We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the romance package”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The Romance package was a really nice deal! It included a 4 course dinner, breakfast for two, champagne, a rose, and chocolate covered strawberries. The dinner was wonderful and breakfast was diner's choice from the regular menu. The bed was really comfortable and the room was adequately spacious. The property has two pools (indoor and outdoor) as well as an exercise room. It has been recently renovated (we knew it as a Marriott in years past) and the lobby area is quite impressive. There is free internet access in the rooms--a definite plus!The staff was friendly and accomodating, both at the desk and in the restaurant. I'm not sure if the word just hasn't gotten out that the place is not what it used to be (a good thing!) or if it is just a reflection of the economy, but the occupancy was far below what I would have expected on that weekend.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CACAFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 271 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2009

Generally I prefer to try new hotels and have been happy in doing so...

First time, I am saying that anytime I wish to go to NJ (Newark, Edison, or neighborhood), I will select this hotel...

A very nice place to stay and at an unbelievable price!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelerRI2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Somerset, New Jersey for two nights for a friend's wedding, and we really enjoyed our stay. Check-in was quick, and our room on the fifth floor of the hotel tower was really nice. There was scaffolding outside our window, so we occasionally saw workers, but that was not nearly as distracting as it could have been and really didn't bother us at all.

The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was really nice. I enjoyed the complimentary USA Today outside the door each morning. They offered some delicious lemonade in the lobby. And though there was a surcharge to get wireless internet access at the Crowne Plaza, we actually found free wireless from a nearby office park or some other hotel.

The primary downside of this hotel is the location, which is in the middle of what seems like dozens of office parks. There is absolutely nothing within walking distance. However, it is right off a freeway, and there were a number of a restaurants within a five-minute drive.

The best part of our stay was the graciousness of the staff. Though the official check-out time was noon, we were allowed to stay until after 4:00 pm with no additional charge because we had nowhere to go until the wedding reception that evening. That flexibility was an amazing gift to us and left us with the highest of regards for this hotel. I try to avoid northern New Jersey at all costs, but if I'm forced to go there again, I'd be happy to stay at this Crowne Plaza again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank clo110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgregorin, Director of Sales at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2008

Thank you for your wonderful review! I agree with you, our staff is certainly above standard and are at your service. Our guest service and housekeeping team always score exceptionally well on our guest surveys.

We sincerely appreciate your choosing the Crowne Plaza Somerset -Bridgewater as your home away from home while in Somerset, NJ. We look forward to having you as our guest again.

Note: We will be completing a multi-million dollar renovation by the end of 2008. Come see our new look and stay at the most recent premier property on Davidson Avenue.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,


Kathy Gregorin
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

Me and my bf went to New York for 4 days and we stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Overall, the hotel is quite good with kind service from the front desk. We asked them for directions to NYC and they replied us with good attitude.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank vivichan1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2008

I got this hotel for 40$ on priceline and was pleasantly surprised. IT was a great value for the money.

The location is very convenient to Central NJ.
IT is right off Hwy 287 and about 10 miles from the NJ turnpike. It is about 4 miles away from New Brunswick station . They have free parking at the station on weekends so it was very easy to take the train to NYC.

2 miles down the road there are a couple of shopping complexes with a bunch of fast food joints and restaurants, a K Mart and a grocery store and a few other stores too.

The room itself was pretty decent. However you could hear the noise outside. I did not use the pool or gym but they were pretty standard. Free wireless internet in all rooms.

The staff was pleasant and I did not have any issues during the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank csvdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Horrible. That’s the best word to describe our experience at this hotel this past weekend. We booked three rooms for ourselves and two other families. We requested poolside rooms. The website quickly took our info and converted it to the reservation. On check in, we had to wait in a line for almost forty-five minutes! The desk clerk who checked us in kept apologizing for interruptions to answer the phone. We asked for rooms close together and were given two connecting and on the opposite side of the pool. One of the rooms had paint chips falling from the ceiling! They ALL had wasp’s nests above the doors to the pool! The pool was beyond gross! Floating bugs, leaves, and enough hair to fashion a wig from were all in abundant supply in both the outdoor and indoor pools! We will NEVER got this hotel again - and recommend you think twice before booking your stay here as well. The old saying says it all, "you get what you pay for".

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank landarchemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kgregorin, Director of Sales and Marketing at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2009

Dear Guest,
I am very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay at our hotel. At the time of your stay we were under major renovations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveneiences that you may have experienced. I do suggest you come back soon and see our beautiful new hotel as it is today.

We certainly look forward to your return and we thank you for your business.

In the Spirit of Hospitality,

Kathy Gregorin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

My daughter and I spent 3 nights at the Somerset with her soccer team. The hotel definetly has some miles on it. I would rate the rooms as average. The one thing that was a huge turn off was the smell. The elevators and the rooms have an odd smell; kind of a mix between moth balls, pledge and dirty socks. We complained about the smell but unfortunately nothing could be done about it.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank soccermom29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $199 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the renovations and our efforts to expedite our progress, we are currently not accepting any reservations prior to October 2017. Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing