We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baia focused on nightclub, loud, pourly trained staff & floor managers” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baia Restaurant

Baia Restaurant
Ranked #31 of 67 Restaurants in Somers Point
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shore Rd
Description: BAIA offers a unique waterfront dining experience, featuring a creative Twisted Italian menu, exciting cocktails at our three bars and live entertainment 4 nights a week, all with a spectacular bay view! Offering an early dinner and late night menu, in addition to lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The principle staff consists of Ed Bonsignore, Jr. (Executive Chef and Owner of Samantha's in Jupiter, Florida) and Sean Weinberg (Executive Chef and Owner of Alba Restaurant in Malvern, Pennsylvania) combine their unique styles and flavors to create Baia Restaurant in Somers Point, New Jersey. Our synergistic and creative dining experience you will enjoy at Baia is based around an exceptional staff which will strive to provide the highest level of food and service to every guest. Baia is a great spot to have your next special event, dinner or luncheon, please contact the restaurant directly for large parties.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Baia focused on nightclub, loud, pourly trained staff & floor managers”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

July 6, 2013
Three of us went to have dinner. We waited 35 minutes, having been advised that it woild be a 20 to 30 minute wait.
The restaurant are was at about 80 % capacity - there were empty tables.
Afer ordering our food, the appetizers showed up i a timely fashion. When we asked about the food we were told the kitchen was backed up and it would be about 15 minutes. Less than 30% of the tables were full at tha time.
After 20 minutes I asked for my main course to be cancelled since it was 9:45 pm. We waited over 50 minutes for our food.
They brought out my main course anyway and were going to charge me for it, The manger apologized but offered nothing, not even a glass of wine or desert.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiley522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    38
    29
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
104 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Baia on the Bay, great place for happy hour or formal dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I used to work at this place in the 1990's when in college. It was the Waterfront then. Wow has it changed! Deck is the same, you can tie up your boat and come on to the deck for a drink or just come as a normal patron via car or foot. Great views of the bay and Ocean City, and new bridge. There is a semi-outside dining area which is more formal, and indoor dining. We ate in the semi-covered section as it was less windy and warmer. Great food for kids and for adults. I had a filet which was outstanding. Good service and great atmosphere. Prices are fairly high but it was worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grolsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average bar with great views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Food was fairly average and underwhelming.. The deck overlooking the water was great which is where i recommend sitting... would comment very positively on the service.... our waitress, who was up from college was extremely accommodating.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adocfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perhaps It Was an Off Day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was my first, and likely only, visit to this restaurant. Sunday after July 4, 1:00 PM. The place was basically empty when we (group of 5 men) arrived. After pleading, we were seated at a sixtop rather than a booth in the bar ("we don't seat groups of less than 8 in the main dining room" which was nearly vacant). The menu was uninspired but okay. The wait for the food was extraordinary . . . 40+ minutes for simple stuff i.e. crabcake sandwich, burgers, breaded softshell sandwich (breaded being the operative word). All served with fries which were the high point of the meal. At least it wasn't expensive. Server was pleasant but inept . . . 15 minutes for a refill of ice tea and a draft beer. Given that this is the seashore and you really can't expect much, I might try this place again to see whether the entire experience was the norm or an aberration.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jagman8f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food little expensive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food was good portions were nice size and service was good, but there prices were a little high. Had to eat in bar area because no reservations and wait for outside table over an hour. Would go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilaGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Baia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing