We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
East Stroudsburg, PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus”
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My wife and I attended a wedding in the Somerset area and took advantage of a great pay-in-advance weekend rate at the Homewood Suites. My wife and I are very discriminating travelers and when I heard her exclaim "Wow" when we entered our modest studio suite, I knew we made the right choice. Our 2nd floor suite was impeccably clean and functional. The Bed was super comfortable. Although there was an early crowd for the breakfast, we were pleased at how the staff handled the rush and the top quality of the food offered (scrambled eggs, potato pancakes and a delicious quiche).

The thing that really motivated me to write so glowingly about Homewood Suites is the "no problem' response of the staff to every request made of them. Earlier reviewers had limited experience with the staff other than checkin/out; however, when we needed a little flexibility with the timing of our wedding, Makia, the front desk manager, came through for us. She should be commended for being most hospitable. After mentioning the possible need to return after check-out to use the public rest rooms to change from church attire to reception attire, Makia offered us a clean room to change and freshen up between events. Although we did not need to take advantage of the offer, we were pleasanlty surprised by it! There is no doubt in our minds that when we return to the Somerset area again, Homewood Suites will be our top choice.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seas0ned-Traveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    109
    53
    36
    18
See reviews for
178
53
27
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Homewood Suites are my favorite chain for business travel, and the Somerset location was no exception. Although it was a bit run down, the room was a great size and the hotel was generally quiet. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant and I was able to sleep very well for the two nights I stayed.

The hotel could use a bit of refreshing and the kitchen area in my room was pretty understocked, but generally, I would recommend this location.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, Nc
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2009

This was my first stay at Homewood suites after all the Residence Inns and Staybridge suites.

I stayed here on my visit to New York. They had a very good price online. I stated in a one bedroom king suite. Everything was amazing about the room. Except for the old TVs.

The bathroom had neutrogena products. The buffet breakfast was good but not great. The pool was good, nice hot tub.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank USTraveler79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We came on a Friday night and was pleasantly surprised to find out we were upgraded from a studio suite to a one bedroom suite. It is our first time to stay in a Hilton hotel and we are very happy customers. From the very first moment we arrived, the front desk lady was very nice and made us feel right at home. She told us all about the available amenities and the time we could access the pool, spa, business center, etc.
The suite is lovely. The kitchenette area has dark wood floors. There is a toaster, microwave oven, ice maker, silverware, microwaveable items, pots and pans, the works. There is complementary popcorn that is on the coffee basket, and I thought that was a very nice touch.
The bedroom is sort of small. However, the overhead fan with light makes a good appeal to the room. They offer neutrogena bath products and I do have to add that there is complimentary mouthwash. These days, mouthwashes are a rarity in hotels.
I will definitely stay here again. It is a perfect place for a family, as there is even a half basketball court in the premises.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenArcherNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

Cannot add too much to the other reviews. We were pleasantly surprised by a nice complementary light dinner with one glass of wine or beer (except weekends and holidays), hot limited breakfast buffet (not cooked to order). Excellent staff and, of course all suites + kitchenette. We had a good free internet connection.

  • Liked — Very upscale for a pet friendly hotel
  • Disliked — slightly out of the way location
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fromdelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a trip to Sesame Place. The hotel was very nice, clean and inviting. Stayed in a room with a King bedroom and a pullout in the living room - more than enough space for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids). Had a stocked kitchenette area (plates, cups, silverware, pots & pans) so if you were staying longer you could have small meals there if you wanted. Enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. The continental breakfast was fabulous! Great selection of fresh foods - omelets, bacon, french toast sticks, waffles made to order, juices, coffee, cereal, fruit...a really great spread!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Traffic
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cosmom7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2008

I'm a business traveller and stayed at the hotel for a few weeks in the Fall of 2008. The room was clean and spacious. The staff was friendly and the service was OK (although I didn't see or speak with the hotel staff except for when I was checking in). I've stayed at many Homewood Suites over the years and like the room set up with the separate bedroom and kitchen.

My biggest issue was getting a reservation. Although rooms were available, after the first couple of weeks, they refused to honor my corporate rate and forced me to seek alternative accomodations. This is how they treated a loyal long-time customer who's a Gold HHonors member.

If you want a room in a quiet, remote location with nothing fancy or entertaining, and can work through the reservation process to get a reasonable nightly rate, it's not a bad hotel. They do provide an OK breakfast and nightly snack, but you'll need to be prepared to drive 10 or 15 minutes to find a restaurant in the area.

  • Liked — Room with separte bedroom, living room & kitchen
  • Disliked — Reservation Service & Room Rate
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Disney_Yahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
1.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Piscataway - Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Somerset

Property: Homewood Suites Somerset
Address: 101 Pierce St, Somerset, NJ 08873-4173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset with newly-renovated rooms features pet-friendly suites that stand out among the hotels in Somerset, NJ. This great location provides easy access to Rutgers University, Bridgewater Commons Mall, and Six Flags Great Adventure & Wild Safari. Meanwhile business travelers will appreciate a quick commute to the corporate offices of Johnson & Johnson, MetLife, Veeco, and Verizon. Guests entering this TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award-winning hotel will be greeted with a warm welcome and a speedy check-in to apartment-style suites. These spacious suites are perfect for extended stays, and offer thoughtful amenities such as free Wi-Fi, 37” HD TVs, and fully-equipped kitchens. Guests can start their day off with the free breakfast buffet, and they can unwind with complimentary evening dinner and drinks. Keep up on your workout routine with cardio equipment in the 24-hour fitness center, pick up a game on the outdoor basketball court, and cool down with a refreshing swim in the indoor pool. With over 700 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also an excellent venue for hosting small business meetings and receptions. Select the Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset, and enjoy the award-winning service, modern amenities, and prime location that make this one of the top-rated hotels in Somerset, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Homewood Somerset
Somerset Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing