We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place! Needs to be renovated and to fire lifeguards”
Review of Pier 4 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pier 4 Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place! Needs to be renovated and to fire lifeguards”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I have been going to the Pier 4 for basically my entire life. I have always loved it and will continue to return each and every year. The only negatives I have come in contact with while staying there is that the hotel is in desperate need of a renovation. The hotel does need a TOTAL overhaul, but even a fresh coat of paint on the ceiling or new lamp shades would really help.

....But onto my biggest complaint, which I hope management reads : FIRE YOUR LIFEGUARDS. If you have children, watch your children closely. The first day we went to the pool, the lifeguard (who was middle-aged, balding, and had a mustache) sat by the pool LISTENING TO HIS IPOD AND READING A NEWSPAPER. It gets better...HE THEN CLIPPED HIS TOENAILS. THIS IS DISGRACEFUL. The next day was a new lifeguard (a young guy with shoulder-length hair and a beard) he decided that the pool wasn't worth watching so he sat at the bar AND HAD DINNER. I have no idea how such a fine establishment would allow this kind of behavior to occur. They must be fired.

Again, I love the Pier 4, but this is unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whit22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    44
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
39
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Pier 4 Hotel has much to offer. I and my family member had such an enjoyable time that I just had to share with others what they were missing. The entire hotel was very clean, each room had a balcony, and the bay front view is out of this world. I found all of the staff to be pleasant and knowledgable about the entire area. They offer a Smoking floor so we who smoke do not have to feel excommunicated like other places.We had a bay front room which was very convenient to the pool and the continental breakfast that was much better than most. I am pleased to say it was a welcoming Hotel for those of us with disablities. The bay was so inviting and it was also within walking distance to the Crab Trap Restaurant which is also 5 star dining pleasure. I always wanted to go to the Pier 4 and now my dream has come true and it is well worth it, as I had the best time. The prices are fair and well worth what view you get to see.I will be returning again gladly.

Room Tip: Bayside is much nicer than city side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RoseClayton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Clean, modest accomodations. No frills. Great view (although, construction on bridge is taking place summer 2011, didn't bother me). Great pool and sundeck! Crab Trap restaurant right next door! Crabby Jack's Outdoor Bar & Grille is right next to the pool (Crabby Jack's is just OK, slow service, decent food). Liquor store right next door as well (Ocean City is DRY). You will have to drive everywhere else though, you can not walk to Ocean City. Continental breakfast: lots of choices, everything I tasted was just OK. But hey, it's free.

Bottom Line: For the price ($70 during the week), you can't beat it!

Room Tip: Splurge for bayview
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreakingBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Grove, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for one night instead of driving 3 hours home after a long day on the boardwalk at Ocean City. with AAA discount it was only $80 and you get about exactly that from your room. The front desk is friendly but not overly excited, the room is clean enough but not sparkling, and the AC/heat works fine but is noisy, and there is a TV in the room even if it is an old tube type. That is it in a nutshell....... there is nothing wrong with this hotel, but there is nothing overly right about it either.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnyderManToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is your typical Jersey shore hotel. Excellent staff; friendly and helpful. We had a room with 2 queen beds. Room had a microwave, coffee maker and old tube TV. Bathroom had basic soap and shampoo.
The shower towels are extremely small.

Free continental breakfast - bagels, muffins, cold cereal, etc... They could splurge for some low-fat or fat free milk and some Equal or Splenda.

The hotel is in need of a renovation. The 1st thing I would recommend is new mattresses. The mattress we had was horrible - worn out, zero support, with at least 1-2 busted springs.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjm1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My family and I have been staying at the Pier for years and have always had a very pleasant experience. The hotel and rooms could use a little renovating, sure, but they're clean and offer a beautiful view.
Pros:
Excellent location. Very close the OC if you plan on visiting the beach. With Crabby Jacks bay bar and The Crab Trap, you really don't need to even leave the area!
Beautiful view
Nice pool & deck
Nice staff
Away from the crowds of Ocean City (with hotels and rentals on top of one another)
Typically quiet area
Nice continental bfast (coffee, juices, cereals, bagels, fruit, waffles, muffins)

Cons:
Older rooms
Thin walls (it's usually not too much of a problem)
The room rates can be expensive

The pros far outweigh the cons. Year after year we return to Pier 4 and will continue to do so :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Ourageously priced at $220 per night when it looks like a $60/night place or less

Very bad location, behind a liquor store

Smells like cigarettes

Cold cereal breakfast

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albuquerquebilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somers Point
0.5 mi away
Sonesta ES Suites Somers Point
2.6 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Passport Inn
Passport Inn
#3 of 7 in Somers Point
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Somers Point
Econo Lodge Somers Point
#4 of 7 in Somers Point
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier 4 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier 4 Hotel

Property: Pier 4 Hotel
Address: Broadway Ave. & the Bay, Somers Point, NJ 08244
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somers Point
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pier 4 Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pier 4 Hotel features 69 newly renovated, well appointed rooms for you to enjoy. Starting with our most popular standard rooms that feature two queen size beds, activity table, 27" television, compact refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, and High Speed Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Pier 4 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier 4 Somers Point

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing