We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Piazza Orsillo

Piazza Orsillo
Ranked #13 of 111 Restaurants in Somerset
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Piscataway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very, very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I know the owners of this restaurant personally and so I am disappointed in the quality of the food they serve. I had chicken parm and yes it was a huge portion, but there was nothing particularly special about it. It was smothered in too much cheese and a tasteless tomato sauce. It is unfortunate that this is what Italian food has become. From a service and ambiance standpoint, I was not impressed either. It is set in a strip mall and is not in any way inviting from the outside. When I walked in I was greeted right away but I was directed to seat myself. All in all, this is an average, run of the mill pizzeria. Don't expect a "restaurant."

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler7811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pizza, OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went recently and ordered Chicken parm.... my husband and a friend ordered the Granny's Pizza with garlic, tomatos, olive oil....oh my! SOOOOOO goood! whereas mine was ok in comparison. Overall, very good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACruz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level Contributor
180 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Service, Ok to Average Italian/Pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was Ok, no great shakes, and certainly nothing to write home about. That said the good and the average,

1. The good: Great service and attitude. They aim to please here, from the warm greeting upon entering to our sitting down we were most definitely welcome here. The young girl who served us was very polite and cordial. Everything I asked for came and came promptly.

2. It is a shopping center Pizza Place. Don't expect upscale ambiance but it was neat, clean, and well managed.

3. The average: the food was just alright, it looked better than it tasted. My soup was the best thing, a very nice pasta fagioli. My dinner companions had the veal, and the sausage. No one commented on their food, not good, not bad, a telling sign. No ooh or ahh, and we were hungry, so the fact that there were NO comments was a bad thing.

I opted for the Pizza. They had many varieties of pizza and it was not bad just not memorable or I gotta come back for,,, the crust was crispy good but a bit bland and flavorless. The red sauce was however excellent.

I would return but with an expectation of quality ingredients and service just not eye popping flavor or taste.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newman019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, NJ
1 review
“Felt like home (but better)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I took my elderly mother to Piazza Orsillo this evening. The rear dining room was full so we sat in the front in the area which is a little more casual. What a happy accident. Our waiter was friendly and helpful and actually sat down with us to help my mother order. He seemed to know a lot of the people at the adjoining tables and it turned out the people at the next table were family. It was such a friendly atmosphere and the waiter (owner?) actually seemed to care how we and everyone in the restaurant were enjoying their meals. We felt like we were eating in someone's home and not in a strip mall restaurant. The food, by the way, was delicious and authentic and the portions were quite large.

We have been to this restaurant several times, some times for dinner as tonight and other times for pizza. The pizza is every bit as good as any that we ever had in Brooklyn and a welcome surprise in New Jersey.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeAnne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

ok pizza, not the best, not the worst, but located in a mini mall that has everything you could possibly need

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza Orsillo also viewed

 

Been to Piazza Orsillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing