We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hidden extras, nice facility”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“No hidden extras, nice facility”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here a few nights while waiting to close on a house. I selected it because it has a large indoor pool and accepts dogs at no extra charge. A free hot buffet breakfast was also included as well as use of the office center. At $99 a night it was a real bargain. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Book ahead of time because it was full every night we were there. The location is just off route 287 but there are no restaurants or stores nearby. However, there is a very good moderately-priced restaurant/bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyinCostaRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    30
    29
    34
    48
See reviews for
57
21
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed during the Quick Chek Balloon Festival in Readington. The hotel wasn't upscale by any stretch, but it wasn't too bad either. The location isn't great and we didn't see any restaurants within walking distance. We'll probably stay again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I recently stayed at the LaQuinta, first time ,had a wonderful stay. The price was very affordable and it felt like we were in a much higher priced hotel/motel! Thank you for your kind and prompt service! We will be back!! LaQuinta in Somerset, NJ

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I finally can say after 1000s of nights in a hotel, I found the worst place. I arrive on a hot night in July, and was greeted by a moist stench in the hotel. The place was a mess. Untidy smelly and the help answered if they were working on the AC with the statement it works in the room. Thank God, it worked. I was on the4th floor and when I walked out of the room you were greeted with a sauna Blast. The TV(flatscreen) worked but the sound was full of static. The toilet didn't flush properly. You had to hold the handle down for the whole time. I was trying to get an outlet to plug in my phone charger, The only outlet was behind the night table. When I looked there were candy wrappers and it had been a long time since it had been cleaned behind there. When I went out to dinner, there were two bus loads of Chines touring students. This lousy hotel must have made them feel like home. ooh I forgot to say the heat lamp in the bathroom did not go off.
DONT STAY HERE!! MANY PEOPLE WERE CHECKING OUT and going to other hotels in area. If the help doesn't like it there why should you?

Room Tip: DONT STAY THERE!!! I assume all the rooms are equally as dirty
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Newark, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The bathroom in The room smelled nasty, no A/C in the lobby and hallways. Unable to enjoy The polo because they had swimming lessons for about 3 tours. They had the beds made but The bathroom sink dirty and didnt pica up the dirty towels. My husband went to the front desk and complaint and was told to look for one of the staff ladies on floor.. I wont be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank Yrosado59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The lobby smelled like cigarette smoke, our bathroom had hair on the floor; the A/C was so noisy that we turned it off in order to sleep. On the second day of our our stay the first and second floor stairwells had animal feces that I reported but was never cleaned. The A/C was turned off in the business center and the lobby area. Do not believe the pic’s of the fitness center, out of the 5 machines only the stepper worked, no TV. Oh let’s talk breakfast the eggs on the first day were great, the second day looked like they were re-heated, the potatoes soaked in grease, no yogurt on the 2nd day, the fruit looked like it exceed the expiration date so we left and went to Ihop.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
1 Thank outlookingb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
185 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 60 Cottontail Ln, Somerset, NJ 08873-1133 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Somerset is conveniently located in Central New Jersey just off Interstate 287, near the Liberty Mutual Headquarters, Somerset Patriots Ballpark and the Garden State Convention Center. Clarion Hotel guests will enjoy our indoor heated pool, dry sauna, exercise facility, the convenience of a self service laundry center or same day dry cleaning. Have lunch or dinner at Hooters directly within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
La Quinta Inn And Suites Somerset
Somerset Ramada Inn
Ramada Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing