We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hotel is centrally located in New Jersey. There is a lovely outdoor pool that I enjoy in the summer, and a great running path along the canal nearby. The hotel could use a facelift. It's clean and the rooms are spacious, it's just a little dated. My only complaint is not receiving a bill under my door the morning I checked out. When I inquired, I was told the hotel was going paperless and I would receive an email bill. I did not receive an email.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree by H... S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

We strive to please our guest at all times. Thank you for your feedback. This year we are undergoing renovations and have addressed the outdated furniture to our new ownership team. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took great advantage of the running path along the canal that’s near the hotel. I do apologize for not receiving your receipt via email and have one sent to you as soon as possible. Thank you for staying with us and hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 917 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel staff were very nice and friendly. The rooms for the most part were very clean. The only problem I had was the heating system was very loud. The chocolate chip cookies were delicious. The food for all of our meals was delicious. The rooms we had our workshops in were very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Rosemarie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree by H... S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our staff. We do strive to please our guest. We are going to have renovations this year and our heating system is the first thing we are addressing. Our restaurant has exceptional food quality and takes pride on serving our guest their meals. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

i have staying at your hotel for the past 10 years as part of the north coast golf show. everything has always been perfect, but this year was the worse hotel experience i have ever had. in addition to the golf show contingent, you had a gaming convention at your hotel. 800 teenagers with no or little supervision. after the show friday evening, we tried to have dinner at 8:45, but were told that restaurant was closing at 9:00pm. they told us to gointo bar for food. went into bar and could not find a seat due to all the kids. also could not hear myself think. went back into restaurant and staff served us reluctantly. when one of our co-workers showed up at 9:00 to join us, staff would not serve them. every time i tried to get into elevator, it was jammed with kids. seems like they lived there. went to bed after dinner, and could not sleep all night. kids were running up and down the hallways till 4:00 in the morning. although was supposed to stay thru sunday, checked out saturday morning and drove home and commuted to show sunday am. will check to see if this group is here again next year before staying at your hotel. VERY DISAPOINTTED>

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
1  Thank Kalman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree by H... S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for your comments. I am deeply sorry for the negative experiences you had at the hotel during your visit to the North Coast Golf Show. I do apologize that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel like the previous year’s you have stayed with us. This was a new group we took this year and have learned how we could have improved things better for the New Year 2015. Thank you for providing us with your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very good room furnishings nice and modern and comfortable.Excellent service -- only complaint is that the bathroom which was clean and well stocked had a shower which was a tub with a curtain so it looked like it came out of the 60's.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Aviv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTree by H... S, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Our goal at the DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset is make every guests stay with us a comfortable one. We will be undergoing renovations in the upcoming year and we hope to address the issue of our furniture be outdated. I am very happy that the staff was able to provide you with excellent customer service because we do strive to please our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Overall the hotel is fairly clean but the building itself does need updating. The doors, walls and carpets all show their age and have clearly been patched through the years. In particular, many of the guest room doors are damaged from age and were just simply painted over. Picture frames in the rooms are also old and damaged. The windows also have small leaks and the wind whistles through them throughout the night. I could feel the cold air coming through.

The hotel is on a nice property and it would have received a better review from me if it weren't showing its age. There is a nice pond next to it and I saw deer roaming around there at night.

I'm sure it was a mistake, but I was not happy to find my room wastebasket had not been emptied from the previous guest. Mistake or not, this put a damper on my experience. I feel that this is a very basic cleaning activity that should not be missed.

Buffet breakfast in their restaurant is decent for a quick, hot meal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. The hotels new ownership is currently looking at making improvements to the hotel. The items that you mentioned are all part of the discussions. I totally agree that the waste basket should have been addressed prior to your arrival. This is a basic level of cleanliness that we should not have missed. I apologize that we did. Our hotel feels like it is in a much more rural area due to the ponds that dot the area and the wildlife. Although I-287 skirts the property to the eastern side, you really wouldn't know that walking the grounds. Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center and we hope to serve you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the DOUBLE TREE in Somerset, NJ. I was attending a show at the convention center next door and it was very easy to move from one to the other. The hotel was more than just convenient, it was very comfortable and funt to be at. I stay there every year to attend the same show.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Burt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for your epeated stays with us. I and the hotel staff appreciate that. The property does lend itself very well to an event right next door. Too bad the weather couldn't have been a little more cooperative while you were here. I'm glad that you enjoyed yourself. We look forward to seeing you next year...or sooner. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Really nice place to stay while attending the show. The room was just right, restaurants and the wait staff were just what we needed, and having the show a short walk away was perfect. Definitely will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Harold M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron C, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for yuor feedback. I'm very happy to see that you enjoyed yourself. The hotel staff looks forward to the return of Fly Fishing every year because they love the people that attend. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff. Thank you for choosing us and continuing to stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#1 of 16 in Somerset
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
115 reviews
1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#11 of 16 in Somerset
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 200 Atrium Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873-4197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $105 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 16 sprawling acres, our beautifully renovated hotel offers all the amenities you'd expect from a sophisticated urban hotel - plus indoor and outdoor pools, basketball and tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Somerset Executive Meeting Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing