We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Winter Get Away”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Residence Inn was very nice. It was a Queen Suite. The staff was polite and helpful. The parking is great especially when you had bad knees.

The suite was spacious, clean and attractive. I would make a return visit.

Room Tip: I would choose a corner unit. They have to be more quiet especially in season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReynellL, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good Afternoon

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for staying at the Residence Inn Somers Point.

We look forward to having you stay with us again should your travels return you to the area.

Best regards,

Reynell Lavigne
General Manager of the Somers Point Residence Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    155
    63
    36
    26
See reviews for
199
108
21
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This newly renovated Residence Inn is the only one I've ever stayed that has a full kitchen, including oven! This, in addition to THE Marriott bed and the fact that the facility was so quiet and peaceful and comfortable made my stay very positive, relaxing and recharging. The rooms are thoughtfully designed so that light is blocked with two layers of curtains so that you can sleep in without being awakened by the light. Also, the rooms are comfortably furnished with everything you need to feel "at home" away from home!

I also found the staff to be incredibly helpful, friendly and accommodating. I brought colleagues back with me after checking out and the staff kindly allowed us to work in the quiet dining area for several hours, bathed in the bright morning sunlight of a mid-week day. Partly because we were working "away from the office" and had access to coffee and hot drinks as well, this was a bonus that made us feel like we were at a retreat center! An employee even brought us a pitcher of water and glasses, even though we didn't ask for them.

Lastly, the location is wonderful for exploring the seaside area. If you ask for a room on the "quiet" side of the hotel, you don't even hear the traffic and you can look out over a quiet marsh area in the back. There's a beautiful little waterfront park about a mile away that is nice for a walk and a quiet place to enjoy the water views.

I enjoyed my first stay (for business) so much that I came back for the weekend as well! I tried out the very small workout room which is adequate but nothing fancy. There is a TV and a few basic pieces of equipment but if the weather is nice, you're probably better off taking a walk outside. All in all, I couldn't have enjoyed my stay more! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for the "quiet side" if you're wanting to avoid the sound of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
166 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for a numbers of days over this past month. Both rooms were very nicely updated and refreshed.,... clean and comfortable.

This is an older style RI, with 2 story pod buildings. Just remember, if you can't or don't want to drag luggage to a 2nd floor with 2 flights of stairs, get a 1st floor room. There are no elevators to get up to the 2nd floor.

The breakfast was typical for this type of property, with powdered eggs, and a rotation of other offerings.. They did have seasonal fresh cut up and whole fruit available.. and a hot pot of oatmeal.

The outside has some wear and tear, some from age, some from the after effects I imagine from Hurricane Sandy. It didn't interfere with the operations, but probably will be addressed after the winter.

The rooms were clean and neat... internet access easy and fast. On that, it was great your could sign in for a week or a month, so that you didn't need to sign in every day... or if you signed in at different times, it didn't cut you off to force another sign in after 24 hours.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Oh dear...the staff here are so pleasant and nice that I guess what I have to say is addressed to Marriott corporation:
Please put some money into spiffing this place up. It needs many coats of paint to start. Then
someone needs to figure out some safety devices like better railings to the second floor stairs and steps.
As another said in their posting about the "socials"...let's just say that daycare meals are more substantial AND appealing! Chicken noodle soup out of the can, tiny bits of sweets, and the worst of all was BBQ...guess what it turned out to be? hot dogs, yes good old hot dogs...!! If I was invited to a BBQ and hot dogs were served I would wonder what budget the host had for the meal. So I ask...is there a budget concern here? The meals are the worst I have ever seen in a hotel that says that they include an evening meal. And what adult beverages were there? none.
Otherwise the rooms are decent. Although it is a non smoking property, smokers stand in their doorways and tobacco smoke wafts every where! Ugh.

Room Tip: Make sure you can manage stairs outside in the elements if you are here in winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldnovice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuttle, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I've stayed at a lot of RI's and this has been the worst. The rooms are typical, the bed I had was outstanding as usual however thats about it. If you love the Managers Special don't waste your time. 1st night it was SUPPOSE to be ravioli. When I finally found it (I was the first one there) I ladled some out and it was nothing more than scalding hot red water with remnants of what used to be ravioli (I think). The salad was nothing more than iceberg lettuce which was brown around the edges. NO wine, NO beer, just some no named sodas. 2nd night was chicken salad, and it was just that! Both evenings the maintenance guys was sitting around reading the paper. Some microwaved chicken with the fake grill marks and some iceberg lettuce. NOTHING ELSE.... no dressing, sals, wine, beer, etc. I only wasted my time on breakfast the first morning. The powdered eggs looked like nothing I've ever seen. No bacon, biscuits, sausage, etc. I went right for a bagel and ate it in my room. Express check out was YOU going to the front desk and YOU searching through all the check out envelopes looking for your room number. Once you find it, YOU have to let them know what room number you are so they can check you out. The patio furniture is green and black with mold/age. On an up note, the young lady that checked us in was very nice.

Room Tip: Rooms are okay. If you want/expect anything else.....DON'T!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hubby stayed here for business recently. Nice hotel, looks like newly renovated room. Nice to have kitchenette in room. Close to many amenities and two grocery stores (Acme and Shop Rite) are only about a mile north on Route 9. Hotel will also shop for you and have groceries delivered to your room if you desire. Clean and quiet. Nice view of bay behind hotel. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the salt marsh/bay=quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We were traveling around New Jersey for the Lighthouse Challenge and stayed overnight in Somers Point. Not only was the room completely renovated and beautiful, but the staff was super friendly and gave us excellent recommendations for places to eat. We travel quite a bit and have experienced a wide variety of hotels, would like to stay here again sometime soon if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerseyjaunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somers Point
3.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pier 4 Hotel
Pier 4 Hotel
#2 of 7 in Somers Point
106 reviews
3.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Passport Inn
Passport Inn
#3 of 7 in Somers Point
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point

Property: Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
Address: 900 Mays Landing Rd, Somers Point, NJ 08244-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somers Point
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point you'll find something refreshingly different. With over sized suites, roomy work areas and plenty of wide-open spaces, it's the perfect Ocean City area hotel to work, rest, play and feel right at home. Enjoy the warm, casual atmosphere, friendly service and delightful little touches that you'll only find with us. And our convenient location offers prime access to the best of Atlantic City from casinos to shopping and dining yet is situated in the boutique community of Somers Point on the bay adjacent to the world-famous Ocean City area of Beaches and Boardwalks! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Atlantic City Somers Point Hotel Somers Point
Residence Inn Somers Point
Somers Point Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing