We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Elizabeth, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay here.”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I have been in many Hotels not only around the country, but around the world, this is by far the worst Hotel experience I have EVER had. First, me my wife and child got to the hotel only to find out that half of the hotel was unavailable (Pool, Restaurants,Gyms.) because it was rented out for a religious holiday. I explained to management I was looking to get away for a few days with the family and I did pay full price, to be given a quarter of the amenities. The staff was rude, and extremely unhelpful. On the way up to the room and one of the employees was on the phone cursing and using racial slurs, the manager who's name was James told me nothing could be done. When we got to the room it was atrocious, Smelled terrible, no water, no coffee, and no room service was available. This was a nightmare, and I will not give this hotel a lower rating because the website does not permit me to.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    61
    58
    35
    39
See reviews for
71
42
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here with our 2-year-old daughter, with my parents staying in a room across the hall from us - we stayed for 2 nights (Wed-Thurs) in the "tower" area of the hotel. Check-in was easy, staff friendly, rooms were clean and well-appointed, and halls were fairly quiet (important for sleeping toddlers!). We swam in the pool, which was rather nice, especially as it was midweek and we had it to ourselves. We also tried the breakfast buffet, which was fairly standard (it's the sort of buffet that is often free in other hotel chains), and was well-attended by friendly and helpful staff. There are restaurants in reasonable driving distance if you want to venture out for meals. Given that this hotel was nearly $100 less expensive per night than some other choices in the area for the same dates, it was an excellent value!

Room Tip: We did a little prior research which indicated that the tower rooms were quieter than the lower floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KireiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

So my friends and I stayed at this hotel at end of August for one night.

Staff - terrific! Very helpful and friendly. Nicole was great in assisting me when needed to have food delivered.

Rooms - stayed at standard two double bed rooms on the 1st floor. The size of the room was your standard size. The bathroom could have been better. The tub was chipped. The bathroom walls had pieces missing. Found a dead spider on the floor.

The hotel used to be a Marriott Hotel and it needs some updating.
As I said, could have been better.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel was chosen by my business for a stay from 8/7-8/11/13. On the upside, the room was clean, the room temperature was appropriate and the hotel manager Maria G. and front desk person James provided excellent service.
However, there are many downsides. When I checked in, I was asked for a credit card for incidentals. The person checking me was not paying attention and placed a hold on my account for the entire room stay. When I alerted the staff to this issue, they refunded my account. Twice. So I had to meet the manager in her office the next morning before work, so that they could contact my bank. It is 6 days later and my account is still in disarray. When I checked out, I was told that I had charges to my room but the front desk person was unable to tell me what they were and I wasted time trying to get her to explain it to me. My key cards worked once. Every time I attempted to enter my room, I was unable to and had to wait for maintenance or housekeeping to come up and let me in. The wifi is nonexisent unless you were up at 5:30 AM as I was several days- so impossible to work from the room. Also, during my stay there were exceptionally loud tourists and the hotel was unable to get them to shut up.

Room Tip: Good luck and be prepared to overpay for what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackiY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somerset hotels

New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I had a terrible two night stay at the hotel. We've stayed in dated hotels before, that's fine... but there's a big difference between dated and filthy. Our room was absolutely filthy. It had a terrible musky smell and my allergies acted up immediately. There was literally a huge hole in the middle of our bed sheet. The bed was very uncomfortable and my husband and I barely slept both nights. Ugh. Continuing the awful experience, the wifi was virtually nonexistent. It was incredibly slow when it worked, however, most of the time we were there it was completely down. When I called down to the front desk the staff responded rudely and seemed unconcerned about the issue, simply saying "there's too many people trying to connect." In my opinion, that's a completely unacceptable excuse in 2013. There were bugs crawling on the elevator floor which completely grossed me out. Overall, it was a terrible experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulzyKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

They are bad. infested 7.24.13 Our students were bit. Manager not made available. Staff rude refused to admit. I took photos and still refused manager call. Bed bugs bed bugs bad will bite infected. Inform clients and be careful this was nit a goid situation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancyleah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJWhitten, General Manager at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Our property remains alarmed by this recent review because we are always very concerned about the comfort and safety of our guests. Consequently, the property has followed up with a comprehensive extermination inspection thru outside professional services which certified that no active concern exits. The property considers this feedback as truly valuable and useful. Therefore, our property will also make sure that our team remains helpful, professional, and committed to offering management assistance whenever requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading the reviews here, I was a bit wary of staying at this hotel (which was chosen by our son's lacrosse team for a tournament). What a pleasant surprise! Many of us arrived early and they bent over backwards arranging early check-in for us. Front desk people were very helpful. Our rooom was nicely sized for the 3 of us and the beds were comfortable. The room was clean and nice. The bathrooms are on the older side, but clean so it didn't bother me at all.

Workout room was large with working equipment (something I have come to appreciate after stays at other hotels! The boys seemed to really enjoy the pool although I personally did not use it!

Buffet breakfast was fair to middling, but heck it was free! Service was excellent at the buffet--be sure to tip the waitress!!

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to be put up on Floor 11...REALLY NICE and quiet at that !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater

Property: Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater
Address: 110 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-1303 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the renovations and our efforts to expedite our progress, we are currently not accepting any reservations prior to October 2017. Rest easy in a setting of superb comfort, in the heart of central New Jersey. Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater offers the perfect combination of convenient location and impeccable services. Close to downtown New Brunswick, and with easy access to the Rutgers Campus’ of New Brunswick and Piscataway, our hotel provides discerning guests with an environment of welcoming warmth and repose. Attentive service and a professional staff highlight an ideal setting for relaxation as well as exceptional occasions, corporate gatherings or celebrations. Host a memorable social function or a professional meeting in our elegant event space. With an expansive ballroom, flexible conference rooms and spacious outdoor venues, an event at Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater is an affair to be remembered. And because work is fueled by relaxation, there’s plenty here for guests who want to unwind. Tempt your taste buds with tantalizing New American flavors at Fuzion’s, relax poolside with your favorite drink, or replenish after an event-filled day with a dip in our Jacuzzi. Our well-appointed, smoke-free guest rooms ensure a sound sleep, with plenty of room to stretch out to prepare for the day ahead. Conveniently located in Somerset, near the New Jersey Turnpike and I-287, our hotel brings you within moments of the region’s most notable sights. From nearby shopping to local live shows and the area’s most popular sporting events, you’ll find yourself perfectly placed to experience it all, from our central New Jersey address. •Located adjacent to I-287 from Exit 10 in Somserset, NJ •390 Deluxe Guest Rooms, Suites and an Executive Level •100% smoke free guest accommodations throughout •Complimentary WiFi and voicemail in each guest room •24-hour, full-service Business Center with printing •Indoor heated swimming pool, outdoor pool and Jacuzzi •Tennis courts, basketball courts and volleyball onsite •Well-equipped fitness center with the latest equipment •Concierge services available for all guests •Full service lounge, dining room and room service •Fuzion’s Restaurant and 110 Blu Lounge, onsite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Somerset-Bridgewater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Somerset-Bridgewater Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing