We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I should get refund for what I have paid for my stay, Extremely unpleasant”
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed September 6, 2011

we booked 2 double bed room (4 person stay for family) thru hotwire for 2 days and paid everything in advance, however while checking -in, hotel says we have only 1 king bed room available, which certainly can't accommodate 4 people. After a lot of request and argument, hotel staff agreed to arrange 1 roll-over bed. of-course it was very old & in bad condition but had no choice to manage our overnight sleep. this was day one story, the height was when we return late to hotel for our next day night after a tiring NY visit, it was shocking surprise was to see that they took over this roll over bad also and had no arrangement's for 4the person to sleep, when reported to hotel staff their response was that "we are overbooked & can't help ", needless to say it was extremely disappointing and frustrating experience with this hotel. This was 'unfair trade practice' that they took the money in advance but did not provide the committed services/room & arrangement.

Room Tip: try other hotel, beware ! apart from cheating, staff is also not friendly. not a Hygienic place. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naresh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2011

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your observations and opinions. I’m sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay, and specifically the room type you received. When we get so busy, we must do a better job providing the rooms you request. So I really do apologize for that.

We do value your patronage and if you would please contact me I would very much appreciate the opportunity to rebuild your trust. Again my apologies and I hope to speak with you soon.

Bill
Dir. of Sales & Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

219 - 225 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Rooms were clean. Staff friendly. Good breakfast. Nice to have a restaurant and bar in the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GABravesFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Somerset area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

I stayed here a few years ago when it was a Ramada or Radisson, either way it WAS pretty crummy. In comes LaQuinta and what a big time change. The girl at the front desk Doonya (sp?) was so super helpful. Just like I said in my last review, I just can't understand the past bad reviews. The rooms are just re-done, throw in a great price, free breakfast,nice big pool, very nice bar and restaurant they even have a sauna, didn't get a chance to use it this time though. Maybe next time and there will definitely be a next time.

Room Tip: I think I heard someone say at
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ckina1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Director of Sales at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2011

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to compliment our property. Dunja and the rest of our team look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Lounge and restaurant are no longer open. WIFI did not work at all for anyone staying here. Room door didn't lock and I had to use their master deadbolt key. No coffee machine in room. No vending machines onsite.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kr9571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

First, I sincerely apologize for taking so long to respond to your very legitimate complaint. I am the new manager and just started this past week, There was not a person to appropriately respond to your issues in April.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your observations and opinions. I’m sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay. I am happy to inform you that our Sport's Bar and Restaurant are back open and our wireless internet access is operational. We now also have brand new vending machines.We certainly had our share of challenges during our renovation. I truly hope you give us another chance and I feel confident you will have a much different experience.
We do appreciate your patronage and I hope you will consider the La Quinta Inn & Suites of Somerset in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

OVERPRICED and RUN DOWN. Did not fully explained the cost of the stay! I am very upset with this. The elevator DID not work causing me to carry my suitcase up the stairs. It has a smells in hallway and they DID not clean my room the next day when I came back from my day out in the city. For the price we were paying to stay here, if I had known, I would book somewhere much more decent and better quality/cleaner and they were stating that there is no hotel around their areas that charges such prices. WHATEVER because the next day we found a hotel that was much more contemporary and was less than what we were paying them even with TAX/SERVICE FEES INCLUDED.

The only good thing about this is the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hptwenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,

First, I sincerely apologize for taking so long to respond to your very legitimate complaint. I am the new manager and just started this past week, There was not a person to appropriately respond to your issues in April.
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your observations and opinions. I’m sorry that you were less than completely satisfied with your stay, and specifically the room condition and cleanliness issues that you mentioned. We are constantly working to improve our performance, and your feedback is very important and beneficial in that regard.

We do value your patronage and if you would please contact me I would very much appreciate the opportunity to rebuild your trust. Again my apologies and I hope to speak with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I got a $71/night rate on their website. When I got here I didn't realize just how busy the street was outside...so be warned of traffic noise. Also, it took a little while to get my room after checking in at 4pm. The front desk worker said some fumbled excuse as to why but it didn't seem clear or to make any real sense. They had a large group leave that day? In any case I asked for the top floor which was no problem.

The room was OK. The bathroom is REALLY small and the door barely clears the toilet. The towels and TP are under the sink/vanity which is odd placement of towels. I had to use the back of the toilet to hold my towel until 10 miniutes ago when I realized there was a hook next to the shower/tub behind the door on the wall. Also, upon entry I found an old wrung-out washcloth on the shower curtain rod which:
a. confirmed I am not the only person to do that
and
b. also confirms my suspicions that cleaning people might miss it.

The whol place was closed for 6 weeks for renovations recently according to the bartender. Which leads me to the next point: The bar kitchen closes at 9pm. Also I saw they host some sort of "parties" on Friday/Saturday nights. DJ's, etc
BE WARNED. ASK FIRST.

The entire building is old, but not horrific. I mean, for 70 bucks I ain't complaining about anything, really. I didn't take advantage of the breakfast, but it seems to be pretty good...eggs, waffles, etc

The good: cheap, decent central location (For me), updated recently
The bad: still a bit dingy, road noise, "parties" in the bar

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCNJRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saleslaquintanj, Manager at Clarion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We really do appreciate your feedback, and of course we’re delighted that you recognize and appreciate our warm and friendly service. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travel plans include the Somerset, NJ area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Luiza L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
2.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#11 of 16 in Somerset
90 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairbridge Hotel & Conference Center Somerset
2.2 mi away
Madison Suites Hotel
Madison Suites Hotel
#16 of 16 in Somerset
62 reviews
2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Somerset - Franklin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Address: 60 Cottontail Ln, Somerset, NJ 08873-1133 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $67 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Somerset is conveniently located in Central New Jersey just off Interstate 287, near the Liberty Mutual Headquarters, Somerset Patriots Ballpark and the Garden State Convention Center. Clarion Hotel guests will enjoy our indoor heated pool, dry sauna, exercise facility, the convenience of a self service laundry center or same day dry cleaning. Have lunch or dinner at Hooters directly within the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
La Quinta Inn And Suites Somerset
Somerset Ramada Inn
Ramada Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing