We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed January 6, 2014

what a great place,i had low expectations,paid $50 a night,no breakfast but free wifi and extra warm rooms in the freezing cold was amazing,the pool was also heated and if you wanted to swim during the snow blizzard you can.
the lobby was nice.all marble floor,they also had a coffee shop that served starbucks coffee.
modern furniture and decor.
over all a pleasant surprise and a great location.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vitaminsmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Indeed, under such adverse freezing weather conditions, our associates are definitely glad that we were able to deliver such an outstanding experience thru the warm comfort of our rooms and added available amenities at the hotel. We appreciate all feedback and shall continue to do our best to inspire such similiar positive reviews that highlight the best features of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

159 - 165 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

My rating is based on the room, but not 4 the food service. If u are an exceptionally clean person like I am, and just need a clean place to stay, this is it!. But the breakfast sucks.

I stayed 7 days here and all I saw for breakfast was omelets, sausages, 2 difference types of cupcakes, 2 difference types of bread and a soup. On the 2nd day of my arrival for breakfast I saw some fruits, but after that they stopped serving fruits, just the ones mentioned above.

I have been to comfort inn in Maryland in November this same year and I was impressed. Not only was the hotel clean, but also their breakfast had lots of variety. I chose this hotel cos I wanted a different hotel experience and I didn't get that here mainly because of the food service here. The restaurant setting is stylish, but don't be fooled. They don't offer anything and I paid $81.75 per night while others offer $65 per night with same service (breakfast included)

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglesH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Since all feedback is vital to our overall success, the property appreciates that the hotel was considered clean and acceptable however remains committed to monitoring the breakfast experience to ensure that it likewise will exceed future expectations in variety, quality, and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

The nightly tariff is similar to that of the La Quinta in Somerset but that is where the similarity ends. The La Quinta is a filthly place not fit for human habitation. We would not stay there again if they paid us to stay there. The Somerset-Bridgewater, formerly the Marriot, is on their game in every department. Sincere welcoming employees, good rates, clean comfy rooms, and a first class breakfast buffet which is included. If you appreciate a full breakfast this is the one to savor and enjoy. Attendants serve your coffee and juices. So much in demand that you are given daily free passes per guest which restricts indulgence to only resident guests of the hotel. When you check in make sure to identify all people in your room so everyone will be covered for breakfast. Without a free pass you can still have breakfast but you will be presented a check at your table. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk you want only newly, renovated rooms. If you dont express an interest its your f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CruiseCrazy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

On behalf of our team of associates at our hotel, it truly validates all of our efforts in providing each guest a superior experience when we receive a great review like this one. Our staff will continue to work diligently towards providing all future guests the same confidence in staying at our hotel as compared to anywhere else in Somerset, NJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was there with my family for a family reunion for a full weekend. I was blown away by the amazing help we got from the courteous staff. It was a relatively full weekend, yet things were taken care in a quick and helpful manner. I have read a lot of the reviews and I was skeptical at first so I checked out the place before and I found that although the property is more to the old side and may need a remodeling eventually, it is good enough for most people and everything was nice and clean. We had 48 rooms and everybody was happy so I guess it is not only my opinion. We had an overall very satisfying experience. I would definitely take my family back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thanks for a great story for our property to tell when it comes to providing an excellent experience for an entire group! Within 2014, the property plans to begin an exciting renovation of the facility which will further enhance every guest's stay from checkin to checkout!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Since I used to work in this area(Davidson Ave.), I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at this hotel. Yes, it has been here for a long time, but, they have perfected the sleep experience. Good mattress, bedding came up to my chin, good pillows, and warm blanket. I did not use any of the restaurant facilities on the premises since we were visiting former neighbors. I recommend this facility highly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retired_traveler_HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

As indicated within this review, our property continues to deliver a superb sleeping experience within comfortable, clean accommodations for all of our guests. We are confident that a restful night at our hotel will properly prepare every guest to be ready for the next day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel was very old and probably did not have any renovation for decades. Bath tub drainage was clogged and by the end of shower half the tub is filled with water. Hotel location was far from shopping area and not convenient. Lobby wifi had intermittent problem. Would rate this hotel a 3 star.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZermattSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Although the property is enthusiatic to state that renovations will begin within this year, based on this feedback, our staff has refocused our current efforts on making sure that everything within each guest room is working properly now by our maintenance team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A good find. We travel to northern NJ regularly to visit family, and have generally stayed in motels along or near US Hwy 1 in Edison or Woodbridge. We had a tip about the Somerset Hotel, however, and decided to try it. It was a good move. Yes, this 400-room hotel has been around for a while, but current management is moving to fix it up. Our room was quite comfortable, and--perhaps more importantly--the staff are clearly well trained. Everyone, from maintenance folks and housekeepers to front desk staff are polite and accommodating. The fitness center is one of the most complete we have encountered, and the equipment is up-to-date (and it all works--a rarity in our experience). Also this hotel has a heated pool. Even more surprising, the on-site restaurant (Fuzions Grille) is outstanding. The ambience is ho-hum, but the food is really excellent. The hotel has brought in top chefs, and the quality of the food was way better than we expected. Steaks, chicken, onion soup, fish, salads and more...well prepared, tasty, satisfying, and not overpriced. The breakfast buffet features--every morning--eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, french toast or pancakes, cereals, breads, croissants, coffee and juice, all for only $13.00. It's easy to over-eat. There are only two things we think should be addressed soon: (1) the electronic locks are older models that lag when reading the key cards, leading many guests to believe their keys aren't working, thus causing headaches for the front desk; and (2) the Fuzions Grille, during our week-long stay, had only one person at the front end, having to serve as host, waiter, bus person, and--hold your breath for this one--the room service attendant. No one can multi-task like that, and the result is that some customers walk away because the host desk is sometimes unmanned, and customers who are seated may be inconvenienced in ordering, being served, or paying the bill because of the short staffing. This kitchen deserves to be supported better and--this complaint aside--is well worthy of your attention.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel may be quieter than those on the back side, which are subject to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $200 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the renovations and our efforts to expedite our progress, we are currently not accepting any reservations prior to October 2017. Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing