We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”
Review of Smitty's Clam Bar

Smitty's Clam Bar
Ranked #2 of 68 Restaurants in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good seafood, nothing special about the preparation but generally fresh and tasty and very reasonably priced. No AC and long waits at dinnertime. For lunch there's generally no wait but many specials are only offered at dinnertime. Ultra casual.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank njryk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    119
    33
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Chowder”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

This place is a hidden gem. They serve the best clam chowder outside of New England. The clams were so tender and corn was so fresh that the kernels burst with flavor in every bite. I just finished my cup and want to order more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Traveler83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't go here...Horrible....STAY AWAY!!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just trying to keep the crowds down!......Awesome place, been going for 50 years since the old crotchity Smitty was alive and still the owner. Simple little place with great food and clams. Cash only and BYOB too. Wish they would expand some...maybe outside tables??

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelmuch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is a restaurant you go to for the food , not the decor. My favorite restaurant in the area. Best soups, fresh caught fish prepared in a variety of ways, clams ,and a raw bar outside . Go early or late , because there can easily be a 1-2 hour wait , as they do not accept reservations.No ambiance , no decor , but after having eaten here , you will be back again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Rustic Character---Good food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Arrived at Smitty's prepared for the legendary long wait, but snagged 3 bar stools at the open air counter. These are first come-first serve. A good start to an enjoyable meal. (Parties that arrived before us and who waited for a table were STILL waiting when we were finished with our meal.) We started with plump clams on the half shell and a scrumptious New England clam chowder, followed by delicious seafood au gratin generously stuffed with various types of seafood and a fried flounder dinner. My daughter had the chicken strips which were OK also. Everything was delicious and served with a smile by the friendly staff. We love the rustic open air nature of the place. Exactly what a coastal clam bar should be, in our opinion. Don't forget to BYOB!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fettucine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smitty's Clam Bar also viewed

 
Marmora, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Been to Smitty's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing