We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just a bar”

The Windjammer Diner Bar & Grille
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Diner Bar & Grille
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not just a bar”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Waitresses are very nice. Had breakfast and it was very good. Also, very reasonable. My husband and I shared a dinner, and there was no charge for extra plate as some restaurants will charge. Deserts are fantastic. Breakfast, lunch, or dinner, it is well worth eating here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    77
    26
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
303 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“THIS IS NOT A DINER BUT MUCH BETTER...”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

one word Greek shrimp..not on the menu but worth asking for. great beers on tap and service was over the top. Crab cake was so good i can even explain.. then to top it off desert was off the chain.......

the only negitive is that so many other people know how great this place is that you may have to wait to get a table but well worth it.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Came to Windjammers while staying in Ocean City and on our way back from a day visit to Cape May. Great food And service. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol48103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped in for lunch en route back to OC one weekday afternoon. Parking lot was less full than expected as was the dining room. Our party of four was seated immediately by a very pleasant hostess.

We sat at a booth by the front windows. The establishment is neat, clean and inviting. There are multiple flat screen TVs suspended from the ceiling that were positioned so our entire table had a perfect viewing angle. The menu isn't extensive, but the choices were balanced enough that everyone was able to find multiple options. Not an easy thing with our picky crew.

Once seated, a smiling waitress appeared instantly out of nowhere and asked for our drink order which, also arrived quickly. I often order a club soda and instead of asking if I wanted lemon or lime, the waitress brought a small bowl filled with sliced wedges of both. Nice touch. Throughout our meal, our server was attentive to our requests and checked in regularly on our progress.

My son and his friend ordered burgers and fries; both commented how much they liked them. My wife had a chipotle chicken sandwich wrap, which she enjoyed and I had the crab cake sandwich which was exceptional. The Cole Slaw servings were tiny, but tasty.

The bill was just under $50 with tip but the quality of the food and service was undeniable. Recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hunt201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Even Monday night food was good quality”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We first at here on a Sunday evening. Come early if you don't want a long wait. It seems that this is the only place to eat in Ocean City (at least during the week) unless you really like boardwalk fare as a dietary staple. The pricing is reasionable but the portions a HUGE. One entre for 2 or possibly 3 adults should suffice. The crab cakes are terrific especially the crab cake appetizer. The salads are also very nice and high quality greens. We were a little dismayed that the pasta choices on dishes served over pasta are only penne or cappellini and that there is only sweeten bread & rolls served with dinner. Who dips cinnamon rolls in marinara sauce?
Because of the limited dining choices in the area we choose to eat here again on a Monday night after having our fill of lousy diners in Delaware & Pennsylvania. I am always hesitant about Monday cooking in a restaurants because the main cook usually has Monday off. We were delighted to find consistency with the food as well as the service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windjammer Diner Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to The Windjammer Diner Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing