We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, clean & peaceful room”
Review of Passport Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Passport Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The only complaint that I had is the price switcheroo. We were quoted $64 per night (pre-tax) and were charged more than that when we arrived after a very long rainy road trip. Also, we were told that we would get an extra cot, but we all (2 adults and 3 children) fit into 2 beds so I didn't ask for it. In addition, the walls were thin and the man next door was congested plus cigarette smoke floated in through our bathroom window. (I did check thoroughly for critters and came up empty, thankfully, although I wasn't all that concerned judging by the cleaniness of the room). The continental breakfast included muffins, cereal and Gevalia coffee- not fancy but delicious & they made good use of the lobby space. The sink and bathroom area were updated and very clean. The bathtub drain was clogged but that made us feel at home because ours was too. The chairs provided and the little round table were comfortable and practical. My daughter spent a lot of time reading in those chairs Outside of our bathroom window was a tomato garden growing for the Point Diner which is right next door & wonderful too. There is also a beautiful view of the bay and of the Somers Mansion. The family caretakers were friendly and helpful. Nice flat screen TV for watching movies during the rain. We got and end room (#123) and really liked that.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great & sunny. Bring ear plugs & sleeping mask just in case any time that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seafoam2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is my "go-to" place when staying in Ocean City, N.J! Passport's beds are comfortable and the rooms are always clean and quiet. As a female traveling alone, I have always felt safe there. The prices are VERY reasonable for it's location. Ocean City beaches are accessible via a healthy 3 mile walk or 6 minute drive across the 9th St. Bridge. (9th St. traverses the main downtown area and will take you towards the northern end of the Boardwalk.) Having a refrigerator (compact, but more than a cube) and a microwave are nice extras for soda, bottled waters and "doggie bags" from several Somers Point restaurants that are within just a few minutes walk of the motel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four days and it was very clean and quiet.The staff was very friendly and the manger was very nice and helpful. The only one thing that was that our mattress was a little hard but the manger said they are getting ready to replace all of the beds. We are planning on coming down next year and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We just returned from a two night stay at the Passport Inn. Like everyone says, the location cannot be beat, the rooms are newer and pretty clean(don't run your finger across the top of the TV) and the price is good. Would I stay here again-definitely. We drove over the bridge to Longport each day for the beach. There are tons of restaurants around Somers Point, so the nightlife is good. This motel has a lot going for it. A few extra details could make it excellent.
1) We ordered a non smoking room. When we arrived, the window of the room was open. I suspect the owner was trying to air it out for us, but it was a smoking room. You can't mask the smell or hide the burns in the bedspread. At this point, every room should be Non smoking.
2) I agree with another reviewer. A few chairs outside the room would be nice.
3) The pool should be heated. I was in it and it was cold.
4) They need a Do Not Disturb sign for the doors. I had to make my own to keep housekeeping out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbdirects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

All rooms have been redone since our last visit and are exceptionally clean and comfortable. True, the pool is smallish and the parking is tight, but with the Ocean City just across the bridge and several restaurants within walking distance this place can't be beat! Coffee in the room. (Fridge and microwave too) and coffee, juice, Danish, cereal and milk in the lobby for a light breakfast the value just keeps going. Chairs outside the rooms would have been nice to sit and enjoy the breeze at night, but beyond this the Passport Inn is a gem!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jduganh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Our extended family rented a house in Ocean City so all we really needed were a couple extra beds as we would be spending the days at their place. Hotels in OC were outragiously priced (avg $300/night). We checked Somer's Point and found Passport Inn. At $79/nt peak season, we didn't expect much and just hoped it would be clean. This is not a luxury hotel but to our surprise the room was not only immaculate but had many new updates. New tile bathroom, new rugs, nice size refrig and new microwave. Provided coffee pot, hairdryer, iron and board. We are right across the bridge and 3 min from 9th St beach. We asked for extra towels and pillows and had them within 10 min. Staff very friendly. Although we didn't use it, the pool looked very nice. I would definitely stay here, again. Also, several restaurants, gas, Wawa all within walking distance. Again, not a luxury hotel but much more than we expected!

Room Tip: There are only 22 rooms so they book up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lazoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

One of the cleanest motels i ever stayed in . The owner was very friendly and helpful, If you're going to Ocean City N.J. make it a point to stay at the Passport Inn. Clean rooms,friendly service, grounds well kept, and excellent diner next door. What more could you ask for at such a reasonable price. Would go back again anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somers Point
0.6 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
0.1 mi away
Pier 4 Hotel
Pier 4 Hotel
#2 of 7 in Somers Point
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
2.6 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Somers Point
Econo Lodge Somers Point
#4 of 7 in Somers Point
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Passport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn

Address: 6 Macarthur Blvd, Somers Point, NJ 08244-1776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Price Range: $49 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Passport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Hotel Somers Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing