We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Southern NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had a short 1 night stay here and the front desk staff could not have been nicer. I had a slight problem with my room (noisy neighbors) but the staff relocated me quickly to another room. I could not take advantage of the coupon for a discount on breakfast due to schedule but it was appreciated that it was there if needed. It was very convenient off of the major highway but was quiet and very clean. I will definitely return when the need arises.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    61
    61
    22
    9
See reviews for
33
24
14
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

This holiday inn is located on the same road as many hotels in Somerset, and competes well with them. Overall i would say this is a standard holiday inn, rooms are fine and clean, internet is a bit slow but usable, and the room amenities are good without being luxurious. They do have the older (loud!) AC units, but again not unexpecetd considering the price.

What i was very impressed with however were the staff. They were excellent at both the front desk and in the sports bar. Also, for just being a priority club member (basic level), i was provided with tokens for $5 off food at the bar and a free starbucks, both really nice touches. The gym is fine if somewhat basic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon_Brit99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a wedding to attend at The Palace, near the Holiday Inn in Somerset. When we got to the area we realized there were hotels at every corner, and wondered if we had made a mistake by choosing the Holiday Inn. We most certainly had not. From the beginning of our stay, as we walked in Oscar at the desk took excellent care of us. He was professional and courteous. Our room was impecable in every respect. The grounds are well kept, the lobby clean and big, and the furniture was very comfortable. A place to recommend absolutely!

Room Tip: Room 635 was at the very end of the corridor, so maybe selecting any room on any floor in the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BettyMelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
203 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Had a good experience here. Very clean and the front desk was very nice. They have a bar and grill with good burgers and a restaurant that serves a decent buffet breakfast for a reasonable $10. Service was excellent in the food department. Rooms were clean with good AC and fluffy towels. They have an outdoor pool that looks nice but we did not use. They seem to cater to a number of big groups here but sleeping was fun, not noisy.
Lots of restaurants in area for dinner.

Room Tip: Away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acaida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here while visiting family and enjoyed the hotel. Rooms are in need of some renovations as the wallpaper was peeling in a couple of places. Maintenance was redoing some door rooms so they may be in the process. Front desk staff friendly as well as restaurant staff. Location close to shopping and interstate. I would recommend if you have business in the area. Hotel is located in business park. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g8trfan4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, and it was a rather good stay. The staff were all very nice, and when we ordered for more towels, blankets, toileteries, they delievered within a timely manner. Their swimming pool services close at 8pm, which we would have liked if they remained longer for us to enjoy since we never got back by 8. Hotel is rather far from NYC, needing to take 2 trains and a cab, but the price was reasonable compared to if we were to stay in downtown Manhattan. They had breakfast served every morning, which lacked variety (scrambled eggs and shredding potatoes). Overall, the stay was all right, would consider checking out elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aabcdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

stayed on June 10-11 2012 and apparently the "animee" convention was going on across the street. Was greeted by many strange looking teenagers - with attitudes reflective of their appearance. Staff attempted to cope but it was beyond their capabilities. Group had booked the entire hotel and they were given late check out of 3pm - therefore I was unable to check in until 5 - after 3 rooms (one in which the shower didn't drain at all) we were happy - however this reflected poorly on hotel -
PS I had called earlier in the day to be sure I could check in by 3 if not earlier - perhaps a "heads up" would have helped! We were given free breakfast after I requested some compensation!

Room Tip: call in advance!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stdominic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear stdominic,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had during your stay. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Somerset.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#15 of 16 in Somerset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 195 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater 3*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Somerset and Bridgewater s #1 Holiday Inn! When visiting central New Jersey for business or pleasure, the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater hotel offers a premium location, with services and amenities to make your stay comfortable and convenient. For coffee enthusiasts, we proudly serve Starbucks! Somerset is home to New Jersey s Garden State Exhibit Center, directly across the street from our hotel. The Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater is one of the closest hotels to Rutgers University. Bridgewater, New Brunswick and Piscataway are just minutes away from the hotel, and New York City is easily reached using NJ Transit from the New Brunswick train station. If visiting Johnson & Johnson, MetLife, Aventis, Merck, Sanofi, or other area companies, we ll shuttle you for free to your destination within 5 miles of our hotel. The hotel offers complimentary high-speed wired or wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, a business center, Alexander s Restaurant, Jersey s Sports Bar, a fitness center and outdoor pool. Our experienced staff will ensure that your next meeting, conference, wedding or rehearsal dinner held in our 10,000 sqft of event space is spectacular! Experience the Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset
Somerset Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing