We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Homewood Suites Somerset
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Where do I start? Staff was friendly and the hotel is clean. The rooms were huge, extremely quiet, and comfortable. I don't remember his name but the weekend manager was all over and very accommodating.
He checked us in, was changing lights out in the halls, bringing out new pool towels, and helping with breakfast. I loved the hotel made breakfast sandwiches. My only complaints are its a bit off of the highway and not many restaurants close by. We wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta P, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. Thank you for your kind words about our friendly staff and the hotel being clean. I will pass along your positive feedback to Cory, our operations manager. We wish you could have stayed longer also and enjoyed more time with the Homewood Suites Family. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (558)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 558 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2012

This hotel was great. Our room was a 2 bedroom suite with room for all 5 of us, a really nice kitchen area and a spacious bathroom. The cookies at check in were nice and employees were as well. The pool area was small but clean and set at a great temperature. Breakfast was amazing~fruit, hot and cold foods, everything a person could want! My only 1 complaint is that breakfast was only served until 9am, so I felt rushed and my son had to bring me a fruit plate because I couldn't make it down before they closed breakfast. My husband and kids spent an hour munching while I used the fitness room....which was really nice. New equipment, mats, and many more items than I've seen before in a fitness room. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Somerset!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I was looking for a hotel which is a short drive from Newark airport and found this one. I never stayed at any of the Homewood suites. We were pleasantly surprised to find room more like a suite ( as the name suggests) with full kitchen facility, i.e. microwave, fridge, plates. Two bottles of water and cookies were a welcome surprise for us. The room was quite comfortable and large enough for us. Unfortunately, we did not taste the breakfast the next morning as we had to leave early. But all in all this is an excellent hotel for a family.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rajprakash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The hotel room is nice and big with kitchenette. The breakfast buffet is great with lots of cold and hot varieties, even asian steamed rice and miso soup. However, the hotel obviously needs upgrades here and there: the sofa chairs in the room are tired, the carpet in the hallway is quite 1970th; there are two buttons missing in one of the elevators; in the bathroom of room 402 the wallpaper is peeling (see our photos). However, for just a $100 for a 1 bedroom suite it was still a good deal, until we were asked to pay another $100 for a 12 pounds toy fox terrier that traveled with us. I understand that dog owners shall be resposible for their dog's behaviors and pay for any damages the dog might cause. Our dog is very quiet and sweet, who doesn't tear up anything or bark randomly. You can barely notice he is in hotel room. Charging $100 pet fee across the board is quite rediculous. We've never seen another hotel who charges such high pet fees! With a total of $200+tax per night, we can surely find a hotel that is more modern, has bigger swimming pool and Gym room, and more pet friendly. If you care about your hotel image, I recommend that you change your hotel policy by rejecting all pets, instead of pretending to be pet-friendly but in the end annoying pet owners with rediculous pet fees.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Min V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretta P, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites Somerset, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests whether the feedback is positive or negative. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and all the extra goodies that we have. I have researched the hotels that are competitive with the Homewood Suites and they all have a $100 pet fee which is nonrefundable and not based on length of stay. The pet fees are to clean the room extra careful for those guests that have allergies. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Attractive and clean. HUGE building. We did have to ask to move from our first room as the AC unit was so loud that it sounded like a helicopter constantly hovering, but they provided a new room without question and quickly. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If walking is an issue for you, ask for a close room as some can be quite a hike from the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandFamily89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests. We apologize for the loud AC unit and happy to hear that we took care of the issue quickly and to your satisfaction. Thank you for the positive feedback about our friendly staff and clean property. We look forward to serving you again and providing outstanding service and hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel. Spent several months here while working in the area. Would not stay anywhere else.

The free meal is ok if your on a nidget and dont want to leave, otherwise applebees in down the road.

Free internet, free parking, what else can u ask for?

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Argonaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Homewood Suies by Hilton Somerset. We always appreciate hearing from our guests especially when they write that they had an Excellent stay. I will share your positive feedback with the staff. We look forward to serving you again and providing you with the hospitality and service you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Clean, modern Homewood Suites tucked somewhat out of the way. Not much in the way walking distance so best as a business hotel. Usual comfy Hilton beds. Window opens only about 2 inches guess so they won't lose any guests :)

Have tried DoubleTree and Hampton Inn in the area and both are tired, so prefer this hotel. Friendly and warm staff.

For a simple dinner after Hotel happy hours, check out nearby Piazza Orsillo. Fine example of a family-run New Jersey pizzeria.

WiFi and breakfast included.

Room Tip: For a simple Italian dinner after Hotel happy hours, check out nearby Piazza Orsillo. Fine example o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AisleSeat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#5 of 16 in Somerset
114 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Somerset
Candlewood Suites Somerset
#11 of 16 in Somerset
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Somerset

Address: 101 Pierce St, Somerset, NJ 08873-4173
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range: $112 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset with newly-renovated rooms features pet-friendly suites that stand out among the hotels in Somerset, NJ. This great location provides easy access to Rutgers University, Bridgewater Commons Mall, and Six Flags Great Adventure & Wild Safari. Meanwhile business travelers will appreciate a quick commute to the corporate offices of Johnson & Johnson, MetLife, Veeco, and Verizon. Guests entering this TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Award-winning hotel will be greeted with a warm welcome and a speedy check-in to apartment-style suites. These spacious suites are perfect for extended stays, and offer thoughtful amenities such as free Wi-Fi, 37” HD TVs, and fully-equipped kitchens. Guests can start their day off with the free breakfast buffet, and they can unwind with complimentary evening dinner and drinks. Keep up on your workout routine with cardio equipment in the 24-hour fitness center, pick up a game on the outdoor basketball court, and cool down with a refreshing swim in the indoor pool. With over 700 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also an excellent venue for hosting small business meetings and receptions. Select the Homewood Suites by Hilton Somerset, and enjoy the award-winning service, modern amenities, and prime location that make this one of the top-rated hotels in Somerset, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Homewood Somerset
Somerset Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing