We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy customer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“happy customer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

I was there with my family for a family reunion for a full weekend. I was blown away by the amazing help we got from the courteous staff. It was a relatively full weekend, yet things were taken care in a quick and helpful manner. I have read a lot of the reviews and I was skeptical at first so I checked out the place before and I found that although the property is more to the old side and may need a remodeling eventually, it is good enough for most people and everything was nice and clean. We had 48 rooms and everybody was happy so I guess it is not only my opinion. We had an overall very satisfying experience. I would definitely take my family back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for a great story for our property to tell when it comes to providing an excellent experience for an entire group! Within 2014, the property plans to begin an exciting renovation of the facility which will further enhance every guest's stay from checkin to checkout!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    58
    35
    39
See reviews for
71
42
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Since I used to work in this area(Davidson Ave.), I was pleasantly surprised by our stay at this hotel. Yes, it has been here for a long time, but, they have perfected the sleep experience. Good mattress, bedding came up to my chin, good pillows, and warm blanket. I did not use any of the restaurant facilities on the premises since we were visiting former neighbors. I recommend this facility highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired_traveler_HHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
As indicated within this review, our property continues to deliver a superb sleeping experience within comfortable, clean accommodations for all of our guests. We are confident that a restful night at our hotel will properly prepare every guest to be ready for the next day ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel was very old and probably did not have any renovation for decades. Bath tub drainage was clogged and by the end of shower half the tub is filled with water. Hotel location was far from shopping area and not convenient. Lobby wifi had intermittent problem. Would rate this hotel a 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZermattSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Although the property is enthusiatic to state that renovations will begin within this year, based on this feedback, our staff has refocused our current efforts on making sure that everything within each guest room is working properly now by our maintenance team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

A good find. We travel to northern NJ regularly to visit family, and have generally stayed in motels along or near US Hwy 1 in Edison or Woodbridge. We had a tip about the Somerset Hotel, however, and decided to try it. It was a good move. Yes, this 400-room hotel has been around for a while, but current management is moving to fix it up. Our room was quite comfortable, and--perhaps more importantly--the staff are clearly well trained. Everyone, from maintenance folks and housekeepers to front desk staff are polite and accommodating. The fitness center is one of the most complete we have encountered, and the equipment is up-to-date (and it all works--a rarity in our experience). Also this hotel has a heated pool. Even more surprising, the on-site restaurant (Fuzions Grille) is outstanding. The ambience is ho-hum, but the food is really excellent. The hotel has brought in top chefs, and the quality of the food was way better than we expected. Steaks, chicken, onion soup, fish, salads and more...well prepared, tasty, satisfying, and not overpriced. The breakfast buffet features--every morning--eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, french toast or pancakes, cereals, breads, croissants, coffee and juice, all for only $13.00. It's easy to over-eat. There are only two things we think should be addressed soon: (1) the electronic locks are older models that lag when reading the key cards, leading many guests to believe their keys aren't working, thus causing headaches for the front desk; and (2) the Fuzions Grille, during our week-long stay, had only one person at the front end, having to serve as host, waiter, bus person, and--hold your breath for this one--the room service attendant. No one can multi-task like that, and the result is that some customers walk away because the host desk is sometimes unmanned, and customers who are seated may be inconvenienced in ordering, being served, or paying the bill because of the short staffing. This kitchen deserves to be supported better and--this complaint aside--is well worthy of your attention.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel may be quieter than those on the back side, which are subject to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We attended a party at the location for a FALL CLASSIC and we really enjoyed ourselves in the spacious hotel. The staff was excellent and very engaging and friendly and we absolutely enjoyed our visit. As a added bonus, we had a wonderful view from our balcony of Somerset as well! The rooms were clean and well kept.

My only issue is that perhaps in the near future there will be some upgrades done to the hotel (i.e. ceiling tiles - we were on the 11th floor), perhaps even some painting but nothing major.

Great hotel and great choice from my visit to Jersey!

Room Tip: Request a high floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wunderlust1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time visitors attending a family wedding. The venue was an older facility however it was pleasant. Some of the rooms were renovated would recommend those while others were in need of updates. Bar/Grill was good with great bartender.

Reasonable rates are available.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the Hotel Somerset through Priceline which normally delivers a quality, name brand hotel that matches the star level. Until this hotel totally remodels the property Priceline should remove the hotel or lower the star rating to two stars.
Having read the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, I was not surprised by the condition of the hotel. Previous reviews for this hotel are spot on and detail improvements that need to be made. The hotel was previously a Marriott and Crowne Plaza hotel.
We arrived late on a Friday so no issue with check in. Be careful in the parking lot at night as the lot is in bad condition with holes etc… As others have mentioned, this hotel is often used for 2 or 3 day religious or social events. Close to midnight there were young children running around the lobby and down the halls as we walked to our rooms.
Guest must find the rooms small as chairs and double wide strollers are left in the hall overnight, which could cause serious issues in the event of a fire.
Our room was dated with a box style TV worn furniture and drapes. Bathroom tub surround was very old with mold in the tile cracks. When we opened the shades in the morning your view was limited by the very dirty windows. A/C is a wall unit even though there is a thermostat (that does nothing) still on the wall. One bedside lamp was not operational.
I could not have the restaurant delivery coffee to the room in the morning so walked down to purchase coffee. The server said they had a coffee station in the restaurant so I asked if I could buy a large pot of coffee for the room. She informed me that they only had one thermos coffee pot so I could only take cups. She left and I took two cups of coffee to the room. When I returned for more coffee she told me I did not pay (never said there was a charge) so I said to charge me for 4 cups of coffee. As I waited, there was no other staff to assist me. When she finally returned she told me to just go and did not charge me. BTW, the small gift/coffee shop in the lobby that said it would be open at 7:30 each day but was not open during our two day weekend visit.
Around 4pm on Saturday the fire alarm went off and the entire hotel was evacuated. We stood outside for an hour as the local fire department tried to determine what set off the alarm near the kitchen. Glad this was not at night when we would need to negotiate around chairs and strollers in the hall.
It appears the hotel is starting to renovate some of the tower rooms. Lobby has old sofa that is beyond repair. In a few years this hotel may be up to a 3 star standard but for now it is at best, a two star hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate the time taken in order to provide such a detail account of this past experience. As we move forward, we are committed to improving all future guests ‘experiences by using this feedback as a tool that can assist in correcting our challenges. Optimistically, our team is looking forward to new property improvements in the near future which will eliminate the noted concerns related to conditions.

In contrast, we are very pleased that the experience upon checking into our hotel was efficient, professional and friendly. In addition, to hear that the bed was considered to be comfortable encourages us to continue providing the best quality in accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#2 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
0.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#9 of 16 in Somerset
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 110 Davidson Ave., Somerset, NJ 08873 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMING SOON CROWNE PLAZA Early 2016!!! Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing