clean, but had paint spatter all over the bathroom floor. The room looked as if it was one of the finished renovated rooms.
The following morning, my husband left the room to get something out of the car. As he left, he put the magnet that says "do not disturb" on the outside of the door. I didn't use the bar lock because my husband was returning within minutes.
I went to get into the shower. I hear, "hello! I" I peeked around the corner & JOHN (I found out his name later) said, "oh, I'm sorry" I screamed and jumped back into the bathroom.
When we went to the front desk, I was informed that John, didnt do anything wrong. "He saw my husband leave, so he would assume that it was ok to enter."
When asked, he had given no reason as to why he was in the room.


So regardless, if you have a sign saying 'don't enter'
Even though he heard the tub water running,
Even though he had no reason to be in the room - its ok to enter.

I've stayed at many Candlewood Suites. I've always liked them because of privacy, laundry services, gym and the pantry. I don't recommend this location to anyone. They humiliated me, by saying JOHN didn't do anything wrong.

Room Tip: Stay at a different location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank DawnC926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Another excellent property in the area and an excellent option for the business and casual traveler. Good rates, nice staff and beautiful rooms. Much better then the Fairfield nearby where we used to stay. Too many problems there. This is as near perfect as you'll get.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My family and I live on the NJ Shore. We had to evacuate our area for Hurricane Irene (the storm turned out to be less impactful than predicted). We chose to stay here because this was one of the few hotels that accepted cats. We found the suite to be very spacious and more importantly CLEAN!!!!! The furniture was comfortable, the amenities were great (free laundry, free internet, free fitness center etc). I have no complaints. I would however suggest that they start to update some of their styles/designs. For example, in both the kitchen and the bathroom the counters and counter tops are very dated (they’re beige with an oak trim), the paintings look a little dated as well, and they could brighten up the hallways a little. But that’s all very minor. I’d certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank hipsthathop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

I booked my reservation through hotels dot com. Evidently, this Candlewood requires a minimum of 3 nights and failed to advertise that. I booked on July 11, and then on July 25, I received a notification that they "couldn't complete my reservation." Shouldn't they have realized that 2 weeks before when I booked?

Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
Thank jillybean9881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The internet connection there was really pathetic....even the TV was bad...though the rooms were just cosy...

The bathrooms were stinking!

I certainly did not like the place and would not like to come back…there are better alternatives very nearby and am planning on checking them out.

Room Tip: Try Sierra Suites which is nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naveen29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#1 of 16 in Somerset
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
112 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 16 in Somerset
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Address: 41 Worlds Fair Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873-1344
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $86 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing