We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour review”
Review of Smitty's Clam Bar

Smitty's Clam Bar
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Happy hour review”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Tonight we went to Windjammer for their Happy Hour. Off season their Happy Hour is from 3 to 7. Arrived at 5:45 and quite a few cars in the lot. Most people were seated at tables and the bar had plenty of room. BTW, you must sit at the bar for Happy Hour prices. All appetizers are half price and drinks are discounted.
There were six of us and we sat comfortably at the bar. Drink orders were immediately taken and we were presented with menus. Large variety of apps to choose from. Bartenders were pleasant and made you feel welcome. The apps were generous and really tasty.
We intend to return for dinner on our next visit. Appealing, clean and plenty of seating. Can't wait to return.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    106
    32
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Its a Shore Thing”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A visit to the shore cannot be complete without a night at Smittys! Over the past 15 years this little shack on the bay in Somers Point has become the hot spot. The menu is always full of fun things to eat, but the environment is what makes this experience great. The BYOB status is encouraged with long waits during the summer months, but with a panoramic view of the bay it provides a nice backdrop for the evening. There is usually an hour plus wait during weekend nights, so get there early and put your name in before you drive to the liquor store down the street (Circle Liquor).

I recommend looking at the specials board: it changes regularly and always has good local catches of the day. The kids menu is great, especially if you have a picky eater that wants something other than seafood, like a burger or chicken fingers. The prices are dirt cheap, just bring cash!

All things considered, I have never had a bad meal here and I have always had a great time, and so will you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The soup here is great! It's a combo of red & white clam chowders. Scallops are fabulous, no matter what sauce you choose to go with. It's a BYOB. Also, a lot of people dont know this, but in the morning it's a breakfast shop in the back. Def have breakfast here, not at the Point Diner. The Point used to be great, but it has lost it's touch.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank VLeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun local dinner spot”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

consistantly good seafood and chowders...family owned and operated, fast service altho ofter long waits to get a table...BYOB

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Seaviewflp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Smitty's”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

BYO, which is a pain, but to be honest, the best fish restaraunt I've been to in the States. The tuna in soy, ginger and wasabe was what you'd expect in a gourmet gaff asking four times the price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Smitty's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing