We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Dirty floors and bathrooms
Smelly elevators and wardrobes
Old
Poorly Maintained rooms
OK breakfast, but dirty flatware
Noisy
Rate was cheap!
Internet didn't work
Clock Radio didn't work
Phones didn't work

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 666gls666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    29
    34
    48
See reviews for
58
21
33
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very disappointing. Sticky bathroom floor with bottle ring marks. Bathtub had dark markings. Teenagers running down the hall and banging on each other's doors. Finally settled down when I stepped in to the hall. Called the desk when dogs a few rooms down continued to bark after midnight. Didn't notice any difference.

Could forgive most but no excuse for an uncomfortable bed. All and all if this had been my first
La Quinta experience, it would have been my last.

Room Tip: Think twice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine21149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Catherine21149,
I am very sorry for your poor experience here at the hotel. We are addressing the room issues with housekeeping and engineering. I sincerely apologize for the disturbance that you experienced from the other hotel guests. I can only imagine what it would feel like to not get a good night's rest. Please know that this experience is not typical for this hotel. When we are aware of a certain group we typicallly have them stay on a seperate floor than other hotel guests. In this situation we were not aware of it until the disturbance occured. We are working on managing this as best we can when it occurs and we hope that you decide to stay again and have us make it up to you.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 23, 2013

It was one of my best stay, The staff was very friendly from the front dest, housekeeping and the restaurant. I felt like I am home away from home. the front desk Manager Donia was great, also I met the Owner Joe and he was very funny, the staff made me feel very welcome and I don't see this anywhere. I am glad that I stayed at Somerset LaQuinta

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Even though I travelled for business, I did enjoy my stay. The hotel's location was perfect, the rate was excellent, and the staff were very friendly. I highly recommend this hotel. I loved the pool as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The stay was very helpful, friendly, and very hospitable !!!
The food was absolutely wonderful I've never eaten food so tasty the bar was great wonderful drinks and the facility is a very clean facility everyone was very friendly and helpful and cater to our needs we highly recommend this location!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#7 of 16 in Somerset
123 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
89 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
1.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#8 of 16 in Somerset
186 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 60 Cottontail Ln, Somerset, NJ 08873-1133 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Somerset is conveniently located in Central New Jersey just off Interstate 287, near the Liberty Mutual Headquarters, Somerset Patriots Ballpark and the Garden State Convention Center. Clarion Hotel guests will enjoy our indoor heated pool, dry sauna, exercise facility, the convenience of a self service laundry center or same day dry cleaning. Have lunch or dinner at Hooters directly within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
La Quinta Inn And Suites Somerset
Somerset Ramada Inn
Ramada Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing