We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & comfortable but lacks value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Clean & comfortable but lacks value”
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I stayed here a lot these the past 12 months. My last review was about a year ago and needs updating. At that time of my last review they had just upgraded the beds and bedding (which is outstanding). Usually this is followed by a general room upgrade. A year later the same furniture, carpet and TV remain (old 27' tube TV with limited programing). All are not not in terrible shape but are really showing their age.

Staff remains friendly and accomindating. NO problems there. Sorry to see Beverly is not there anymore. She was great! Maid service has improved. I no longer find the hallways dirty or carts from room service left out for extended periods of time.

Th biggest problem is the 10.00 per day per item charge for a microwave or mini fridge This really is a bad policy. Even the dive motels provide these for free. Cheap toiletress and no continental breakfast are also negatives.. At a published rate of 97.00 (Satuday wth tax) their is no value compared to the neighboring hotels. You can book The Staybridge Suites or Candlewood suites for the same price and get a larger room equiped with a kitchenette. Staybridge is the better of the two and offers free breafast every day and dinner 3 nights a week. Laundry machines are free @ both. If you book the Holiday Inn through name you own price @ priceline.com (45-55 total) then it becomes a good deal if you do not need the appliances.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shademann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    62
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
34
25
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
159 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

From check- in to check-out this hotel worked for us. We were only there one night to visit friends so we didn't see much of it but, the room was spacious, well laid out so that it was easy to walk around or use their wifi or hard wire internet conection. Rather than having to squeeze in between bed and table.
The downside during our stay - the shower was cold. Aparently the boiler required attention and nobody had told reception by 8.30am ? Considering there were three others at reception on check-out complaining about the same thing their offer of another room to shower in seemed rather improbable. Overall it didn't spoil oue visit it was just one of those things.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago-midway airport
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2010

When I checked in to the hotel I asked for breakfast coupon and Vaishali Patel told me that I can't have a breakfast coupon because I paid too low of a rate. Proceeding with my check in I knew that the smoking floor was on the 3rd floor, So I asked for a higher floor to be away from the cigarette smoke because I am allergic to it, she told me that I could only stay on the 4Th floor because those rooms have double beds, because I paid such a low rate that's why I could only stay on the 4Th floor. I told her I am travelling by myself what's the different, So I went up to my room look at the priceline website, saw that they have a shuttle bus service, So I called down to the front desk and asked at 7 AM if I could get a ride to the CROWN PLAZA 3 blocks away and she told me that the shuttle bus was only available for company business. I said what company business and she said for guests and customers of the hotel, and I said what am I,and she said I'm not their customer coz I'm priceline's customer. So had to make many phone calls to get a ride 3 blocks away in a shuttle bus, So if you are a priceline customer do not stay here coz you will not be happy.





P'S:

I stay in over a 100 priceline hotel rooms a year and very happy but not this time....





Norman from Chicago

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buynorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2009

During the second night of our stay, we were kept awake by the barking of a dog in the next room. We called the front desk twice at 1:30 AM and 3:45 AM to report the disturbance, but in spite of the desk calling that room, the dog continued to bark through the night.

In the morning, I asked "Binnoy" to remove the room charges for that night from our bill, since we had been so badly disturbed. He did so promptly and courteously, and apologized for the disturbance. (In fact, the charges for our room were added to the bill of the room with the dog.) His handling of this issue means that we will certainly consider staying at this Holiday Inn in future; we will, however, ask to be accommodated far from any pets!

Note to pet owners--while this property is "pet friendly", they do not tolerate bad behavior.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaseyPVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upsate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Some Holiday Inn properties show their age, but this one is very well maintained and up to date, Our stay was comfortable and most important to us; quiet. All aspects of our stay were handled quickly and efficiently; from reservations to chek out. I have spent more than twice what I spent on this stay at other places and not had nearly as good an experience. I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogShow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern va, usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2009

This review reflects the second time we stayed at this hotel, both times booked through priceline. The first time we stayed we were very pleased, so we were thrilled to stay here again, 10 months after our inital stay. The lobby was beautiful. But in the end, who cares about the lobby. I should have known what was in store for us because the hallway leading up to the room on the second floor was absolutely filthy. It was late and we were tired and with 2 young children. The room looked very nice and large. When I pulled back the sheets to get the first bed ready for the kids, I saw a wet spot (and a long black hair). I was hoping it wouldn't smell, hoping for water. My parents always had dogs, so I recognized the smell right away. The room smelled like pet urine and I was starting to get itchy eyes and sneezing after a few minutes in the room. We asked for another room...the lady at the front desk did not even apologize. She put us on the 5th floor...the hallways were immediately cleaner, and the carpeting in the room was cleaner too. It smelled faintly of pets though...but not as horrible as the first room on the second floor. Very disappointed. By the way, I am a huge animal lover...these rooms have not been cleaned properly. I have 2 cats and my house does not and will not smell like cats. I would only recommend this hotel to somebody traveling with pets.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elyxsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2009

I only stayed in this hotel overnight, but it was pretty good. As a Priority Rewards member, I recieved a goodie bag upon arrival plus some discounts for breakfast and the hotel bar/resturant. I didn't use any of the discounts (I was tired when I arrived and had to leave early for a breakfast meeting) but it was a nice touch. The room was the perfect size with an uber comfy bed, plenty of space to work, and a strong WiFi connection. The room also had a power strip, so there were plenty of plugs which can sometimes be hard to find in hotel rooms. The room and bathroom were also clean and spotless - always a good thing.

My only gripe - it was a pain to find off the highway... but then again, I hate driving in NJ and could have missed the turn due to personal driving angst and exhaustion. :-) I'd certainly stay there again if I'm ever in the area, and highly recommend it to fellow business travelers.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraLovesZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bridgewater
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 195 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset and Bridgewater s #1 Holiday Inn! When visiting central New Jersey for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater hotel offers a premium location, with services and amenities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. For coffee enthusiasts, we proudly serve Starbucks! Somerset is home to New Jersey s Garden State Exhibit Center, directly across the street from our hotel. The Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater is one of the closest hotels to Rutgers University. Bridgewater, New Brunswick and Piscataway are just minutes away from the hotel, and New York City is easily reached using NJ Transit from the New Brunswick train station. If visiting Johnson & Johnson, MetLife, Aventis, Merck, Sanofi, or other area companies, we ll shuttle you for free to your destination within 5 miles of our hotel. The hotel offers complimentary high-speed wired or wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, a business center, Alexander s Restaurant, Jersey s Sports Bar, a fitness center and outdoor pool. Our experienced staff will ensure that your next meeting, conference, wedding or rehearsal dinner held in our 10,000 sqft of event space is spectacular! Experience the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset
Somerset Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing