We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandi Pointe is a high point!”
Review of Sandi Pointe - CLOSED

Sandi Pointe
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sandi Pointe is a high point!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't have enough great words to describe the high quality dishes! The mushroom tortallini was the best I have ever had, and I have had a lot! The 2 crab cakes were perfect portions and not breaded crab cakes either. Iced tea is served in individual carafes which is nice because you don't have to wait for your glass to be refilled. Perfect relaxing atmosphere. The wait staff was attentive and friendly, but not overbearing like you get in some restaurants. It was worth the 4 day drive from California! My new east coast favorite restaurant. I will eat here every time I'm in town!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rose1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderson908, Owner at Sandi Pointe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your recently posted comments regarding your visit to Sandi Pointe. It sounds as if you had a wonderful visit and as you know,that is our goal. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our team. We look forward to meeting you on your next visit.
Wishing you a safe & healthy summer, Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    21
    15
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor quality food”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We had two crab cakes which were small and not that flavorful. If they had been accompanied by interesting vegetables, it might not have been too bad. They had a stalk of broccoli with a gross cheese sauce that tasted like it came out of a can. The other item on the plate was overcooked rice with pieces of green pepper. The combination was disgusting. We paid $24 for this. I would rather wait in line at a better restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderson908, Owner at Sandi Pointe, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Diane,
First allow me to apologize for the terrible experience you had at Sandi Pointe. We have recently hired a new chef to correct some bad habits and i am happy to say he is having some great success. I have passed on your comments to him so he can have a better idea of what needs to be done. We consider your comments a compliment of the highest order. For you to send your post we feel you care and want to see success. We cannot succeed without feedback regarding our weaknesses. We truly hope on your next visit from Lancaster you will give us another visit in the hope we can regain your trust. Thank you again for caring enough to write us. Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food and a nice setting.”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just attended a private party at Sandi Point. This was my first time here. Our party was held in the private dining room upstairs, which was decorated in an elegant, understated way. The food was very good. Each table was set with a basket of the most delicious, addictive, homemade potato chips with an excellent dipping sauce that had a little horseradish kick to it. We asked our waitress for another basket of chips & dip, it was so good and quickly gone!!Instead of a sit down meal, we enjoyed a buffet featuring a nice assortment of cold appetizers, followed by a buffet of hot dishes: penne pasta in a delicious vodka blush sauce, cheeseburger sliders (really good!), scallops wrapped in bacon, fantastic stuffed mushrooms, and several other dishes. Everything was very good, and the staff kept the buffet pans full so there was plenty of food for seconds, or even thirds! The staff was very attentive and efficiently took care of any requests we had at our table. The bartender was friendly and provided service with a smile! All in all, it was a very enjoyable meal, and I would like to return and try this place for dinner some time soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderson908, Owner at Sandi Pointe, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful post! Your feedback is extremely important and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our private dining crew. Thank you once again, Dan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
“Wedding Rehearsal Dinner”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently had our wedding rehearsal dinner at Sandi Pointe. Our dinner was hosted in the upstiars, private dining area. Everything was excellent. The variety of food was perfect for the many different tastes of all our guest. The service was excellent. Banquet Manager, Jamie, was great. Her attention to detail was fabulous. She was easy to locate and went above and beyond to ensure our night was perfect. We were extremely delighted with how the evening progressed and would highly recommend Sandi Pointe to anyone looking to host a dinner or any other event needing a private dining area in the Somers Point region.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrslwarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderson908, Owner at Sandi Pointe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
You were great to plan with!! Thanks for the great post. We were honored to play a small part in such an important event in your lives. We wish you all of the best !!! Dan & Sandi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Memorial Day Mess!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Just finished dinner with my wife. Mashed potatoes cold.. Filet overcooked,string beans undercooked, and Pork Chop not really sure if if it was cooked properly. Place was half full-that should have been our first clue that it was half full with no reservations needed. Very disappointed as we were hoping for a nice meal. Very pricy for a crappy meal. The only thing half decent was the Lava cake we had for dessert. One positive thing was our waitress- young girl but very good. Felt bad for her because not her fault. Stay away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Success20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danderson908, Owner at Sandi Pointe, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
And what a mess it was!!!.Restaurant owner friends an I have discussed these nightmare evenings and how it it happens to all of us regardless of type of restaurant or experince. As an owner the blame for not being able to stop the domino effect rests on our shoulders.
The team we have now is a bit green and heavy with summer help and they have been gelling nicely. On a rare evening the perfect storm rolls in and no matter how hard we try we cannot right the ship. We take that experience and try not to make the same mistake. We are extremely sorry and embarrassed that you were on our ship for this storm as we prefer to sail smoother waters. We sincerely hope you will give Sandi Pointe another try in the future so we can start to rebuild your trust.
I would also like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience and caring enough about us so we can correct our error. Thank you again , Dan Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandi Pointe also viewed

 
Somers Point, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing