We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Aweful”
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for two days during April, 2011. The stay let me think as to why I selected to stay at this place. Breakfast was tasteless. Unfriendly staff. Recollecting one event, that my room card was not working and since my room was quite far from the reception, I called front desk for the help. No one turned up and I had to walk in the pouring rain to get the keys replaced. No room service and neither room cleaning.

Though the room charges are within budget range, but still not worth staying comparing the facility and support extended by other such hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank SPoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    66
    24
    5
    21
See reviews for
103
19
13
79
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
san jose,ca
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

The rooms were big and clean, the kitchen was nice, the kids loved the pool and there was a huge variety for breakfast. The staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuki0702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, ny
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights while attending a Convention down the road at the the Crowne Plaza. It was way beyond our expectations. The rooms were clean and bright. Loved having a small kitchen. The B'fast in the morning was great and so convenient. The grounds were pleasant and it was so quiet there. Will definitely stay there again. No doubt.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My second business trip and I decided to stay at a different place. Located near the freeway, the hotel offers a host of conveniences like a fully functional kitchen in the room, cab service, health club, swimming pool, a barbecue area, laundromat and internet. The staff was courteous and helpful. Along with this the hotel offers free buffet breakfast in the morning and supper on two days.
The suites are the only option here and each suite has two rooms, a living room and a kitchen. The rooms are comfortable and clean but the hotel offers cleaning of the place only once a week in case you are staying longer. This was a minor irritant.
The hotel is located in an area that has a many eating joints at walking distance and malls nearby (Minimum cab fare). The hotel runs a shuttle service that takes you to almost anywhere in 20miles radius for free making it a great travel option.
The hotel offers an option of staying on a budget in the otherwise expensive US.
Try to wash your own clothes and do not use the laundry service as they have a tendency to loose them. I was reimbursed for the loss but I lost the shirt none the less.
All in all a place to stay with the family if you want that bang for your buck. Good hospitality and overall services make it a winner for budget.

Room Tip: Online booking in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anantkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are pleased that you had a good experience here at Staybridge Suites. It is always nice to have all the features of home while being away, so I am glad that you were able to use them. I am sorry for the issue with your dry cleaning and we have discussed this with the dry cleaning company to make sure they do not do something like that again. Thank you for the feedback and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed at Staybridge Suites for one night with my husband and my parents. It was great that we each were able to get our own room and bathroom. I also enjoyed sharing the living room and kitchen. The breakfast they served was really nice. There was make your own waffles, bagels, Danishes, juice, coffee, tea, and many more things to pick from. Besides, the breakfast we did not use any other amenities, but there was a sports court and a pool (outdoors). I really liked this hotel and would definitely stay in a Staubridge again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lildebbie107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Stayed 3 nights in business trip.
Front desk was very friendly and helpful.
I got a 1-bedroom just above the lobby (but I did not get disturbed by any noise). The fridge did not make any noise, which is a problem I often notice when there is a kitchen.
Overall everything went fine. This is clean and comfortable. Of course we can not expect the same level of comfort we would have in a room which would cost twice that price, but this was all fine for the price.
The only major complain is the Wifi connexion in my room. Cable connexion was working OK though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad that everything was nice and quiet for you during your time with us. I am sorry that the wireless internet was giving you issues; we have since then updated our hotel’s internet service so that the wireless it is faster and easier to use than before. We hope to see you again and thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2011

Property is in a non residential office building area that is very quiet. Rooms are relatively large and very well equipped, including full kitchen. Staff professional and attentive. Reasonably priced in one the most expensive parts of the country. It could use a face lift, the television sets show age, and there is the occasional blemish. This is not the first time I have stayed here and it will not be the last.

Room Tip: Join International hotels Priority club and ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truthjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our stay with us. We appreciate your comments about how you enjoyed our large suites. It is always nice to have some extra space when traveling and the ability to cook with a full kitchen! I know that we are an older hotel but we appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Somerset hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Somerset
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites Somerset
Homewood Suites Somerset
#3 of 16 in Somerset
487 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Somerset
Courtyard Somerset
#7 of 16 in Somerset
185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Somerset
Residence Inn Somerset
#6 of 16 in Somerset
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#8 of 16 in Somerset
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Somerset

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
Address: 260 Davidson Ave, Somerset, NJ 08873-4115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites in Somerset NJ is now open! Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is located minutes from New Brunswick, Piscataway and Bridgewater, NJ. This Somerset NJ Hotel is situated directly off RT 287 North and conveniently accessible from I-95, NJ Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway and close to major corporations such as Johnson & Johnson, Aventis, IBM, AT&T and Lucent. Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is minutes from NJ Universities, including Rutgers & Princeton. Come stay with at this Somerset NJ Hotel when visiting Commerce Bank Ballpark, Garden State Exhibition Center, NJ Convention Center, & Bridgewater Mall. New York City is accessible by train, also close to the NJ Shore area. Each suite offer private baths with each bedroom & fully equipped kitchens. All rates include a complimentary full, hot and cold breakfast buffet, as well as our evening reception, Tuesday-Thursday. Free High Speed Internet DSL access available in all suites, convenience store, exercise and complimentary laundry facilities are all available on property. We welcome all guests who are at least 21 years of age to our hotel. We require a valid photo id and major credit card at the time of check-in. Cribs are available, advance request advised. Pet Policy: We accept 1 pet per suite with a one time, $150 non-refundable fee. Certain breeds & weight limits apply. Proof of vaccinations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing