We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You have got to eat here!”
Review of Sophie's Bistro

Sophie's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Sophie's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Classic French Bistro
Southern Cook Islands, Cook Islands
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“You have got to eat here!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Great friendly local eatery. You won't believe the food quality, the great menu and the wonderful staff! I highly recommend you getting here to eat!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOHNNYJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    46
    16
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best French Ever!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

A colleague found this place because we were in the area for a conference. What a find! The food and service-spectacular. The ambience - adorable. Excellent menu choices to please every palate. Next time we'll leave room for dessert!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patdarcey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“French Bistro in unlikely place”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Sophie's is an Oasis in central Jersey. When my wife & I moved from Manhattan, we sorely missed French Bistro food. Sophie"s meets the need. It's 4-stars for central New Jersey, barren food area.
Wish they served Steak Tartare, a glaring omission!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRW547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real gem!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We have driven by this restaurant for years and finally (thanks to a friend) had dinner there and then went back again just last night. I cannot say enough about how friendly and accomodating the staff is and the variety and quality of the food is outstanding! Their salads are fresh and a wonderful lead-in to their delectable entrees. My husband raved about his cassoulet while my duck was perfectly cooked - our only complaint the second time around was that we were too full to enjoy dessert! They make an incredible ice cream filled crepe which is a perfect way to end a delicious meal. Their selection of wines are also very nice and you can choose a perfectly acceptable bottle at a very reasonable price. Peter has done an outstanding job of making everyone from his staff to his customers feel like family!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersy
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome French Bistro”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere and excellent French Onion Soup. The service/staff were great. We go here for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Bistro also viewed

 
New Brunswick, NJ
New Brunswick, NJ
 

Been to Sophie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing