We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Air conditioning didn't work and at night there is no one around to fix that”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2009

We arrived at 10 pm from our wedding reception to a beautiful room whose air conditioning did not work. There was no staff available to address the issue. We stayed up late watchinga thunderstorm and trying to get comfortable in our warmish room. At 630am, the next morning, very bright sunlight came streaming through our lake facing windows to wake us up. The shutters were closed but do not cover the whole big beautiful window and have slats in them that let in extra light.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2009

I grew up around Smithville so I am familiar with the shops in the quaint Village but I had not stayed at the Barn at the Colonial Inn. We were extremely pleased with our accommodations! The rooms were beautifully decorated each with a slightly different theme and color. It was great to get up in the morning and be able to walk around and enjoy the area and village shops. It was also in a convenient location close to my family, as well as the beach, restaurants and other shopping areas. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macewans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

Great place to stay and shop. The inn has great places to eat and Atlantic City nearby. Staff very nice and the owners of the stores were all friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank connie901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Awesome place to stay within proximity of AC with rooms that were stunning and cozy. The Inn is set among a small English "village" replica with shops and restaurants from the early 19th century. Nice to walk around and see all the different offerings. The rooms were spacious and updated with country feel. Everything was on par with expectations. The staff was very nice and accommodating. Breakfast was very good, with muffins, yogurt and juice/coffee. Located near AC (Only 10 min drive) and also close to other restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffthebeatenpathNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We paid top dollar for a room that promised a steam shower. It did not work. We notified the front dest and they made no offer of an adjusment of price/

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank HelloeveryoneNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

I am writing to warn people about the terrible experience I had trying to book a room at the Colonial Inn. I began calling the inn on Tuesday, July 1st attempting to book 3 rooms beginning July 10th (for 3 mights each room). I called every day & received NO RESPONSE. Every time I called I got an answering machine. I then attempted to email the hotel & received no response. On Thursday, I received a very rushed message on my machine from the Inn Keeper, Brenda, indicating that rooms were available & asking me to call back. She did not answer any of the questions I left for her on her machine. I called back on Thursday afternoon & reached a human being on the phone for the first time. The person could not help me & said that Brenda was on the phone with another guest & would call me back. I mentioned that I had been calling long distance for days & was unable to ever reach Brenda. She told me Brenda would call me back. Brenda never called back. On Thursday night, I left a message stating that if the hotel did not call me back by Friday that I would book elsewhere - that I was looking for 3 rooms & had called at least 5 times & also sent emails. They never called back or responded to my emails. On Saturday, I received a call from Brenda wanting to book my rooms - she offered no apology for the delay. I told her that I had booked elsewhere since she never got back to me. She began screaming at me on the phone. She complained that her husband had to go into the hospital & that I should be more understanding. I told her that I was sorry that her husband had to go into the hospital but that I did not understand how an inn could not respond to phone calls on their main phone line - that if she was unable to respond - someone else should have called me back. She began yelling at me again & ranted about her record being "unblemished." She was extremely rude and unprofessional in her conduct. She offered no apology for the delay and accused me of not leaving phone messages.

I mentioned to Brenda that the email address on the website for the inn was incorrect & that messages I sent were bouncing back at first. I told her that when I removed the inappropriate "N" at the end of the address it worked. She told me that it was "not her job to correct the website, that if I wanted it corrected that I would have to phone the owner." I said "don't you work with the owner, can't you tell her to correct the webiste?". She said "it is not my responsiblity, you will have to call the owner if you want it fixed."

I have travelled all over the US & abroad. Brenda has the worst customer service of any person I have ever dealt with from an inn or hotel. Inns pride themselves on personal service. The innkeeper, Brenda, lacks customer service and is in fact extremely rude. I would never stay at a place who has an employee like this working for them. There is a reason plenty of rooms are available at the Colonial Inn - Brenda handles all the reservations & is scaring customers away.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank swimmerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smithville, New Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2009

I am the NEW Manager at the Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville. (Brenda no longer works here) I am working with the Inn Keeper Wendie Fitzgerald. I love it here at the Inn and I am so sorry your experience was so neggative.The Inn is lovely and I wish you had been given the chance to get here and see it .
I hope that your experience with the old Inn Keeper will not prevent you from coming to visit the Historic Towne of Smithville were we are located. The Village has over 60 specialty shop's, 6 eateries, Paddle boats, a Train that goes around the Village and a Carousel !! Not to mention the over 20 weekend events that are free to the public.
Give us a chance to show you what we are really like here and come visit, you will not be sorry .
Again I want to say that I am sorry that someone who represented this Inn could ever treat you in such a manner,I would never allow it on my watch!!
I hope to see you soon if not in the Inn hopefully in the Village...Tracy, Manager of the Colonial Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

At last a small B&B in Smithville near to the attractions of the area! The most wonderful part is that the Colonial Inn is not a motel nor hotel chain. It is a cozy and quaint little B&B. The rooms are not typically hotel/motel stereotypical. They are clean and each one is unique, comfy and cozy. Large basket breakfeasts can be eaten, privately in one's room (delivered or picked up.) They consist of yogurts, choice of coissants, muffins, juices, coffees or teas. There is an afternoon tea. The staff could not be more courteous and helpful. The location is devine in Old Smithville village literally on a small and scenic pond. Several restaurants, bars and shops are steps away. We have been back many times and will continue to enjoy this delightful inn which is most welcome to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freebird05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Smithville
5 mi away
Hampton Inn Atlantic City/Absecon
7.9 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 49 in Atlantic City
19,582 reviews
3.3 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Marriott's Fairway Villas
#1 of 18 in Galloway
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Tuscany House at the Renault Winery Resort
3.2 mi away
Dolce Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E Moss Mill Rd, Smithville, NJ 08205-4804
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range: $123 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelPower, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing