We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Hotel Somerset Bridgewater”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hotel Somerset Bridgewater”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel was very old and probably did not have any renovation for decades. Bath tub drainage was clogged and by the end of shower half the tub is filled with water. Hotel location was far from shopping area and not convenient. Lobby wifi had intermittent problem. Would rate this hotel a 3 star.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZermattSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Although the property is enthusiatic to state that renovations will begin within this year, based on this feedback, our staff has refocused our current efforts on making sure that everything within each guest room is working properly now by our maintenance team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    58
    35
    39
See reviews for
71
42
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

A good find. We travel to northern NJ regularly to visit family, and have generally stayed in motels along or near US Hwy 1 in Edison or Woodbridge. We had a tip about the Somerset Hotel, however, and decided to try it. It was a good move. Yes, this 400-room hotel has been around for a while, but current management is moving to fix it up. Our room was quite comfortable, and--perhaps more importantly--the staff are clearly well trained. Everyone, from maintenance folks and housekeepers to front desk staff are polite and accommodating. The fitness center is one of the most complete we have encountered, and the equipment is up-to-date (and it all works--a rarity in our experience). Also this hotel has a heated pool. Even more surprising, the on-site restaurant (Fuzions Grille) is outstanding. The ambience is ho-hum, but the food is really excellent. The hotel has brought in top chefs, and the quality of the food was way better than we expected. Steaks, chicken, onion soup, fish, salads and more...well prepared, tasty, satisfying, and not overpriced. The breakfast buffet features--every morning--eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, french toast or pancakes, cereals, breads, croissants, coffee and juice, all for only $13.00. It's easy to over-eat. There are only two things we think should be addressed soon: (1) the electronic locks are older models that lag when reading the key cards, leading many guests to believe their keys aren't working, thus causing headaches for the front desk; and (2) the Fuzions Grille, during our week-long stay, had only one person at the front end, having to serve as host, waiter, bus person, and--hold your breath for this one--the room service attendant. No one can multi-task like that, and the result is that some customers walk away because the host desk is sometimes unmanned, and customers who are seated may be inconvenienced in ordering, being served, or paying the bill because of the short staffing. This kitchen deserves to be supported better and--this complaint aside--is well worthy of your attention.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel may be quieter than those on the back side, which are subject to som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MontagnardNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We attended a party at the location for a FALL CLASSIC and we really enjoyed ourselves in the spacious hotel. The staff was excellent and very engaging and friendly and we absolutely enjoyed our visit. As a added bonus, we had a wonderful view from our balcony of Somerset as well! The rooms were clean and well kept.

My only issue is that perhaps in the near future there will be some upgrades done to the hotel (i.e. ceiling tiles - we were on the 11th floor), perhaps even some painting but nothing major.

Great hotel and great choice from my visit to Jersey!

Room Tip: Request a high floor for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wunderlust1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

First time visitors attending a family wedding. The venue was an older facility however it was pleasant. Some of the rooms were renovated would recommend those while others were in need of updates. Bar/Grill was good with great bartender.

Reasonable rates are available.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeAndMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I booked the Hotel Somerset through Priceline which normally delivers a quality, name brand hotel that matches the star level. Until this hotel totally remodels the property Priceline should remove the hotel or lower the star rating to two stars.
Having read the negative reviews on Trip Advisor, I was not surprised by the condition of the hotel. Previous reviews for this hotel are spot on and detail improvements that need to be made. The hotel was previously a Marriott and Crowne Plaza hotel.
We arrived late on a Friday so no issue with check in. Be careful in the parking lot at night as the lot is in bad condition with holes etc… As others have mentioned, this hotel is often used for 2 or 3 day religious or social events. Close to midnight there were young children running around the lobby and down the halls as we walked to our rooms.
Guest must find the rooms small as chairs and double wide strollers are left in the hall overnight, which could cause serious issues in the event of a fire.
Our room was dated with a box style TV worn furniture and drapes. Bathroom tub surround was very old with mold in the tile cracks. When we opened the shades in the morning your view was limited by the very dirty windows. A/C is a wall unit even though there is a thermostat (that does nothing) still on the wall. One bedside lamp was not operational.
I could not have the restaurant delivery coffee to the room in the morning so walked down to purchase coffee. The server said they had a coffee station in the restaurant so I asked if I could buy a large pot of coffee for the room. She informed me that they only had one thermos coffee pot so I could only take cups. She left and I took two cups of coffee to the room. When I returned for more coffee she told me I did not pay (never said there was a charge) so I said to charge me for 4 cups of coffee. As I waited, there was no other staff to assist me. When she finally returned she told me to just go and did not charge me. BTW, the small gift/coffee shop in the lobby that said it would be open at 7:30 each day but was not open during our two day weekend visit.
Around 4pm on Saturday the fire alarm went off and the entire hotel was evacuated. We stood outside for an hour as the local fire department tried to determine what set off the alarm near the kitchen. Glad this was not at night when we would need to negotiate around chairs and strollers in the hall.
It appears the hotel is starting to renovate some of the tower rooms. Lobby has old sofa that is beyond repair. In a few years this hotel may be up to a 3 star standard but for now it is at best, a two star hotel.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EaganTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria G, Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We appreciate the time taken in order to provide such a detail account of this past experience. As we move forward, we are committed to improving all future guests ‘experiences by using this feedback as a tool that can assist in correcting our challenges. Optimistically, our team is looking forward to new property improvements in the near future which will eliminate the noted concerns related to conditions.

In contrast, we are very pleased that the experience upon checking into our hotel was efficient, professional and friendly. In addition, to hear that the bed was considered to be comfortable encourages us to continue providing the best quality in accommodations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have used Priceline's 'name your own rate' to get good rates at 3-star or higher rated hotels successfully for perhaps 100 nights; very few problems, just love Priceline and their usually conservative ratings and great values. This booking was our first using Priceline's Express offers. What a disappointment. While the hotel has - on paper and their website - facilities that would qualify for a 3-star rating - this hotel is clearly no longer a 3-star hotel it was when it was the Crown Plaza. It must have lost their Holiday Inn franchise due to their numerous problems, thus the name change to Hotel-Somerset-Bridgewater.
As always, I had called the hotel front desk after booking to give them our room preference; a non-smoking room, King-size bed in a quiet location, preferably in a more recently refurbished 'pet-free' floor. The front-desk manager did indeed assign us a room on the 7th floor, with a new good and comfortable king-size bed, room looked refurbished too. The lady who checked us in was also very friendly, efficient, professional.
But now the problems started: There was no hotel information sheet or booklet in the room. So I went down to the hotel pool that had been listed for this hotel. It was not available, blocked for a large group that had seemed to have taken over this hotel for 3 nights for Rosh Hashana.
Back to the room. Tried to set up my laptop on the small desk. The (energy-guzzling incandescent) light bulb in the desk lamp had burned out. Tried to make a cup of coffee - no coffee maker - just the coffee packets. Went to the front desk, waited in line - no they don't have spare light bulbs, but will bring a coffee maker later. They actually did while we were out for dinner away from the hotel, but it still had an old used filter inside and I was worried about mold so did not use it the next morning. Could not get Internet either, the access code did not work. The worst problem was the constant noise during the night - I even turned the Air Conditioning off - but the constant noise from either the AC/units above the ballroom roof below us or the road noise from a nearby major highway prevented any sleep despite foam-type ear plugs I carry for use on long airplane flights.
To top it off - the shower control handle was broken we discovered the next morning - we left without a shower, the first time in many years in countless hotels. Priceline should drop this hotel from their listings or rate it 1 or 2-star at the most.
Now the plus side: Even this low Priceline rate (we paid only $74.23 including tax and fees) included a pretty good breakfast on the 10th floor. Free parking. And I saw the same friendly woman who checked us in in the afternoon was still smiling and calmly checking in a large Chinese Bus tour group late in the evening. But even the most dedicated employee can't make up for poor management or a hotel owner who does not have even the money to buy energy-efficient long-lasting light bulbs or fix the plumbing, etc. A returned room service tray was sitting next to the ice-machine when we checked in - it was still there the next day late morning when we left.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished higher-floor room not on the side of the ballroom or Highway. Check shower, li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank askjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I think this is a fairly good hotel as long as you understand it's not a 4 star hotel and set your expectations accordingly. The rooms were clean and functional and for the price were good value. Only slight negative comment was that maybe they could be aired more or sprayed to freshen them up a bit but that doesn't take away from my overall feedback.
Breakfast was good, especially as it was in the room rate which was just over $100. The staff were friendly but again not as polished as you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Would I stay there again - sure. I'd classify it as a no frill, clean, good value hotel. I couldn't comment on the swimming pool or tennis courts as I wasn't there long enough to look for them

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
487 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the renovations and our efforts to expedite our progress, we are currently not accepting any reservations prior to October 2017. Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing