We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Spot for Drinks & Appetizers!”

Crabby Jack's Deck Bar
Ranked #10 of 68 Restaurants in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot for Drinks & Appetizers!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Found This place a couple of years ago waiting for a Table at the Crab Trap Restaurant, which is also one of the best seafood to be found in town. Very festive atmosphere with nice waterside view of Ocean City Bay & causeway. Drinks & appetizers good value with reasonable service, depending on crowd. Have been back many times.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EHeffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lacking in customer service.”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Crowded. People hover over you at the bar to get a drink. Had wine spilled on me. People bump your chair. Bar staff and waitresses ignore you. Waited an hour to order food. By the time the waitress acknowledged us we were getting up to go eat elsewhere. If its just a quick drink, you will be fine. If you are looking to spend a few hours there, go elsewhere. On a positive note, the live music was fantastic. Would never go back again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Queentoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great view, not so great service”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

View is great. Not a fan of "seat yourself". People hover over ur table, waiting for you to take your last sip. Service sporadic, not enough table severs for the deck. Bar service TERRIBLE!! Bar tender acted like I wanted her first born child!!! Fodd, so so, served cold, and not what menu stated.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WaterBaby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers Point, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax by the bay”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

An open air addition to the local landmark CrabTrap. The food is great, a modified version of the inside bar menu. Always good drinks, and always busy.Fast and efficient service, just like inside.Fabulous View!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank scott c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Summer Lunch!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Crabby Jack's Deck Bar was a perfect spot for lunch on a beautiful August summer day! The Deck Bar is located directly behind The Crab Trap Restaurant (the two venues share a parking lot).

Crabby Jack's Deck Bar is situated on Great Egg Harbor Bay. We arrived at 12:30 pm on a Sunday afternoon before heading to the beach and the place was packed! It was standing-room only at the bar, but we wanted a table. We were lucky to get one of the two last available tables. We sat ourselves because we didn't see a hostess - don't know if they use one - but with the informal "deck" atmosphere of plastic tables/chairs and being surrounded by just sky and the bay, it fits. We sat behind the bar, overlooking the bay, and watched the boats, wave runners and kayaks coming in and out of the bay. Crabby Jack's seems to do a nice business from boaters dropping anchor at the dock. What a relaxed, enjoyable place to eat!

We waited about 4 - 5 minutes for the friendly waitress to take our orders. The menu isn't extensive with only about 6 different platters and salads, appetizers, etc. We shared an order of fried clam strips which were served with 2 dipping sauces. The clam strips were nicely fried and quite good. I ordered the Crab Cake Sandwich with fries. The crab cake was delicious! - lightly breaded and lightly fried, meaty with crab and loaded with flavor! It came on a soft, brioche-type roll that was lightly grilled, with lettuce, tomato and a sauce on the side. The fries were soft inside with a crispy exterior - very good. My boyfriend had the Captain Salad with Shrimp and Lump Crabmeat and washed it down with a beer. The salad was a mix of fresh greens, tomatoes, red onion and balsamic dressing. On top were two large, super fresh shrimp and sprinkled in the middle was about 1.5 oz - 2 oz of very fresh crabmeat. He wished there was more crabmeat and an extra shrimp, but for the price you really can't complain. I had a taste of his salad and it was very good. Next time I'll order it to save on calories.

Take note: Crabby Jack's Deck Bar doesn't have a bathroom. You can use the pool bathrooms located adjacent to Crabby Jack's or use The Crab Trap restaurant.

Biggest complaint: although the waitress was friendly, after serving our food she disappeared. Nothing was wrong with our order and we didn't want drink refills so the AWOL waitress didn't affect our meal while dining, but it could have been a problem. The AWOL waitress DID put a damper on the meal when we couldn't find her to ask for our check. After asking the busboy to find her, she still didn't arrive 10 minutes later. Finally, we spotted her after waiting almost 20 minutes after finishing our meal. It took her another 10 minutes to return with our check; anticipating a further wait for change we had the exact amount of cash to give to her, including a slightly reduced tip, so we could just leave.

It shouldn't take over 30 minutes to get a check and pay for your meal. Because of this, I couldn't give Crabby Jack's Deck Bar the 5 star rating that it almost deserved.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vikki055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crabby Jack's Deck Bar also viewed

 

Been to Crabby Jack's Deck Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing